Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

A2 Hosting has been around since 2001 and they’re most known for their page loading speeds.

In fact, they have delivered one of the fastest server speeds we’ve seen. Also, A2 Hosting has a strong uptime, which makes its hosting service reliable.

A2 Hosting homepage

The hosting plans are developer-friendly, and their “anytime” money-back guarantee is a unique feature.

A significant downside is the renewal rate, which jumps up aggressively after your initial period. However, if you need a fast web hosting service at relatively cheap upfront pricing with the ability to scale with your website growth. Then A2 Hosting might be an excellent option for you.

Here’s an in-depth look at A2 Hosting’s pros and cons after signing up, paying for their hosting service, and putting it to the test.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 5.0

SPEED: 288 ms (February 2022 to July 2022)
UPTIME: >99.99% (February 2022 to July 2022)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Email, Phone, Ticketing
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, OpenCart, and Magento
FEATURES: Unlimited Bandwidth, Free SSL, Cloudflare CDN, Anycast DNS, Anytime Money-Back, Website Staging, DDoS Protection, 100 GB Storage, and more.
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, VPS, Reseller, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER:Single Free Site Transfer with Shared Hosting ($10/site afterward)
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $10.99/mo)

Pros of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting is one of the best under-the-radar hosting companies you might not know about, but should.

Why?

Their speed is excellent, uptime is reliable, customer service is friendly, security features are plentiful, and refund policy is liberal. On top of it all, they’re even environmentally conscious.

Let’s take a detailed look at A2 Hosting’s many perks.

1. Super-Fast Page Loading Speed (288 ms)

You see a recurring theme when you go to A2Hosting.com – speed.

And A2 Hosting is, in fact, fast. In the past 6 months, they have delivered an amazing average speed of 288 ms.

A2 Hosting last 6 months speed data
A2 Hosting last 6-month average speed (monitoring since 2015) | See stats

And what’s even better?

A2 Hosting has been showing improved results for many years. Thus making them one of the fastest shared hosts we’ve tested.

2. Reliable Uptime of 99.99%

On top of being lightning-fast, A2 Hosting is also reliable.

They had some trouble a few years ago when their uptime struggled to reach the industry standard of 99.93%. However, they’ve turned the problems around and achieved an average of >99.99% uptime. The total downtime of their servers was only six minutes.

A2 Hosting last 6-month uptime and speed statistics
A2 Hosting last 6-month average uptime (monitoring since 2015) | See stats

Last 6-month average uptime of A2 hosting:

  • July 2022: 100%
  • June 2022: 99.99%
  • May 2022:100%
  • April 2022:100%
  • March 2022:100%
  • February 2022:100%

A2 Hosting’s uptime was perfect at 100% almost throughout the whole six months (except for one time in June 2022) which is pretty impressive.

3. 24/7 Server Monitoring and Malware Scanning

The best way to keep your site safe is by preventing issues before they break out. But, extra scanning, firewalls, or layers of encryption can often slow users down. This isn’t the case with A2 Hosting. They can still perform at the highest level while giving you loads of additional security features.

A2 Hosting servers are protected by “Imunify360”, a 24/7-monitoring service that scans for malware and other attacks.

Their data centers are also scalable, meaning you’re protected if a denial of service attack (DDoS) breaks out. These attacks attempt to flood your servers with traffic and knock your site offline. So A2 Hosting has got your back to handle sudden, unexpected surges.

4. Free Site Migrations (1-25 Depending on the Plan)

A2 Hosting offers to move a single existing website over to their servers without extra charge on all plans.

With the shared hosting plan, if you have multiple websites that you want to migrate, it costs $25/site extra. However, if you’re going with the Reseller, Dedicated, or Managed VPS hosting, you get 25 free site migrations. Their terms of service spell everything out in detail.

To take advantage of this, you need to reach out to their customer support department and give them your cPanel account credentials.

If your websites have any other control panel than cPanel, they might take a small fee for the extra work.

5. Content Management Systems (CMS) and Developer-Friendly Tools

A2 Hosting works seamlessly with all major content management systems.

You can install a WordPress, OpenCart, Drupal, Joomla, or Magento site with just a few clicks and don’t need a developer to do that.

A2 Hosting also has performance-enhancing plugins to make these CMSs faster, starting from the “Turbo Boost” plan. You get a free Cloudflare CDN with all hosting packages that further contribute to speeding things up.

A2 Hosting optimized CMS

Suppose you’re a webmaster or agency looking to host dozens of sites under one roof. In that case, A2 Hosting comes with developer-friendly tools. You can get admin-level access on servers, free server rewind backups, and multiple versions of everything from PHP to MySQL, Apache, Python, Ruby, etc.

A2 Hosting also has a website builder, appropriately named A2 SiteBuilder. However, it isn’t included in the standard hosting plans and is priced separately.

6. Anytime Money-Back Guarantee

Most hosts that we’ve reviewed offer a 30-day money-back guarantee. However, A2 Hosting has gone further than that and provides an “anytime” money-back guarantee.

This means that you still get a full refund within the first 30 days. But, if you find the service not suitable, you can cancel anytime and receive a prorated amount back for the remaining time you’ve prepaid.

However, there are a few snags.

The first is that any refund request past the initial 120 days is issued through PayPal. Another is that ‘additional’ services like domain registrations, setup, or migration fees are nonrefundable. You get to keep anything that’s not refunded, though, for example, your domain name.

7. Green Web Hosting

A2 Hosting’s hometown of Ann Arbor, Michigan, is known as “Tree Town.” They reportedly have 50,000+ trees and 150+ parks. So A2 feels a moral obligation to help protect the planet from global warming.

A2 Hosting Green Web Hosting display

They have partnered with Carbonfund.org to help support renewable energies and reforestation. They also have a “FutureServe” green hosting initiative in place to help offset emissions from their servers.

This probably isn’t a deciding factor to sign up for a web host. But, knowing the company you’re working with cares about the environment is a nice extra perk.

8. Fast Customer Support

A2 Hosting provides 24/7 support through live chat, email, ticketing, and phone. They also have a vast knowledge base if you prefer to find an answer yourself or learn something new.

However, our favorite is a live chat that we always like to test out.

We asked a simple question about their shared hosting plans and got connected to the customer support rep almost immediately.

A2 Hosting live chatThe customer support rep was polite and knowledgeable and replied to our questions quickly.

Moreover, we’re happy to see that A2 Hosting started offering a live chat option to everyone again. Not so long time ago, live chat was available only for registered users.

Cons of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting has many perks going for them, but we also found a few issues.

Here’s a look at each of these downsides in detail.

1. Domain Name is Not Free

A2 Hosting doesn’t include a free domain name in any of their shared hosting plans. This is not a very common sight in the hosting industry because most of the hosts we’ve reviewed offer a free domain name (at least for the 1st year).

In order to register or transfer a domain name at A2 Hosting, you’d have to pay, for example, $16.99/year for a .com extension (renews at the same price).

2. High Renewal Rates (And a 15-Day Deadline)

A2 Hosting offers lower prices with long-term plans. They also have introductory prices with their plans when signing your first term with them, which lowers the regular price by more than half.

This sweet deal ends after the initial period when the automatic renewal kicks in at the “regular” pricing. The renewal pricing is roughly three times higher than the monthly average price you first paid.

It gets worse.

According to their terms, you have to submit a written cancellation request “15 days before the beginning of the Renewal Term” through their customer portal or by emailing them at billing@a2hosting.com.

What happens if you miss this 15-day window? You will be on the hook for paying the next renewal plan, which will renew automatically, and you’re not eligible to receive any refund.

3. Restrictions on the Cheapest Plan

The introductory price for A2 Hosting’s cheapest shared hosting option (“Startup”) is currently $2.99/month. That’s not the lowest pricing we’ve seen, but it’s pretty good.

But, there are multiple restrictions to that lowest costing plan. You only get a single website, 100 GB of SSD storage, and there are missing features like automatic backups and server rewind. The next tier plan already gives you unlimited websites and SSD storage, free automatic backups, and 2x more resources, starting at $5.99/month.

It makes you wonder if the cheapest plan is just there to promote a low price when the actual useful features for creating a site start at a bit more expensive plan.

A2 Hosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

A2 Hosting has four pricing tiers for its shared hosting:


Startup PlanDrive PlanTurbo Boost PlanTurbo Max Plan
Pricing $2.99/month
Renews at $10.99/mo
$5.99/month
Renews at $12.99/mo
$6.99/month
Renews at $20.99/mo
$12.99/month
Renews at $25.99/mo
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Storage100 GBUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins
5x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins

Quick Facts

  • Domain name: Not free with any of their shared hosting plans.
  • Free Features: SSL, CDN, and DNS.
  • Ease of Signup: Three-step signup. Not too difficult.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, Check or Money Order, Bank Transfer, Skrill, UnionPay, and PayU Latam.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Renewal rates are higher than the introductory period. You have to cancel 15 days before the renewal period; otherwise, you’ll get automatically charged. Domain name purchases are not refundable.
  • Upsells: Some subtle upsells along the signup process.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): The option to install WordPress and other popular CMS options is available at checkout.

Do We Recommend A2 Hosting?

Yes, we do.

A2 Hosting has consistently delivered best-in-class speed for the last several years. They’ve also improved on server uptime, which is now very reliable. Moreover, all their shared plans come with a free SSL certificate and free site migration.

And if you run into issues at any time while being a customer, you can ask for a refund on the prorated balance of unused time.

We don’t like that renewal rates are high, and the strict terms after the initial period aren’t generous. Plus, if you’re paying for the most expensive shared plan to host unlimited websites (“Turbo Max”), they still only give you one free site migration. Not to mention that a free domain name is not included in any of their shared hosting plans.

Visit www.A2Hosting.com


Have you used A2 Hosting before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors.

100 user reviews for A2 Hosting

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Toze V

    5  — May 29, 2022

    Really fantastic and very reliable hosting

    Really fantastic and very reliable hosting. The best we have been in years. The service is very fast and direct. Several host services are already used and all ok. no faults and 100% uptime. Very good prices and a lot of choices to all your kind of clients. Thanks

    Mark F

    5  — May 26, 2022

    Rating is the name of the Game

    Very good tech support – They know their business! Their responses are accurate and the turnaround time is fast. I have had varying support requests from using some of the utilities provided on the Control Panel to issues with my website – all of which I got sound advice and was able to resolve my issues.

    Yulia

    5  — April 5, 2022

    Always high level quality

    I was delighted, as usual, with the a2 support – what a great partner, always SO helpful, can’t be better, I officially can’t advise any improvement which is very rare. And the hosting itself is fast, has all the features, is reliable and modern, and has all the extensions.

    Boaz

    5  — April 4, 2022

    Great Discover

    With A2 I get quick response times, flexible server configurations, great support and a professional team. I moved to A2 after several years with another hosting major-league player, because my older hosting service narrowed down their choice of server configurations. Very happy with the service!

    James

    5  — March 20, 2022

    Highly recommended and a well deserved 5-star rating.

    We’ve been using A2 Hosting for about 4 years now. They’ve been great to us! We have not noticed any downtime. They’ve given us great pricing options for renewal. And the few times we have to contact support with a question or issue, they’ve always been super fast at resolving the problem for us, whether via online chat, phone or ticket.

    Shahid Y

    5  — February 24, 2022

    Cheap and Fast hosting with Fantastic Technical Support

    Cheap and Fast hosting with Fantastic Technical Support! Recommend to others.

    The Services I like the most are:

    – Turbo Speed

    – Fast Cache

    – Unlimited Business Emails

    – User Friendly Cpanel

    – Easy site installation, Back and Staging

    Would recommend others.

    Max M

    5  — February 22, 2022

    A2 Hosting – come for the customer service

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad experience with A2 Hosting customer service. As usual, their team was super prompt, resolving the problem literally in about 15 minutes. And, as I’ve come to expect, they were communicative, courteous and positive. As a business owner who uses their reseller hosting, I can say that it’s experiences like this one that have kept me a customer for years.

    Ray

    5  — February 19, 2022

    A2 Great Review

    I have a reseller account and have been using A2 for about three years now.  Their servers are always up and they offer a lot of features.  Sometimes a bit complicated but a lot of choices and very flexible.  It’s also nice having a separate account for all of my businesses so that everything is like it’s own account but in reality they are all being hosted on the very fast A2 servers.  Hosting is very fast and service is always fast and professional.  Very happy with this company.

    Steve V

    5  — February 17, 2022

    A2 Hosting is a winner!

    I have found A2 Hosting to be a top-notch hosting service with terrific hosting products at great pricing and THE BEST customer service I have ever encountered… the highest quality hosting service I have worked with!  I highly recommend them for all your website hosting needs!

    Teddy G

    5  — January 29, 2022

    Excellent Service!

    Recently I moved from a host provider that was highly recommended by a trade magazine as one of the best! In reality their customer support was sub par on a good day, not to mention there were numerous times my site was experiencing problems in displaying content.

    Since subscribing to A2 Hosting I can say unequivocally they have excellent customer support–they are very responsive but more importantly the support staff are knowledgeable and proactive in resolving issues. And I say this with no hesitation. You can’t go wrong w/ A2 Hosting.

    Ashleigh

    5  — December 30, 2021

    Professional

    Very helpful. Quick response time. Friendly service. I’ve been with A2 Hosting for the past 2 years and never have I had a problem with their service, turn-around time, customer support, technical support etc.  I would highly recommend A2 Hosting to any business.

    Michael A

    5  — December 29, 2021

    Great Uptime & Efficient Customer Service

    A2 Hosting is the best hosting I have ever used. They provide fast and efficient customer service, their services are also reliable.

     

    They have easy to use WordPress services that are optimized for speed. I have 5 WordPress websites hosted with them and all of them are superfast. The most amazing thing is how fast the customer service reps respond so quickly with so much passion.

     

    They have the best services at an affordable price.

    Konstantyn

    5  — November 26, 2021

    Service

    My request for billing changes was done very quickly. Thank you for the prompt and high-quality service.

    I have been using A2 hosting for two years and always get prompt and professional support. Website and mail – everything works fine.

    And most importantly, an excellent support service.

    Ouk K

    5  — November 8, 2021

    Great support

    The commercial staff and customer support staff at A2 hosting are really helpful.

    I am new at this and they always respond fast and kindly, and they explain things in simple terms, then act fast.

    They’re  a perfect match for me!

    100% worth it for me 🙂

    John H

    5  — October 26, 2021

    Superb customer support

    Superb customer support. Lots of knowledge combined with friendly and swift solutions. Great tech support. My issue was using SSH from a Samsung phone using the Termux version of linux. Turns out the new (S21+) phones with Android 11 require more security on the host end. The A2 techs at Level 1 missed this, but within an hour they moved it up and a perfect solution was found: move my A2 website to one of their newer CentOS servers, quick change to my DNS registration, and I’m good to go. Whole process was completed in half a day.

    iJAMM.COM

    5  — October 15, 2021

    A2HOSTING ROCKS!!

    Thank You (very much) A2Hosting! Great Service, Great Support, Rapid Response, and your Cpanel Rewind Service worked excellent, our Website is Backup and Restored within minutes after our coding crash, we can’t thank you enough for your support team. ☆YOU GUYS ROCK!!!

    Thomas C

    5  — October 12, 2021

    Long time happy customer

    A2 has hosted our library website built on Drupal for many years. Great support, no downtime, stays current with changing technologies. They’ve moved our account to newer servers as needs change at no cost. Clear instructions on how to make server-side changes on our own. Highly recommended.

    Allistair

    5  — October 5, 2021

    Superb Hosting Service

    A2Hosting has never disappointed, they are always professional to attend to any request, responding with detailed support, at a very fast pace. This is why I have remained with them for so many years. I highly recommend them for any type of web hosting.

    Susan

    5  — October 3, 2021

    Good customer service

    I am happy  to choose A2 as my hosting company.  They listen to customers , resolve issues very quickly .  and the agents respond to email very fast . I feel they are striving to be better and the best. I was not sure which hosting company to choose, after using their service for 2 months. I am very happy about my choice

    Mark S

    5  — September 24, 2021

    A2

    Our agency currently hosts Azure, AWS, Rackspace, Pantheon and others.  We are now moving many of those sites, along with most new projects, to A2 Hosting.  Great customer service, a supportive attitude and virtually 100% uptime make all the difference.   

    The fact that A2 is privately owned and not an enormous public company driven by the need to deliver quarterly profits above all else is another plus.