Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

A2 Hosting has been around since 2001 and they’re most known for their page loading speeds.

In fact, they have delivered one of the fastest server speeds we’ve seen over the past 12 months. Also, A2 Hosting has a strong uptime, which makes their hosting service reliable.

A2 Hosting review

The hosting plans are developer-friendly, and their “anytime” money-back guarantee is a unique feature.

A significant downside is the renewal rate, which jumps up aggressively after your initial period. However, if you need a fast web hosting service at relatively cheap upfront pricing ($1.99/month) with the ability to scale with your website growth. Then A2 Hosting might be an excellent option for you.

Here’s an in-depth look at A2 Hosting’s pros and cons after signing up, paying for their hosting service, and putting it to the test.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 5.0

SPEED: 284 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.98% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Email, Phone, Ticketing
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, OpenCart, and Magento
FEATURES:Unlimited Bandwidth, Free SSL, Cloudflare CDN, Anycast DNS, Anytime Money-Back, Website Staging, DDoS Protection, and more.
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, VPS, Reseller, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER:Single Free Site Transfer with Shared Hosting ($10/site afterward)
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $8.99/mo)

Pros of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting is one of the best under-the-radar hosting companies you might not know about, but should.

Why?

Their speed is excellent, uptime is reliable, customer service is friendly, security features are plentiful, and refund policy is liberal. On top of it all, they’re even environmentally conscious.

Let’s take a detailed look at A2 Hosting’s many perks.

1. Super-Fast Page Loading Speed (284 ms)

You see a recurring theme when you go to A2Hosting.com – speed.

And A2 Hosting is, in fact, fast. In the past 12 months, they have delivered an amazing average speed of 284 ms.

A2 Hosting speed data
A2 Hosting average speed | See stats

And what’s even better?

A2 Hosting has been showing improved results monthly basis. Thus making them one of the fastest hosts we’ve tested (Digital Ocean is a tiny bit faster – 268 ms).

2. Reliable Uptime of 99.98%

On top of being lightning-fast, A2 Hosting is also reliable.

They had some trouble a few years ago when their uptime struggled to reach the industry standard of 99.93%. However, they’ve turned the problems around over the past year and achieved an average of 99.98% uptime. The total downtime of their servers was less than two hours.

A2 Hosting last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
A2 Hosting average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime of A2 hosting:

  • July 2021: 100%
  • June 2021: 99.99%
  • May 2021: 99.99%
  • April 2021: 100%
  • March 2021: 99.99%
  • February 2021: 100%
  • January 2021: 99.86%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.99%

A2 Hosting’s uptime fluctuated between 99.99-100% almost throughout the whole year (except for one time in January 2021) which is pretty impressive.

3. 24/7 Server Monitoring and Malware Scanning

The best way to keep your site safe is by preventing issues before they break out. But, extra scanning, firewalls, or layers of encryption can often slow users down. This isn’t the case with A2 Hosting. They can still perform at the highest level while giving you loads of additional security features.

A2 Hosting servers are protected by “HackScan,” a 24/7-monitoring service that scans for malware and other attacks.

Their data centers are also scalable, meaning you’re protected if a denial of service attack (DDoS) breaks out. These attacks attempt to flood your servers with traffic and knock your site offline. So A2 Hosting has got your back to handle sudden, unexpected surges.

4. Free Site Migrations (1-25 Depending on the Plan)

A2 Hosting offers to move a single existing website over to their servers without extra charge on all plans.

With the shared hosting plan, if you have multiple websites that you want to migrate, it costs $10/site extra. However, if you’re going with the Reseller, Dedicated, or Managed VPS hosting, you get 25 free site migrations. Their terms of service spell everything out in detail.

To take advantage of this, you need to reach out to their customer support department and give them your cPanel account credentials.

If your websites have any other control panel than cPanel, they might take a small fee for the extra work.

5. Content Management Systems (CMS) and Developer-Friendly Tools

A2 Hosting works seamlessly with all major content management systems.

You can install a WordPress, OpenCart, Drupal, Joomla, or Magento site with just a few clicks and don’t need a developer to do that.

A2 Hosting also has performance-enhancing plugins to make these CMSs faster, starting from the “Turbo Boost” plan. You get a free Cloudflare CDN with all hosting packages that further contribute to speeding things up.

A2 Hosting optimized CMS

Suppose you’re a webmaster or agency looking to host dozens of sites under one roof. In that case, A2 Hosting comes with developer-friendly tools. You can get admin-level access on servers, free server rewind backups, and multiple versions of everything from PHP to MySQL, Apache, Python, Ruby, etc.

A2 Hosting also has a website builder, appropriately named A2 SiteBuilder. However, it isn’t included in the standard hosting plans and is priced separately.

6. Anytime Money-Back Guarantee

Most hosts that we’ve reviewed offer a 30-day money-back guarantee. However, A2 Hosting has gone further than that and provides an “anytime” money-back guarantee.

This means that you still get a full refund within the first 30 days. But, if you find the service not suitable, you can cancel anytime and receive a prorated amount back for the remaining time you’ve prepaid.

However, there are a few snags.

The first is that any refund request past the initial 120 days is issued through PayPal. Another is that ‘additional’ services like domain registrations, setup, or migration fees are nonrefundable. You get to keep anything that’s not refunded, though, for example, your domain name.

7. Green Web Hosting

A2 Hosting’s hometown of Ann Arbor, Michigan, is known as “Tree Town.” They reportedly have 50,000+ trees and 150+ parks. So A2 feels a moral obligation to help protect the planet from global warming.

A2 Hosting Green Web Hosting display

They have partnered with Carbonfund.org to help support renewable energies and reforestation. They also have a “FutureServe” green hosting initiative in place to help offset emissions from their servers.

This probably isn’t a deciding factor to sign up for a web host. But, knowing the company you’re working with cares about the environment is a nice extra perk.

8. Fast Customer Support

A2 Hosting provides 24/7 support through live chat, email, ticketing, and phone. They also have a vast knowledge base if you prefer to find an answer yourself or learn something new.

However, our favorite is a live chat that we always like to test out.

We asked a simple question about their shared hosting plans and got connected to the customer support rep almost immediately.

A2 Hosting live chatThe customer support rep was polite and knowledgeable and replied to our questions quickly.

Moreover, we’re happy to see that A2 Hosting started offering a live chat option to everyone again. Not so long time ago, live chat was available only for registered users.

Cons of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting has many perks going for them, but we also found a few issues.

Here’s a look at each of these downsides in detail.

1. Domain Name is Not Free

A2 Hosting doesn’t include a free domain name in any of their shared hosting plans. This is not a very common sight in the hosting industry because most of the hosts we’ve reviewed offer a free domain name (at least for the 1st year).

In order to register or transfer a domain name at A2 Hosting, you’d have to pay, for example, $14.95/year for .com extension (renews at the same price).

2. High Renewal Rates (And a 15-Day Deadline)

A2 Hosting offers lower prices with long-term plans. They also have introductory prices with their plans when signing your first term with them, which lowers the regular price by more than half.

This sweet deal ends after the initial period when the automatic renewal kicks in at the “regular” pricing. The renewal pricing is roughly four times higher than the monthly average price you first paid.

It gets worse.

According to their terms, you have to submit a written cancellation request “15 days before the beginning of the Renewal Term” through their customer portal or by emailing them at billing@a2hosting.com.

What happens if you miss this 15-day window? You will be on the hook for paying the next renewal plan, which will renew automatically, and you’re not eligible to receive any refund.

3. Restrictions on the Cheapest Plan

The introductory price for A2 Hosting’s cheapest shared hosting option (“Startup”) is currently $2.99/month. That’s not the lowest pricing we’ve seen, but it’s pretty good.

But, there are multiple restrictions to that lowest costing plan. You only get a single website, 100 GB of SSD storage, and there are missing features like automatic backups and server rewind. The next tier plan already gives you unlimited websites and SSD storage, free automatic backups, and 2x more resources, starting at $4.99/month.

It makes you wonder if the cheapest plan is just there to promote a low price when the actual useful features for creating a site start at a bit more expensive plan.

A2 Hosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

A2 Hosting has four pricing tiers for its shared hosting:


Startup PlanDrive PlanTurbo Boost PlanTurbo Max Plan
Pricing $2.99/month
Renews at $8.99/mo
$4.99/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$9.99/month
Renews at $19.99/mo
$14.99/month
Renews at $24.99/mo
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Storage100 GBUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins
5x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins

Quick Facts

  • Domain name: Not free with any of their shared hosting plans.
  • Free Features: SSL, CDN, and DNS.
  • Ease of Signup: Three-step signup. Not too difficult.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, Check or Money Order, Bank Transfer, Skrill, UnionPay, and PayU Latam.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Renewal rates are higher than the introductory period. You have to cancel 15 days before the renewal period; otherwise, you’ll get automatically charged. Domain name purchases are not refundable.
  • Upsells: Some subtle upsells along the signup process.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): The option to install WordPress and other popular CMS options are available at checkout.

Do We Recommend A2 Hosting?

Yes, we do.

A2 Hosting has consistently delivered best-in-class speed for the last several years. They’ve also improved on server uptime, which is now very reliable. Moreover, all their shared plans come with a free SSL certificate and free site migration.

And if you run into issues at any time while being a customer, you can ask for a refund on the prorated balance of unused time.

We don’t like that renewal rates are high, and the strict terms after the initial period aren’t generous. Plus, if you’re paying for the most expensive shared plan to host unlimited websites (“Turbo Max”), they still only give you one free site migration. Not to mention that a free domain name is not included in any of their shared hosting plans.

Visit www.A2Hosting.com


Have you used A2 Hosting before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors.

135 user reviews for A2 Hosting

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Philip F

    1  — August 24, 2021

    a2 Hosting can’t renew ssl certificates when using cloudflare

    A few months ago, my SSL certificates stopped renewing on A2 Hosting. When I called them, they said that’s because I use CloudFlare. A2 Hosting said I have to pause the domain on CloudFlare, then renew the SSL certificate, and then enable CloudFlare.

    I don’t know why but this was never a problem until a few months ago. A2 Hosting didn’t understand why I didn’t have this problem before but confirmed that free SSL certificates will not renew when using CloudFlare.

    I have 24 sites at A2 Hosting and the SSL certificates all renew on different dates every 30 days. That requires me to login constantly to perform this procedure.

    I have other hosting companies and do not have this problem anywhere else. Unfortunately, I will have to move my account to another hosting company.

    Kayle

    5  — August 18, 2021

    Happy I switched to A2

    I migrated my website and domain registration from Hostmonster/Bluehost) to A2. The performance of the site was significantly improved. I’ve interacted with technical support and billing and they have been consistently professional and responsive

    Aime

    5  — August 17, 2021

    Support help

    I just began with A2 hosting. I appreciate their support. Since I am with them, I have submitted many concerns with my new blog and the customer service has always been so quick to help me out. I know that I will need their help to build my blog which is only in the beginning.
    Hope the journey will be great.

    Thomas R

    5  — August 12, 2021

    Powerful and good value

    Very good value, and very good customer service. Very rarely do I get downtime, no faults or complaints. Been with A2 for many years and hopefully many more years to follow. I have had a few cases where I have had downtime though (with no explanation) and they always seem to be doing maintenance which can cause issues, but overall highly recommended

    Emiliano E

    5  — August 9, 2021

    Service

    The service is excellent. We have had some attacks and the help desk guided us to prevent them from violating our system and gave us details of how we should confirm it. Response times were very fast. I recommend the service for its quick response and willingness to solve problems.

    Himanshu

    5  — August 2, 2021

    A2 is amazing

    The best Hosting for me so far has been A2 Hosting. I have been using it for 6 months now. The support team is swift and intelligent, and they deal with a lot of respect. I have not faced any problem, even if it has come, then their support has removed it in a few minutes.

    Kristen

    5  — July 29, 2021

    Awesome Service

    They have great customer service and a great web service. They were able to help me with the issues I was having with my website. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a great, fast, and reliable web host because so far, though it’s been two months or so, they’re the best I’ve had by far.

    Yvette

    5  — July 24, 2021

    Great support

    Terrific support. This was a complicated support request involving sales, support and billing. I had prompt responses to my questions and once in a while discovered something that needed taking care of, and that was also done promptly. A2 Hosting’s support is outstanding compared to other companies I have dealt with in the past (not just hosting companies but many types of companies). Thank you!

    Andrew H

    5  — July 22, 2021

    A2 Hosting support rocks

    A2 helped me solve the issues I was experiencing by explaining why they were happening. Allowing me to make informed decisions on how to solve them. They went to great lengths to make sure I understood how to use the tools and techniques in an effective way.

    Radu S

    5  — July 17, 2021

    I am a happy years long customer

    This relates to my most recent interaction – Chris from the sales team was very nice and knowledgeable. I had a good talk with him and he resolved all my questions. I upgraded to the max Turbo recently and the speed is impressive. I am very happy with these services and I would also recommend them to anyone wanting to pay a hosting plan on a monthly basis, as opposed to not affording to pay a yearly one, such as myself.

    Roman L

    5  — June 4, 2021

    Excellent, excellent, excellent!

    Excellent customer service, friendly and knowledgeable staff, quick response. Awesome company and a pleasure to deal with! Have never had an issue that couldn’t be very easily resolved. They go above and beyond regular customer service and offer an amazing product to boot. Keep up the great work!

    Ronald L

    5  — May 30, 2021

    Insanely great tech-support

    I love doing business with this website hosting company. I’ve been a customer for many years and every single time that I needed tech-support, they’ve always helped. They have always been there and gone above and beyond to help me out. I could not be any happier.

    Paul F

    5  — May 24, 2021

    Stress Free for an old man

    I do not understand most tech stuff, but wanted to transfer a domain, website and email to A2Hosting. Nick was very patient and made the entire process of transferring a domain and website stress free and simple.

    Very happy with today’s experience.

    Larry K

    5  — May 24, 2021

    Best service in the industry

    The best customer service in the industry is always available and has great knowledge. Everytime we call, we get a tech person that knows the system inside out and takes just a few steps to fix whatever problem we have.

    Our site has been on their system for over 4 years without ever a downtime even when under attack, and we love their protection from outside attacks and their notifications about such attacks.

    Roberto

    2  — March 18, 2021

    Only for WordPress?

    In the process of deploying a peer to peer network for a decentralization technology we created accounts with several providers. Many gave us direct access to a pool (usually up to 25) VPS, some made us go through a more accurate KYC process, but all were supportive of our project, often offering discounts. All but one: A2 Hosting. They took 5 days of our time to first do KYC, then bouncing us from a “Billing Specialist” to another, until they simply told us that, learned the nature of what we are doing, “Upon further review we regret to inform you we cannot take your business at this time.” Our applications are lightweight, use almost no processor and less than the booked memory (they run on a RasPI). Are A2 Hosting VPN overbooked and when someone needs them for something that is not a WordPress website they are better off not hosting a client? Why refuse a legitimate application that consumes less bandwidth and memory than a busy website?

    Well, unless you have hours to use to find out, you are better off going to Linode, Digital Ocean, or many other friendly hosting companies!

    Aaron

    4  — March 13, 2021

    A2 reliable and responsive

    Have had good luck with A2 through the years and will stick with them. Solid customer service and have been responsive each time that I’ve had a tech support issue – which has only been a handful of times over the years and generally as a result of WordPress more than anything.

    Tony B

    4  — February 25, 2021

    Helpful and quick response

    Helpful and quick response, good value for a charity

    Ron544

    1  — February 24, 2021

    “Your chat request is declined by Agent.”

    Tried to get on their chat system for a pre-sales question (send questions via a message required to have a login credential) and after about 5mn waiting for the chat to start, I got a “Your chat request is declined by Agent.” If that’s how they handle people interested in their services, I’ll pursue my searches with equally famous alternative solutions.

    Tolis

    5  — February 22, 2021

    Great service!

    Great and immediate service! So far so good! Congrats!

    Matthew M

    5  — February 12, 2021

    Friendly and knowledgeable sales and support team

    I had a lot of questions about buying new hosting and migrating my site and spoke with 3 different people throughout the process and all were very helpful and friendly and patient. Good job!