Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

A2 Hosting has been around since 2001 and they’re most known for their page loading speeds.

In fact, they have delivered the fastest server speeds we’ve seen over the past 12 months. Also, A2 Hosting has a strong uptime, which makes their hosting service reliable.

A2 Hosting review

The hosting plans are developer-friendly, and their “anytime” money-back guarantee is a unique feature.

A significant downside is the renewal rate, which jumps up aggressively after your initial period. However, if you need a fast web hosting service at relatively cheap upfront pricing ($2.99/month) with the ability to scale with your website growth. Then A2 Hosting might be an excellent option for you. Also, their customer support is rather slow.

Here’s an in-depth look at A2 Hosting’s pros and cons after signing up, paying for their hosting service, and putting it to the test.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 5.0

SPEED: 279 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME: 99.97% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat, Email, Phone, Ticketing
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, OpenCart, and Magento
FEATURES: Unlimited Bandwidth, Free SSL, Cloudflare CDN, Anycast DNS, Anytime Money-Back
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, VPS, Reseller, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Single Free Site Transfer with Shared Hosting ($10/site afterward)
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $8.99/mo)

Pros of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting is one of the best under-the-radar hosting companies you might not know about, but should.

Why?

Their speed is excellent, uptime is reliable, customer service is friendly, security features are plentiful, and refund policy is liberal. On top of it all, they’re even environmentally conscious.

Let’s take a detailed look at A2 Hosting’s many perks.

1. Fastest Page Loading Speed (279 ms)

You see a recurring theme when you go to A2Hosting.com – speed.

And A2 Hosting is, in fact, fast. In the past 12 months, they have delivered an amazing average speed of 279 ms.

And what’s even better?

A2 Hosting has been showing improved results monthly basis. Thus rankings #1st out 36 hosts in average speed.

A2 Hosting Speed Feb 2020 - Jan 2021
A2 Hosting average speed See stats

2. Reliable Uptime of 99.97%

On top of being lightning-fast, A2 Hosting is also quite reliable.

They had some trouble a few years ago when their uptime struggled to reach the industry-standard of 99.94%. However, they’ve turned the problems around over the past year and achieved an average of 99.97% uptime. The total downtime of their servers was a bit more than two hours.

A2 Hosting last 12-month uptime and speed
A2 Hosting average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime of A2 hosting:

  • January 2021: 99.85%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.99%
  • July 2020: 100%
  • June 2020: 99.84%
  • May 2020: 100%
  • April 2020: 100%
  • March 2020: 99.99%
  • February 2020: 100%

3. 24/7 Server Monitoring and Malware Scanning

The best way to keep your site safe is by preventing issues before they break out. But, extra scanning, firewalls, or layers of encryption can often slow users down. This isn’t the case with A2 Hosting. They can still perform at the highest level while giving you loads of additional security features.

A2 Hosting servers are protected by “HackScan,” a 24/7-monitoring service that scans for malware and other attacks.

Their data centers are also scalable, meaning you’re protected if a denial of service attack (DDoS) breaks out. These attacks attempt to flood your servers with traffic and knock your site offline. So A2 Hosting has got your back to handle sudden, unexpected surges.

4. Free Site Migrations (1-25 Depending on the Plan)

A2 Hosting offers to move a single existing website over to their servers without extra charge on all plans.

With the shared hosting plan, if you have multiple websites that you want to migrate, it costs $10/site extra. However, if you’re going with the Reseller, Dedicated, or Managed VPS hosting, you get 25 free site migrations. Their terms of service spell everything out in detail.

To take advantage of this, you need to reach out to their customer support department and give them your cPanel account credentials.

If your websites have any other control panel than cPanel, they might take a small fee for the extra work.

5. Content Management Systems (CMS) and Developer-Friendly Tools

A2 Hosting works seamlessly with all major content management systems.

You can install a WordPress, OpenCart, Drupal, Joomla, or Magento site with just a few clicks and don’t need a developer to do that.

A2 Hosting also has performance-enhancing plugins to make these CMSs faster, starting from the “Turbo Boost” plan. You get a free Cloudflare CDN with all hosting packages that further contribute to speeding things up.

A2 Hosting optimized CMS

Suppose you’re a webmaster or agency looking to host dozens of sites under one roof. In that case, A2 Hosting comes with developer-friendly tools. You can get admin-level access on servers, free server rewind backups, and multiple versions of everything from PHP to MySQL, Apache, Python, Ruby, etc.

A2 Hosting also has a website builder, appropriately named A2 SiteBuilder. However, it isn’t included in the standard hosting plans and is priced separately.

6. Anytime Money-Back Guarantee

Most hosts that we’ve reviewed offer a 30-day money-back guarantee. However, A2 Hosting has gone further than that and provides an “anytime” money-back guarantee.

This means that you still get a full refund within the first 30 days. But, if you find the service not suitable, you can cancel anytime and receive a prorated amount back for the remaining time you’ve prepaid.

However, there are a few snags.

The first is that any refund request past the initial 120 days is issued through PayPal. Another is that ‘additional’ services like domain registrations, setup, or migration fees are nonrefundable. You get to keep anything that’s not refunded, though, for example, your domain name.

7. Green Web Hosting

A2 Hosting’s hometown of Ann Arbor, Michigan, is known as “Tree Town.” They reportedly have 50,000+ trees and 150+ parks. So A2 feels a moral obligation to help protect the planet from global warming.

A2 Hosting Green Web Hosting display

They have partnered with Carbonfund.org to help support renewable energies and reforestation. They also have a “FutureServe” green hosting initiative in place to help offset emissions from their servers.

This probably isn’t a deciding factor to sign up for a web host. But, knowing the company you’re working with cares about the environment is a nice extra perk.

Cons of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting has many perks going for them, but we also found a few issues.

Here’s a look at each of these downsides in detail.

1. Slow Customer Support

A2 Hosting provides 24/7 support through live chat, email, ticketing, and phone. They also have a vast knowledge base if you prefer to find an answer yourself or learn something new.

Sounds good, right?

However, there is a catch.

Their live chat support option is only available for registered clients. This has been a recent change, because not a long time ago, live chat was available for everyone who visited their homepage. So, basically, if you’re still looking around and don’t have an account with A2 Hosting, then you’ll only have the email, phone, or ticketing options available.

We logged in to our client area and reached out to live chat. However, the first message that we saw was that our estimated waiting time is 26 minutes! That’s a long time considering that it usually takes an average of fewer than five minutes to connect with a live chat customer rep. However, we decided to give them a chance and stayed connected.

A2 Hosting live chat queue

We waited about 10 minutes when the customer rep reached out and another 10 minutes to finally reply to our simple technical question with a link.

A2 hosting live chat reply

In total it took us about 20 minutes to get an answer to a very easy technical question.

2. High Renewal Rates (And a 15-Day Deadline)

A2 Hosting offers lower prices with long-term plans. They also have introductory prices with their plans when signing your first term with them, which lowers the regular price for more than half.

This sweet deal ends after the initial period when the automatic renewal kicks in at the “regular” pricing. The renewal pricing is roughly double the monthly average price you first paid.

It gets worse.

According to their terms, you have to submit a written cancellation request “15 days before the beginning of the Renewal Term” through their customer portal or by emailing them at [email protected]

What happens if you miss this 15-day window? You will be on the hook for paying the next renewal plan, which will renew automatically, and you’re not eligible to receive any refund.

3. Restrictions on the Cheapest Plan

The introductory price for A2 Hosting’s cheapest shared hosting option (“Startup”) is currently $2.99/month (66% off the regular price). That’s not the lowest pricing we’ve seen, but it’s pretty good.

But, there are multiple restrictions to that lowest costing plan. You only get a single website, 100GB of SSD storage, and there are missing features like automatic backups and server rewind. The next tier plan already gives you unlimited websites and SSD storage, free automatic backups, and 2x more resources, starting at $4.99/month.

It makes you wonder if the cheapest plan is just there to promote a low price when the actual useful features for creating a site start at a bit more expensive plan.

The same issue applies to their website builder plan. The cheapest option with the same price of $2.99/month only gets you a single page — not nearly enough to create an actual website.

A2 Hosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

A2 Hosting has four pricing tiers for its shared hosting:


Startup Plan Drive Plan Turbo Boost Plan Turbo Max Plan
Pricing $2.99/month
Renews at $8.99/mo
$4.99/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$9.99/month
Renews at $19.99/mo
$14.99/month
Renews at $24.99/mo
Websites 1 Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Storage 100GB Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins
5x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins

Quick Facts

  • Website migration: 1 migration included.
  • Free Features: SSL, CDN, and DNS.
  • Ease of Signup: Three-step signup. Not too difficult.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, Check or Money Order, Bank Transfer, Skrill, UnionPay, and PayU Latam.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Renewal rates are higher than the introductory period. You have to cancel 15 days before the renewal period; otherwise, you’ll get automatically charged. Domain name purchases are not refundable.
  • Upsells: Some subtle upsells along the signup process.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): The option to install WordPress and other popular CMSs option is available at checkout.

Do We Recommend A2 Hosting?

Yes, we do.

A2 Hosting has consistently delivered best-in-class speed for the last several years. They’ve also improved on server uptime, which is now more reliable. Moreover, all their shared plans come with a free SSL certificate and one free migration.

And if you run into issues at any time while being a customer, you can ask for a refund on the prorated balance of unused time.

The only significant downside is slow customer support. However, it shouldn’t be a huge problem, if you’re patient enough.

We also don’t like that renewal rates are high, and the strict terms after the initial period aren’t generous. Plus, if you’re paying for the most expensive shared plan to host unlimited websites (“Turbo Max”), they still only give you one free site migration.

Visit www.A2Hosting.com


Have you used A2 Hosting before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors.

116 user reviews for A2 Hosting

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Matthew M

    5  — February 12, 2021

    Friendly and knowledgeable sales and support team

    I had a lot of questions about buying new hosting and migrating my site and spoke with 3 different people throughout the process and all were very helpful and friendly and patient. Good job!

    Kenneth T

    5  — February 10, 2021

    Great support

    Great support, professional and knowledgeable

    Marion S

    5  — February 4, 2021

    Good support

    Good and fast support!

    Wes

    5  — February 4, 2021

    Best support ever

    Whenever I have had to report an issue, the A2 Hosting support staff respond quickly with relevant information. It is so refreshing to have access to support staff that actually know their stuff.

    Steve W

    5  — February 3, 2021

    Helpful

    Very helpful in initiating the migration process from my old hosting company.

    Tom W

    5  — February 1, 2021

    consistently knowledgeable, helpful and friendly

    I am glad I chose A2 for my hosting firm. I am a new client of theirs and have called over a dozen times with all kinds of newbie questions. The technical support staff taking the calls have been consistently knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. And the call wait times have been very short. In only a minute or two I am talking to a live human being. It has been wonderful.

    Bob

    5  — January 29, 2021

    Excellent and Timely Support

    I have been using A2Hosting for 2 years, and I have found that their support is excellent and quick.  But I usually use their email support as opposed to their on-line chat. In all cases, they have responded very quickly, usually within minutes and never more than a few hours.

    I also had some development work I needed, and the developers they recommended were excellent and reasonably priced.

    A2Hosting is the third hosting company I have used and they are excellent supporting my wordpress and email applications.

    ThatProgrammer

    5  — January 22, 2021

    Really helpful support.

    Really helpful support. I highly recommend it for cheap WHMCS Licenses.

    George D

    5  — January 16, 2021

    Domain renewal cancelation

    What can I say, I waited up to the last minute to cancel the renewal of my Domain that I wasn’t using, but I got late and my renewal took place and I was charged for it, but I call A2 Hosting immediately explained my situation, and with out any question asked, the reverted everything, and I got my refund. This is not the first time I needed help from them, and they have always been ready to give me a helping hand.

    Jorge R

    4  — January 15, 2021

    Timely support for fire issues

    We just updated our domain records to point to a hosting service for a Drupal 8 site at A2hosting and their support on emerging issues was very timely in making the switch. They Rock!

    ELIZABETH G

    5  — January 2, 2021

    Reliable and kind

    A2 hosting has worked for me for over 9 uninterrupted years!!!

    John H

    5  — December 31, 2020

    A2HOSTING

    A2hosting is a great provider that is always very responsive to any request or needs. Support tickets are acted on promptly and the issue is resolved quickly.

    Giovanni L

    5  — December 30, 2020

    Excellent attention!

    The issue I had with the SSL Certificate was solved promptly and efficiently.

    Dan K

    5  — December 28, 2020

    Prompt Attention to Request

    I appreciate the promptness and interactions with which A2 Hosting Support handles my requests.

    Jeannie T

    5  — December 19, 2020

    Great support

    Top support by caring and sharp people who treat you with respect and get the job done…thank-you

    JR D

    5  — December 19, 2020

    Excellent over all

    I was a reseller with a2 hosting. But due to personal problems I downsized to a shared hosting account. It took a few days and several tickets to get it all working. However I must say A2 is the best hosting company I’ve ever had. They were a little slow on the tickets but explained the black Friday sale generated a lot of new customers, I would say they were overloaded to say the least. I would definitely recommend them to anyone. I have been with them now for 6 years. So if you need a reliable hosting solution A2 is it. Over all I rate them a 4.8 out of 5 there not perfect but neither am I. I hope this helps someone find a great hosting company

    Tom W

    5  — December 15, 2020

    Inbound mail blocked

    Noticed that inbound mail ceased for 2 days. Reported the problem to the A2 team who determined a BoxTrapper setting had been somehow reset. Problem solved quickly with an explanation of what caused the issue. Great support from A2 Hosting.

    Kate K

    5  — December 6, 2020

    Exceptional Service

    I have a managed VPS account. When questions arise, they are quick, responsive, and professional. Wait times for phone support are generally short, tickets are cleared quickly, and the people are clear and fun to work with. Recommend highly!

    Randy S

    5  — December 1, 2020

    Excellent Customer Service!

    I had an inquiry into our invoice with the billing team. After a brief chat, they recommended an upgrade service. The end result was a better hosting plan for less money.

    FutureImaging.com

    5  — November 28, 2020

    A2Hosting.com is an awesome host provider

    A2Hosting has been a great hosting provider with great support, pricing, response from any team member, hardware options and performance. I am very grateful for their professionalism and appreciate the whole A2Hosting Team!

    Highly recommend anyone interested in a great hosting provider check out A2Hosting.com!