Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

A2 Hosting has been around since 2001 and they’re most known for their page loading speeds.

In fact, they have delivered one of the fastest server speeds we’ve seen over the past 12 months. Also, A2 Hosting has a strong uptime, which makes their hosting service reliable.

A2 Hosting review

The hosting plans are developer-friendly, and their “anytime” money-back guarantee is a unique feature.

A significant downside is the renewal rate, which jumps up aggressively after your initial period. However, if you need a fast web hosting service at relatively cheap upfront pricing ($1.99/month) with the ability to scale with your website growth. Then A2 Hosting might be an excellent option for you.

Here’s an in-depth look at A2 Hosting’s pros and cons after signing up, paying for their hosting service, and putting it to the test.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 5.0

SPEED: 284 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.98% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Email, Phone, Ticketing
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, OpenCart, and Magento
FEATURES:Unlimited Bandwidth, Free SSL, Cloudflare CDN, Anycast DNS, Anytime Money-Back, Website Staging, DDoS Protection, and more.
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, VPS, Reseller, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER:Single Free Site Transfer with Shared Hosting ($10/site afterward)
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $8.99/mo)

Pros of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting is one of the best under-the-radar hosting companies you might not know about, but should.

Why?

Their speed is excellent, uptime is reliable, customer service is friendly, security features are plentiful, and refund policy is liberal. On top of it all, they’re even environmentally conscious.

Let’s take a detailed look at A2 Hosting’s many perks.

1. Super-Fast Page Loading Speed (284 ms)

You see a recurring theme when you go to A2Hosting.com – speed.

And A2 Hosting is, in fact, fast. In the past 12 months, they have delivered an amazing average speed of 284 ms.

A2 Hosting speed data
A2 Hosting average speed | See stats

And what’s even better?

A2 Hosting has been showing improved results monthly basis. Thus making them one of the fastest hosts we’ve tested (Digital Ocean is a tiny bit faster – 268 ms).

2. Reliable Uptime of 99.98%

On top of being lightning-fast, A2 Hosting is also reliable.

They had some trouble a few years ago when their uptime struggled to reach the industry standard of 99.93%. However, they’ve turned the problems around over the past year and achieved an average of 99.98% uptime. The total downtime of their servers was less than two hours.

A2 Hosting last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
A2 Hosting average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime of A2 hosting:

  • July 2021: 100%
  • June 2021: 99.99%
  • May 2021: 99.99%
  • April 2021: 100%
  • March 2021: 99.99%
  • February 2021: 100%
  • January 2021: 99.86%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.99%

A2 Hosting’s uptime fluctuated between 99.99-100% almost throughout the whole year (except for one time in January 2021) which is pretty impressive.

3. 24/7 Server Monitoring and Malware Scanning

The best way to keep your site safe is by preventing issues before they break out. But, extra scanning, firewalls, or layers of encryption can often slow users down. This isn’t the case with A2 Hosting. They can still perform at the highest level while giving you loads of additional security features.

A2 Hosting servers are protected by “HackScan,” a 24/7-monitoring service that scans for malware and other attacks.

Their data centers are also scalable, meaning you’re protected if a denial of service attack (DDoS) breaks out. These attacks attempt to flood your servers with traffic and knock your site offline. So A2 Hosting has got your back to handle sudden, unexpected surges.

4. Free Site Migrations (1-25 Depending on the Plan)

A2 Hosting offers to move a single existing website over to their servers without extra charge on all plans.

With the shared hosting plan, if you have multiple websites that you want to migrate, it costs $10/site extra. However, if you’re going with the Reseller, Dedicated, or Managed VPS hosting, you get 25 free site migrations. Their terms of service spell everything out in detail.

To take advantage of this, you need to reach out to their customer support department and give them your cPanel account credentials.

If your websites have any other control panel than cPanel, they might take a small fee for the extra work.

5. Content Management Systems (CMS) and Developer-Friendly Tools

A2 Hosting works seamlessly with all major content management systems.

You can install a WordPress, OpenCart, Drupal, Joomla, or Magento site with just a few clicks and don’t need a developer to do that.

A2 Hosting also has performance-enhancing plugins to make these CMSs faster, starting from the “Turbo Boost” plan. You get a free Cloudflare CDN with all hosting packages that further contribute to speeding things up.

A2 Hosting optimized CMS

Suppose you’re a webmaster or agency looking to host dozens of sites under one roof. In that case, A2 Hosting comes with developer-friendly tools. You can get admin-level access on servers, free server rewind backups, and multiple versions of everything from PHP to MySQL, Apache, Python, Ruby, etc.

A2 Hosting also has a website builder, appropriately named A2 SiteBuilder. However, it isn’t included in the standard hosting plans and is priced separately.

6. Anytime Money-Back Guarantee

Most hosts that we’ve reviewed offer a 30-day money-back guarantee. However, A2 Hosting has gone further than that and provides an “anytime” money-back guarantee.

This means that you still get a full refund within the first 30 days. But, if you find the service not suitable, you can cancel anytime and receive a prorated amount back for the remaining time you’ve prepaid.

However, there are a few snags.

The first is that any refund request past the initial 120 days is issued through PayPal. Another is that ‘additional’ services like domain registrations, setup, or migration fees are nonrefundable. You get to keep anything that’s not refunded, though, for example, your domain name.

7. Green Web Hosting

A2 Hosting’s hometown of Ann Arbor, Michigan, is known as “Tree Town.” They reportedly have 50,000+ trees and 150+ parks. So A2 feels a moral obligation to help protect the planet from global warming.

A2 Hosting Green Web Hosting display

They have partnered with Carbonfund.org to help support renewable energies and reforestation. They also have a “FutureServe” green hosting initiative in place to help offset emissions from their servers.

This probably isn’t a deciding factor to sign up for a web host. But, knowing the company you’re working with cares about the environment is a nice extra perk.

8. Fast Customer Support

A2 Hosting provides 24/7 support through live chat, email, ticketing, and phone. They also have a vast knowledge base if you prefer to find an answer yourself or learn something new.

However, our favorite is a live chat that we always like to test out.

We asked a simple question about their shared hosting plans and got connected to the customer support rep almost immediately.

A2 Hosting live chatThe customer support rep was polite and knowledgeable and replied to our questions quickly.

Moreover, we’re happy to see that A2 Hosting started offering a live chat option to everyone again. Not so long time ago, live chat was available only for registered users.

Cons of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting has many perks going for them, but we also found a few issues.

Here’s a look at each of these downsides in detail.

1. Domain Name is Not Free

A2 Hosting doesn’t include a free domain name in any of their shared hosting plans. This is not a very common sight in the hosting industry because most of the hosts we’ve reviewed offer a free domain name (at least for the 1st year).

In order to register or transfer a domain name at A2 Hosting, you’d have to pay, for example, $14.95/year for .com extension (renews at the same price).

2. High Renewal Rates (And a 15-Day Deadline)

A2 Hosting offers lower prices with long-term plans. They also have introductory prices with their plans when signing your first term with them, which lowers the regular price by more than half.

This sweet deal ends after the initial period when the automatic renewal kicks in at the “regular” pricing. The renewal pricing is roughly four times higher than the monthly average price you first paid.

It gets worse.

According to their terms, you have to submit a written cancellation request “15 days before the beginning of the Renewal Term” through their customer portal or by emailing them at billing@a2hosting.com.

What happens if you miss this 15-day window? You will be on the hook for paying the next renewal plan, which will renew automatically, and you’re not eligible to receive any refund.

3. Restrictions on the Cheapest Plan

The introductory price for A2 Hosting’s cheapest shared hosting option (“Startup”) is currently $2.99/month. That’s not the lowest pricing we’ve seen, but it’s pretty good.

But, there are multiple restrictions to that lowest costing plan. You only get a single website, 100 GB of SSD storage, and there are missing features like automatic backups and server rewind. The next tier plan already gives you unlimited websites and SSD storage, free automatic backups, and 2x more resources, starting at $4.99/month.

It makes you wonder if the cheapest plan is just there to promote a low price when the actual useful features for creating a site start at a bit more expensive plan.

A2 Hosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

A2 Hosting has four pricing tiers for its shared hosting:


Startup PlanDrive PlanTurbo Boost PlanTurbo Max Plan
Pricing $2.99/month
Renews at $8.99/mo
$4.99/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$9.99/month
Renews at $19.99/mo
$14.99/month
Renews at $24.99/mo
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Storage100 GBUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins
5x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins

Quick Facts

  • Domain name: Not free with any of their shared hosting plans.
  • Free Features: SSL, CDN, and DNS.
  • Ease of Signup: Three-step signup. Not too difficult.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, Check or Money Order, Bank Transfer, Skrill, UnionPay, and PayU Latam.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Renewal rates are higher than the introductory period. You have to cancel 15 days before the renewal period; otherwise, you’ll get automatically charged. Domain name purchases are not refundable.
  • Upsells: Some subtle upsells along the signup process.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): The option to install WordPress and other popular CMS options are available at checkout.

Do We Recommend A2 Hosting?

Yes, we do.

A2 Hosting has consistently delivered best-in-class speed for the last several years. They’ve also improved on server uptime, which is now very reliable. Moreover, all their shared plans come with a free SSL certificate and free site migration.

And if you run into issues at any time while being a customer, you can ask for a refund on the prorated balance of unused time.

We don’t like that renewal rates are high, and the strict terms after the initial period aren’t generous. Plus, if you’re paying for the most expensive shared plan to host unlimited websites (“Turbo Max”), they still only give you one free site migration. Not to mention that a free domain name is not included in any of their shared hosting plans.

Visit www.A2Hosting.com


Have you used A2 Hosting before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors.

81 user reviews for A2 Hosting

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Mark S

    5  — September 24, 2021

    A2

    Our agency currently hosts Azure, AWS, Rackspace, Pantheon and others.  We are now moving many of those sites, along with most new projects, to A2 Hosting.  Great customer service, a supportive attitude and virtually 100% uptime make all the difference.   

    The fact that A2 is privately owned and not an enormous public company driven by the need to deliver quarterly profits above all else is another plus.

    Satoshi N

    3  — September 13, 2021

    Mailchannels will block your Outbound emails

    A2 Hosting uses MailChannels as an email server and it will block your Outbound emails and there are no settings. There is no way around it. Our clients are not receiving our emails. Beware! You might be missing out on some business. Other than that, they have a good service.

    Serge

    5  — September 13, 2021

    Exceeding all expectations!

    The one thing I really like is the exceptional customer service. I had tried out A2 initially to see just how fast the load speeds were from around the country and A2 delivers! Customer service is so helpful…even for people that do not know that much about getting a website up and running these pros will go out their way to make it work! Fanatical great awesome customer service! I could not be more happy with A2 as my host for my business needs!

    Thank you once again A2!

    Ivan D

    5  — September 4, 2021

    Loving this hosting company

    Amazing company and amazing support, always fast to answer any questions. I love it. I’m super happy that I bumped into this platform. Every time I run into any issues I just need to send a quick email explaining what’s happening and they will be replying in minutes. Thank you for all your help and support.

    Thomas R

    5  — August 12, 2021

    Powerful and good value

    Very good value, and very good customer service. Very rarely do I get downtime, no faults or complaints. Been with A2 for many years and hopefully many more years to follow. I have had a few cases where I have had downtime though (with no explanation) and they always seem to be doing maintenance which can cause issues, but overall highly recommended

    Himanshu

    5  — August 2, 2021

    A2 is amazing

    The best Hosting for me so far has been A2 Hosting. I have been using it for 6 months now. The support team is swift and intelligent, and they deal with a lot of respect. I have not faced any problem, even if it has come, then their support has removed it in a few minutes.

    Kristen

    5  — July 29, 2021

    Awesome Service

    They have great customer service and a great web service. They were able to help me with the issues I was having with my website. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a great, fast, and reliable web host because so far, though it’s been two months or so, they’re the best I’ve had by far.

    Yvette

    5  — July 24, 2021

    Great support

    Terrific support. This was a complicated support request involving sales, support and billing. I had prompt responses to my questions and once in a while discovered something that needed taking care of, and that was also done promptly. A2 Hosting’s support is outstanding compared to other companies I have dealt with in the past (not just hosting companies but many types of companies). Thank you!

    Andrew H

    5  — July 22, 2021

    A2 Hosting support rocks

    A2 helped me solve the issues I was experiencing by explaining why they were happening. Allowing me to make informed decisions on how to solve them. They went to great lengths to make sure I understood how to use the tools and techniques in an effective way.

    Radu S

    5  — July 17, 2021

    I am a happy years long customer

    This relates to my most recent interaction – Chris from the sales team was very nice and knowledgeable. I had a good talk with him and he resolved all my questions. I upgraded to the max Turbo recently and the speed is impressive. I am very happy with these services and I would also recommend them to anyone wanting to pay a hosting plan on a monthly basis, as opposed to not affording to pay a yearly one, such as myself.

    Roman L

    5  — June 4, 2021

    Excellent, excellent, excellent!

    Excellent customer service, friendly and knowledgeable staff, quick response. Awesome company and a pleasure to deal with! Have never had an issue that couldn’t be very easily resolved. They go above and beyond regular customer service and offer an amazing product to boot. Keep up the great work!

    Larry K

    5  — May 24, 2021

    Best service in the industry

    The best customer service in the industry is always available and has great knowledge. Everytime we call, we get a tech person that knows the system inside out and takes just a few steps to fix whatever problem we have.

    Our site has been on their system for over 4 years without ever a downtime even when under attack, and we love their protection from outside attacks and their notifications about such attacks.

    Aaron

    4  — March 13, 2021

    A2 reliable and responsive

    Have had good luck with A2 through the years and will stick with them. Solid customer service and have been responsive each time that I’ve had a tech support issue – which has only been a handful of times over the years and generally as a result of WordPress more than anything.

    Wes

    5  — February 4, 2021

    Best support ever

    Whenever I have had to report an issue, the A2 Hosting support staff respond quickly with relevant information. It is so refreshing to have access to support staff that actually know their stuff.

    Tom W

    5  — February 1, 2021

    consistently knowledgeable, helpful and friendly

    I am glad I chose A2 for my hosting firm. I am a new client of theirs and have called over a dozen times with all kinds of newbie questions. The technical support staff taking the calls have been consistently knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. And the call wait times have been very short. In only a minute or two I am talking to a live human being. It has been wonderful.

    Bob

    5  — January 29, 2021

    Excellent and Timely Support

    I have been using A2Hosting for 2 years, and I have found that their support is excellent and quick.  But I usually use their email support as opposed to their on-line chat. In all cases, they have responded very quickly, usually within minutes and never more than a few hours.

    I also had some development work I needed, and the developers they recommended were excellent and reasonably priced.

    A2Hosting is the third hosting company I have used and they are excellent supporting my wordpress and email applications.

    ThatProgrammer

    5  — January 22, 2021

    Really helpful support.

    Really helpful support. I highly recommend it for cheap WHMCS Licenses.

    George D

    5  — January 16, 2021

    Domain renewal cancelation

    What can I say, I waited up to the last minute to cancel the renewal of my Domain that I wasn’t using, but I got late and my renewal took place and I was charged for it, but I call A2 Hosting immediately explained my situation, and with out any question asked, the reverted everything, and I got my refund. This is not the first time I needed help from them, and they have always been ready to give me a helping hand.

    Jorge R

    4  — January 15, 2021

    Timely support for fire issues

    We just updated our domain records to point to a hosting service for a Drupal 8 site at A2hosting and their support on emerging issues was very timely in making the switch. They Rock!

    John H

    5  — December 31, 2020

    A2HOSTING

    A2hosting is a great provider that is always very responsive to any request or needs. Support tickets are acted on promptly and the issue is resolved quickly.