Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

GreenGeeks was founded in 2008 by Trey Gardner, and they’ve now shot up to hosting over 300,000 websites (with data centers in the U.S., Canada, and the Netherlands).

greengeeks hosting review

Trey’s background is important, as he’s worked with eight different web hosting companies, including iPowerweb, iPage, StartLogic, Dot5Hosting, Globat, Lunarpages, Hostpapa, and now GreenGeeks.

On their website, GreenGeeks goes on to make two bold claims:

  • 99.9% uptime
  • 100% customer satisfaction

So what’s the verdict? Do they have excellent, wind-powered uptime and support? Or are their promotional claims just full of hot air?

To see for ourselves, we purchased the GreenGeeks ‘Shared Plan’ and set up a basic WordPress test website to run performance tests for over 12 months.

Read on to find out if GreenGeeks got our recommendation.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.5

SPEED: 451 ms (December 2019 to November 2020)
UPTIME: 99.95% (December 2019 to November 2020)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, PrestaShop, and WHMCS
FEATURES: Unlimited bandwidth, storage, and email accounts, free domain 1st year, backups, free SSL
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, and Reseller
SITE TRANSFER: Single Free Site Transfer
PRICING: Starting at $2.49/mo (renews at $10.95/mo)

Pros of Using GreenGeeks Hosting


GreenGeeks has a lot of good things going for them. This includes solid uptime, support, and important mission-driven service. Here are the details:

1. Solid Uptime Performance

GreenGeeks has made the bold claim of guaranteed 99.90% uptime.

Have they been able to live up to that claim?

Yes. Our in-depth, 12-month analysis backs this up, showing an average uptime of 99.95%.

During the 12 months of tracking, GreenGeeks had a total of only a bit over four hours of downtime (and 113 outages).

GreenGeeks last 12 month averga speed and uptime data
GreenGeeks average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • November 2020: 99.99%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.96%
  • July 2020: 100%
  • June 2020: 99.78%
  • May 2020: 99.85%
  • April 2020: 99.94%
  • March 2020: 99.90%
  • February 2020: 100%
  • January 2020: 100%
  • December 2019: 99.99%

2. Good Page Loading Time (451 ms)

We also tested GreenGeeks’ page load times during our 12-month review process.

Their speed is better than the industry average, clocking in around 451 ms.

Even though GreenGeeks’ speed has gone slower over the year, it’s still fast enough to get our thumbs up.

GreenGeeks last 12 month average speed data
GreenGeeks’ average speed  | See stats

3. Good Support with Quick Answers

Customer support was the final ‘big’ element to review.

We tested out GreenGeeks’ live chat and were connected to a customer support agent within a minute, who then answered questions quickly and concisely.

GreenGeeks live chat

GreenGeeks also has an extensive knowledge base where users can search for answers to their questions.

That’s a great perk if you prefer self-help over asking a customer service representative for assistance.

GreenGeeks has a ton of different article categories and subcategories to select from, including sales questions, general hosting, reseller hosting, VPS hosting, billing questions, video tutorials, and more.

You can use the search bar in case you can’t find your solution within the above-mentioned categories.

GreenGeeks knowledge base

That way, you always have access to the help you need, even if GreenGeeks’ live chat feature is offline for some reason.

Besides live chat and knowledge base, GreenGeeks also have phone support.

4. Free Domain Name & Website Migration

GreenGeeks offers free domain name registration and transfer. If you get your domain name through them, they will keep it free for as long as you use their services – kind of. See the Cons section for the details.

However, it’s also worth mentioning that the domain name is free for the first year only. After that you’d have to pay the renewal price, starting from $13.95 per year for .com, .net, .org domains.

If your website is already hosted elsewhere, they can help you transfer your site to their servers for free.

5. Environment-Friendly

GreenGeeks claims to be – well – green. What does that mean exactly?

Here’s how they explain it:

GreenGeeks will purchase 3 times the wind energy credits to make up for the energy used by their services to power your website.

They replace more than 615,000 kWh a year. To put that in perspective, the average American consumes 12,000 kWh of electricity per year.

GreenGeeks is a recognized Green Power Partner with the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), too.

GreenGeeks environmental friendly hosting

6. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

If you’re unhappy with moving over to GreenGeeks, they have a full 30-day, ‘no-questions-asked’ money-back guarantee on most hosting plans.

There are a few exceptions, though. Read more in the Cons section.

7. Nightly Backups

Sometimes, bad things happen.

Maybe it’s self-inflicted, or it could be someone with malicious intent trying to hack their way in. Regardless, GreenGeeks provides free nightly backups (in addition to SSH access). This way, you can sleep soundly, knowing that even if something goes wrong, your data is backed up regularly.

For additional security measures, they also offer real-time security scanning, automatic brute force detection, Spam Assassin protection, SSL secure server, and the ability to password-protect your directories.

8. Multiple High-Quality Server Locations

GreenGeeks offers data centers in four locations:

  • Chicago, US
  • Phoenix, US
  • Montreal, CA
  • Amsterdam, NL

Choosing the right server location can have a huge, positive impact on your website’s SEO. Plus, if you pick a server closer to you, you’ll experience faster speeds.

GreenGeeks also promises customers that they will keep servers up to date with the following specifications:

  • Never oversold
  • Gigabit Connectivity
  • The Latest Generation Energy-efficient Intel Xeon processors
  • Minimum of 64 GB DDR3 ECC-Registered Memory
  • No desktop hardware whatsoever
  • BGP4 Gigabit connectivity to several Fiber GigE Tier 1 Backbones
  • Name brand server parts
  • RAID-10 SSD Storage Arrays to give you maximum performance & redundancy
  • Solid State Drive (SSD) Acceleration

So you can be sure with GreenGeeks that your data is stored on high-quality, state of the art servers.

9. Free CDN

Everyone interacts with a Content Delivery Network (CDN) on a daily basis if they browse the web, whether they’re looking at news sites, social media pages, or shopping online.

GreenGeeks offers a CDN to users that are powered by Cloudflare. That’s great news for your site optimization, especially if you’ve got a global reach.

The best part? It’s absolutely free.

Cloudflare allows users to cache content and use servers closest to website visitors to get it delivered. As a result, web surfing is much faster for those who come to your website.

Cons of Using GreenGeeks Hosting


Unfortunately, all that glitters is not gold.

Despite all of the upsides to GreenGeeks, there are a few things you should be aware of before making a final decision.

1. Industry-Standard Pricing (Higher Renewals)

GreenGeeks follows the tried-and-true industry-standard practice of advertising a very low monthly rate of $2.49 on their website, only for you to find out that you actually have to sign up for three years in advance to get it.

Otherwise, if you want to pay monthly, it’ll set you back by $10.95 each month.

2. Questionable Refund Policy

Many web hosts will throw in a domain name for free when you create a new account with them.

GreenGeeks also offers you a free domain name with them.

Otherwise, the cost might range from ~$3.00 – $9.99 for the year.

But be aware of the fine print:

If you request the aforementioned money-back guarantee and you took them up on that ‘free’ domain name offer, your refund will be deducted by $24.95 for a domain name registration fee.

This means that the domain name is not really free and that their money-back guarantee has some strings attached.

GreenGeeks Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the shared hosting plans offered by GreenGeeks:


Lite Plan Pro Plan Premium Plan
Pricing $2.49/month
Renews at $10.95/mo
$4.95/month
Renews at $15.95/mo
$8.95/month
Renews at $25.95/mo
Websites 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • PowerCacher • Dedicated IP
• PowerCacher
• Premium Wildcard SSL

WordPress Hosting: Their WordPress hosting is basically the same as their shared hosting plan, but it seems to be especially enhanced for WordPress. We haven’t tested it yet but will do it soon.

Quick Facts

  • Free domain? Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy signup process.
  • Money-Back: 30-days money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Your account must not use more than 100 percent of 1 CPU core and/or 1GB memory, or 20 concurrent connections, or 75,0000 files, or you will risk account suspension. If a due invoice is not paid within four days, your account will be suspended and you will need to pay a reactivation fee of $15 to have your account back online.
  • Upsells: No upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): 1-click install tool to easily install popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend GreenGeeks?

Yes, we do.

GreenGeeks has a bigger mission than just simply providing web hosting, and we like that.

They’re not necessarily the best we’ve seen, but they do provide solid speed, uptime, and good customer support.

For those reasons, you should consider giving them a look.

Just be aware that you’ll need to sign up for the long-term if you’d like their lowest rate. And that your ‘free domain’ and ‘money-back guarantee’ might not be so iron-clad if you decide to ask for a refund.

Visit www.GreenGeeks.com


Do you have any experience with GreenGeeks – positive or negative? If so, please leave a transparent and honest review below!

138 user reviews for GreenGeeks

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Duncan M

    5  — February 11, 2021

    Best move for my business!

    GreekGeeks was able to easily and effectively migrate my company’s entire web hosting and 0365 migration from another hosting provider and gave us a high quality, responsive sales and technical support staff with a seamless transition of hosting services.
    We’ve had horrible past experiences with a web hosting conglomerate, but our hosting experience with *independent* GreenGeeks has been an absolute pleasure and keeping green fits within our corporate responsibilities.

    I would highly recommend GreenGeeks to any organization that can’t “endure” anymore and is seeking web hosting alternatives to their current provider.

    Ronald

    5  — February 9, 2021

    Good

    Very efficient and professional support.

    Janice T

    1  — February 9, 2021

    Check their Better Business Bureau Record

    You may wish to review their propensity to charge after one cancels and the refuse to return the money. I have never seen a reputable firm with a record like this. I suggest your own reputation can be damaged by supporting a business that practices these tactics.

    Janice T

    1  — February 8, 2021

    Thieves!

    I set my account to no auto renew. I was contacted on January 18 and asked if I was going to renew for 3 years at $395USD. I said “absolutely not!”. Caroline R then said she would see if she could get me some sort of discount and then sent an email offer “good for 48 hours only” for $236.52USD. I had, however, already decided against keeping the account.

    I checked my account to ensure the auto renew was off. There was a big red banner on my account saying they did not have a payment method for me. I took this to confirm they could not auto renew.

    They have now managed to take $395USD from my expired Visa card without my permission. They have offered to cancel my 3 year account from future renewals indicating the cancellation would effective immediately with no refund.

    I am happy to offer proof of the above, but as the documents contain personal information, I will not post here.

    Jesse R

    5  — January 25, 2021

    Green is the icing on the cake!

    I have been using GreenGeeks for about 4 years now. I have been in touch with the support team numerous times asking for help with this or that. They always help me immediately and I have always been more than satisfied with the help I have received. I started with them because I wanted to use a company that was green but that is really the icing on the cake. Simply put, they offer a great service! I will always recommend GreenGeeks if someone asks for hosting advice.

    Derek

    1  — January 24, 2021

    Cheap and fast to start. Nightmare to quit.

    I’ve had these guys for 5 years, 2 of the years, I didn’t use the service.  It’s really hard to cancel!  You got to submit a ticket at just the right time, to submit a ticket in order to submit another ticket.  And they’ll just charge your card anyways, even if it’s expired.  So don’t think you’re safe when it lapses.  They won’t prorate you when they auto charge you when you forget to cancel in time, but they have no problem prorating their fees when they are in the wrong.

    It’s a cheap no frills solution.  Nothing spectacular. I use to recommend them to clients just to get going.  But I really regret it.

    Fritz

    5  — January 7, 2021

    Simply the Best

    I’ve worked with most of the top website hosting companies and I can honestly say that GreenGeeks are by far the best. No other company matches the level of customer service GreenGeeks provides. I refer all of my clients’ sites to be hosted on GreenGeeks.

    Steve C

    5  — January 4, 2021

    Best hosting I have found

    I have used several host providers – usually shared services – such as Siteground, Host Papa, 1 and 1, GoDaddy and a ton of others.  As with any Shared Service there are limitations and you have to abide by them – they are a hosting company, not a file storage company. As a hosting company, they are hands down top-notch. When I needed better performance and to host multiple sites and have more control, I decided to switch to their VPS account. I was concerned about managing my own site, but they provide managed VPS support. I was golden! They are a huge part of my site successes both personally and at work. They have excellent support and walked me through the entire setup of my VPS, they answered my newbie questions quickly and with ease, they managed configuration challenges I had and helped me setup my SSL certs. They ran the gamut. And I have complete control over my own server – I can upgrade PHP, I can launch WordPress sites, and much more. And I use the server to host my email. The system is intuitive, incredibly stable and the fastest solution I have used. I am very happy. I think anyone looking to host and grow would do well going with GreenGeeks. They are the best I have ever used.

    Tina T

    5  — January 2, 2021

    Quick Response Time

    I have been with Green Geeks for quite a while now and the odd time we have issues they are quick to respond and assist in solving our issues.  Very happy with their service.

    Lorna C

    1  — November 28, 2020

    Picky beyond belief

    Took 3 year package out due to looking like a good deal and they were ‘green’ (Dec 2019). Tried to put a few backup files on my webspace and told not allowed (never had a problem with 1&1).  So now I’m waiting for the 3 years to expire… In truth as soon as I can afford to, I will move my stuff to IONIS (who used to be 1&1) before this date. I’ve just chalked it up to experience.  I now put my few backup files elsewhere with no problem and hardly touch greengeeks. The lesson I have learned is that although I really want to be green, this can’t be at the expense of my business, so I will go back to the company that served my needs well.

    Marylene

    5  — November 24, 2020

    Just amazing service and support

    I’ve been using GreenGeeks hosting services for 8 years (reseller account) and I’ve never been let down. Amazing service.

    Hayden B

    5  — November 12, 2020

    Proud to Go Green with Green Geeks

    The timely support, the clean interface, the numerous help blog posts, and what Green Geeks stand for in attempting to make things as green as possible. These are just a few reasons, I am actually proud to use GreenGeeks for my Hosting.

    Beth S

    5  — November 7, 2020

    A+++ Support

    GreenGeeks has a wonderful support team. Whenever I’ve had a question they’ve answered it quickly and with links to articles that will help. They have a great system. I’ve dealt with other hosts and have not found any that offer the support GreenGeeks does.

    Melanie W

    5  — October 15, 2020

    Great ‘green’ service for beginners to websites

    As a total beginner with no experience in building websites, I needed an easy-to-use and affordable service for a personal project focused on social sustainability, ideally including WordPress and the domain as part of the hosting package. I found Green Geeks to be the ideal solution. The environmentally friendly aspect of running on renewable energy caught my attention immediately given that I work in environmental sustainability. After a bit of online research and talking to a few people who had varying degrees of experience in building websites I went ahead. Overall, I found it quite intuitive. The 3-year option to secure the USD 2,95 / month offer is not ideal, but I understand the business model and so far I’ve been happy with the service. I’ve had to use support once in the beginning and it was efficient.

    David W

    5  — October 13, 2020

    Nothing beats it!

    Not only is GreenGeeks’ environmentally-sustainable business model virtually impossible to beat, but the company’s employees are very responsive to any requests or concerns. I’ve used them for one site or another over the last several years and rarely have an issue. The only downside I can see: the “dashboard” isn’t quite as user-friendly as GoDaddy’s, but that’s easily forgiven 😉

    Mark M

    5  — July 30, 2020

    Meets My Needs

    My website is a repository of my creative work. I am not doing ecommerce or mass emailing. GreenGeeks has been excellent for my needs. I appreciate the fact that they are using renewable power and any issues I have encountered have been addressed quickly and with courtesy.

    Andrew G

    5  — July 20, 2020

    No-nonsense Green

    Would definitely recommend GreenGeeks based on the service I have had. Had a website and domain set up and running in no time flat. GreenGeeks has been a very simple, no-nonsense hosting service to use and it’s carbon footprint guarantee is a bonus.

    Lorna C

    1  — May 22, 2020

    Awful – Buyer beware

    I haven’t set up my website yet but used my storage (which is supposed to be unlimited) to back up a couple of files. We’re not talking about a huge amount here. They called me out on ‘backing stuff up’ and pointed to their ‘fine print’ that says I’m not allowed to do this (they actually went through my uploaded content and stated names of folders). Unfortunately I’ve signed up to 3 very long years with this company because they offered what looked like a good deal (mmm…only good if it is fit for purpose!).

    It looks like I may have to ‘bite the bullet’ and just move back to 1 & 1 (IONOS) who I thought were brilliant. I only went with Greengeeks because of their carbon footprint claims but if they are not fit for purpose then I’ll use the good ones. I will be using their platform for something (as I’ve paid for 3 very long and no doubt painful years) but I doubt it’ll be for my main business stuff. Buyer beware!! I’ve given 1 star because I don’t think 0 stars is an option! Oh and they escalated me to ‘Abuse – Escalations’ when there was nothing abusive about my complaint. I was just a very unhappy customer! All I can say is ‘you live and learn’. And lessons learnt!

    Chris

    5  — May 20, 2020

    Reliable Company with Great Support

    I have a web designer and made the switch a couple of years ago to Green Geeks from GoDaddy. The service is much more reliable, the price is comparable, and the support is infinitely better. I have close to 20 sites hosted on Green Geeks now.

    George S

    2  — May 8, 2020

    Beware!

    Not bad for small sites, but remember, ‘Unlimited bandwidth, storage’ doesn’t actually mean ‘unlimited’.

    One of my sites uses 93Gb of storage on the ‘pro’ plan, and they just took it down, insisting that I either remove about 50Gb or upgrade to their ‘premium’ plan.

    Thirty days after they’ve taken your money you have no recourse. You’ve been warned.