Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

GreenGeeks was founded in 2008 by Trey Gardner, and they’ve now shot up to hosting over 300,000 websites (with data centers in the U.S., Canada, and the Netherlands).

greengeeks hosting review

Trey’s background is important, as he’s worked with eight different web hosting companies, including iPowerweb, iPage, StartLogic, Dot5Hosting, Globat, Lunarpages, HostPapa, and now GreenGeeks.

On their website, GreenGeeks goes on to make two bold claims:

  • 99.9% uptime
  • 100% customer satisfaction

So what’s the verdict? Do they have excellent, wind-powered uptime and support? Or are their promotional claims just full of hot air?

To see for ourselves, we purchased the GreenGeeks ‘Shared Plan’ and set up a basic WordPress test website to run performance tests for over 12 months.

Read on to find out if GreenGeeks got our recommendation.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.5

SPEED: 477 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.95% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, PrestaShop, and WHMCS
FEATURES:Unlimited Bandwidth, 50 GB Storage, and  Email Accounts, Free Domain 1st Year, Backups, Free SSL, Unlimited Databases, Free CDN, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, etc.
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, and Reseller
SITE TRANSFER:Single Free Site Transfer
PRICING: Starting at $2.49/mo (renews at $10.95/mo)

Pros of Using GreenGeeks Hosting


GreenGeeks has a lot of good things going for them. This includes solid uptime, support, and important mission-driven service. Here are the details:

1. Solid Uptime Performance

Uptime is one of the most crucial factors when choosing a web host. Not only does solid uptime show the reliability of a web host but it directly affects your site’s visitor experience and bounce rate (which can potentially mean lost profit for your business).

GreenGeeks didn’t disappoint in this area. They delivered an average uptime of 99.95% during the 12-month testing period.

Looking at the graph below, however, you see another result (94.10%). This is because of an outage in December that was caused due to a technical issue from our side. If we don’t count the December outage, GreenGeeks’ average uptime, as already mentioned, is 99.95%.

GreenGeeks last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
GreenGeeks average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • July 2021: 99.98%
  • June 2021: 99.82%
  • May 2021: 99.97%
  • April 2021: 99.99%
  • March 2021: 99.99%
  • February 2021: 99.99%
  • January 2021: 81.26%
  • December 2020: 49.63% (outage due to our technical issues)
  • November 2020: 99.99%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.96%

2. Good Page Loading Time (477 ms)

Another important factor to look for when choosing a host is their server speed.

Why?

There’s a 32% probability of a site’s bounce rate increase if it takes one to three seconds to load a website. In short, the longer your page takes to load, the more likely visitors will leave. And that’s just one of the ways how speed can affect your website.

Once again, GreenGeeks didn’t let us down.

Their speed is better than the industry average, clocking in around 477 ms.

GreenGeeks average speed data
GreenGeeks’ average speed  | See stats

Overall, GreenGeeks’ loading times have been consistently good throughout the year which makes us believe that they’re a reliable host.

3. Good Support with Quick Answers

Customer support is another “big element” of the review.

We tested out GreenGeeks’ live chat and were connected to a customer support agent within a minute, who then answered questions quickly and concisely.

GreenGeeks live chat

GreenGeeks also has an extensive knowledge base where users can search for answers to their questions.

That’s a great perk if you prefer self-help over asking a customer service representative for assistance.

GreenGeeks has a ton of different article categories and subcategories to select from, including sales questions, general hosting, reseller hosting, VPS hosting, billing questions, video tutorials, and more.

You can use the search bar in case you can’t find your solution within the above-mentioned categories.

GreenGeeks knowledge base

That way, you always have access to the help you need, even if GreenGeeks’ live chat feature is offline for some reason.

Besides live chat and knowledge base, GreenGeeks also have phone support.

4. Free Domain Name & Website Migration

GreenGeeks offers free domain name registration and transfer. If you get your domain name through them, they will keep it free for as long as you use their services – kind of. See the Cons section for the details.

However, it’s also worth mentioning that the domain name is free for the first year only. After that you’d have to pay the renewal price, starting from $13.95 per year for .com, .net, .org domains.

Moreover, if your website is already hosted elsewhere, they can help you transfer your site to their servers for free.

5. Environment-Friendly

GreenGeeks claims to be – well – green. What does that mean exactly?

Here’s how they explain it:

GreenGeeks will purchase three times the wind energy credits to make up for the energy used by their services to power your website.

They replace more than 615,000 kWh a year. To put that in perspective, the average American consumes 12,000 kWh of electricity per year.

GreenGeeks is a recognized Green Power Partner with the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), too.

GreenGeeks environmental friendly hosting

6. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

If you’re unhappy with moving over to GreenGeeks, they have a full 30-day, ‘no-questions-asked’ money-back guarantee on most hosting plans.

There are a few exceptions, though. Read more in the Cons section.

7. Nightly Backups

Sometimes bad things happen. And by bad, we mean that sometimes your site just crashes.

Maybe it’s self-inflicted, or it could be someone with malicious intent trying to hack their way in. Regardless, GreenGeeks provides free nightly backups (in addition to SSH access). This way, you can sleep soundly, knowing that even if something goes wrong, your data is backed up regularly.

For additional security measures, they also offer real-time security scanning, automatic brute force detection, Spam Assassin protection, SSL secure server, and the ability to password-protect your directories.

8. Multiple High-Quality Server Locations

GreenGeeks offers data centers in three locations:

  • Chicago, US
  • Montreal, CA
  • Amsterdam, NL

Choosing the right server location can have a huge, positive impact on your website’s SEO. Plus, if you pick a server closer to you, you’ll experience faster speeds.

GreenGeeks also promises customers that they will keep servers up to date with the following specifications:

  • Never oversold
  • Gigabit Connectivity
  • The Latest Generation Energy-efficient Intel Xeon processors
  • Minimum of 128 GB DDR3 ECC-Registered Memory
  • No desktop hardware whatsoever
  • BGP4 Gigabit connectivity to several Fiber GigE Tier 1 Backbones
  • Name brand server parts
  • RAID-10 SSD Storage Arrays to give you maximum performance & redundancy
  • Solid State Drive (SSD) Acceleration

So you can be sure with GreenGeeks that your data is stored on high-quality, state-of-the-art servers.

9. Free CDN

Everyone interacts with a Content Delivery Network (CDN) on a daily basis if they browse the web, whether they’re looking at news sites, social media pages, or shopping online.

GreenGeeks offers a CDN to users that are powered by Cloudflare. That’s great news for your site optimization, especially if you’ve got a global reach.

The best part? It’s absolutely free.

Cloudflare allows users to cache content and use servers closest to website visitors to get it delivered. As a result, web surfing is much faster for those who come to your website.

Cons of Using GreenGeeks Hosting


Unfortunately, all that glitters is not gold.

Despite all of the upsides to GreenGeeks, there are a few things you should be aware of before making a final decision.

1. Industry-Standard Pricing (Higher Renewals)

GreenGeeks follows the tried-and-true industry-standard practice of advertising a very low monthly rate of $2.49 on their website, only for you to find out that you actually have to sign up for three years in advance to get it.

Moreover, the prices get more expensive the shorter the signup term:

  • $3.95 Biennially
  • $4.95 Annually
  • $10.95 Monthly

2. Questionable Refund Policy

Many web hosts will throw in a domain name for free when you create a new account with them.

GreenGeeks also offers you a free domain name with them.

But be aware of the fine print:

If you request the aforementioned money-back guarantee and you took them up on that ‘free’ domain name offer, your refund will be deducted by the amount you paid for a domain name registration fee.

This means that the domain name is not really free and that their money-back guarantee has some strings attached.

This tactic is, however, quite common among many other hosts.

GreenGeeks Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the shared hosting plans offered by GreenGeeks:


Lite PlanPro PlanPremium Plan
Pricing $2.49/month
Renews at $10.95/mo
$4.95/month
Renews at $15.95/mo
$8.95/month
Renews at $25.95/mo
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Storage50 GBUnmeteredUnmetered
Email Accounts50UnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• Multi-User Access• Multi-User Access
• On-Demand Backups
• WordPress Repair Tool
• Dedicated IP
• Free AlphaSSL
• Object Caching

WordPress Hosting: Their WordPress hosting is basically the same as their shared hosting plan, but it seems to be especially enhanced for WordPress. We haven’t tested it yet but will do it soon.

Quick Facts

  • Free domain? Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy signup process.
  • Money-Back: 30-days money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Your account must not use more than 100 percent of 1 CPU core and/or 1GB memory, or 20 concurrent connections, or 75,0000 files, or you will risk account suspension. If a due invoice is not paid within four days, your account will be suspended and you will need to pay a reactivation fee of $15 to have your account back online.
  • Upsells: No upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): 1-click install tool to easily install popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend GreenGeeks?

Yes, we do.

GreenGeeks has a bigger mission than just simply providing web hosting, and we like that.

They’re not necessarily the best we’ve seen, but they do provide solid speed, uptime, and good customer support.

For those reasons, you should consider giving them a look.

Just be aware that you’ll need to sign up for the long-term if you’d like their lowest rate. And that your ‘free domain’ and ‘money-back guarantee’ might not be so iron-clad if you decide to ask for a refund.

Visit www.GreenGeeks.com


Do you have any experience with GreenGeeks – positive or negative? If so, please leave a transparent and honest review below!

112 user reviews for GreenGeeks

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Kevin S

    1  — September 27, 2021

    Maybe green but it’s also slow web hosting experience

    I’ve been hosting with GreenGeeks for about 18 months now and it’s been a horrible experience. First let me say that I’ve had web hosting plans with at least 5 other companies in the last 12 years. I seriously believe that GreenGeeks is a reseller of other web hosting since I’ve seen tell tale signs like a HostGator favicon in my browser when some of their slow loading pages load. Today while trying to open cPanel I am getting a timing out error, for example. When I first moved some WP sites to their platform, I contacted support about an SSL issue that didn’t work on Chrome, and they didn’t offer to solve it until I asked for a refund.

    David

    1  — September 22, 2021

    They fooled me…

    GreenGeeks sales page says:

    UNLIMITED DOMAINS

    UNLIMITED WEB SPACE

    UNLIMITED DATABASES

     

    Of course, I know it’s not unlimited but I didn’t expect an error message saying my inodes were used when transferring site no 5 to GG!!!

     

    GreenGeeks has a link to their TOS but this doesn’t mention anything about inode limitations. When I contacted support they sent me ANOTHER TOS that in NO WAY is available from their sales pages!!!

     

    I was pretty disappointed and they ended up closing my account and hijacking my domains. They simply refuse to accept domain transfer requests. This is not legal according to ICANN but they do it anyway. A month has passed and they still haven’t released my domains.

     

    GreenGeeks are NOT green. They BUY CO2 quotas and this way they actually increase CO2!!!

     

    Their supporters have no direct contact with the main office in the US. They are located in the far east.

     

    They are a bunch of dishonest crooks!

     

    Minus 10 stars from me!

    Web242

    1  — September 11, 2021

    Stay away from Green Geeks

    I consider GreenGeeks probably the worst hosting experience. I have hosted my clients with numerous companies, even HostGator and GoDaddy, running our own server and small independent hosts. So we have experience. I consider GG the worst hosting experience in over 15 years.

     

    There are some Pros. There are good support techs who do what they can, and resources for shared hosting are generous compared to many hosts.

     

    The Cons: (1) Customer support is limited and will only do what is in the box and their script.. not willing to help beyond that. I’ve even had rude and poor support more than once.  (2) Reseller plan is a complete joke. It is sold as a platform to start your own hosting. Good luck with that. After I hit 15 sites on an RH-50 plan that was capped out – because they use allocated vs. used resources. (3) SSL is useless with an A Record on quite a few domain registrars, and (4) if you are moving GG to GG – forget it. They will delete the old site and you are completely stuck with downtime until the DNS resolves. They  make doing your own migrations virtually impossible.

     

    I wish we never did business with these guys, it was a big mistake. But we are stuck until we can offboard 2 more clients. Will never refer business to Green Geeks again.

    Durrani

    3  — May 26, 2021

    Speed is not sustainable

    It has been 2 years since I started using GreenGeeks. My experience with Greengeeks is that their server speed decreases over time for shared hosting accounts. I don’t know why this happens. Being nice in customer support shouldn’t count for quality. I think every business should treat their customers in a better way. That’s how things work

    Victor B

    5  — April 22, 2021

    Excellent support

    Among all the great things that GreenGeeks offers to their customers, what I like most is their support staff. They are responsive, knowledgeable and friendly. They helped me transfer my WordPress website from another host without a hitch, answering every question I had along the way, usually within minutes. They always had a quick solution. That said, the tech, the user interface and options available are far superior in comparison to that of my previous “major” hosting service, who charged a hefty price substantially higher than what I pay at GreenGeeks but offered much less in return. Thanks GG!

    Sean

    5  — April 20, 2021

    Quick & Quality service/network performance

    Green Geeks customer service is outstanding!!! They are quick to respond and provide a lot of references. The customer interface is easy to use although I would like to see a little improvement in the help section. It’s not that the subject matter isn’t there, it’s just hard to find. Most of the time the fix for my trouble ticket is already on the site. I just couldn’t find it. However, sometimes it’s just because I do not know the correct term to search for. The network itself runs way better than Network solutions and you can not beat their price. Getting your SSLs updated or established and installed is also way easier and only takes about 5 mins. Whereas with others it took a few days or weeks and I had to install the very myself.

    Aimee

    5  — April 13, 2021

    Quick customer service

    I’ve been a customer for a couple years now and been very pleased with their prompt and helpful customer service. The few times I’ve had issues or questions, they’ve been answered and resolved right away. I’ve also been happy with my domain’s uptime; I don’t have a lot of traffic, but it’s been nice not to worry about periods of having my site or email unavailable.

    Bálint

    5  — March 30, 2021

    Until now it’s the best

    I chose GreenGeeks because I wanted a good WordPress Hosting for my sites, and previously I had a bad experience with another WordPress Hosting company.

    I have been at GreenGeeks for a couple of months, but until now I am really satisfied by their WordPress Hosting package. My site works really well, even at the higher traffic.

    I hope my satisfaction will remain the same in the future too. Thanks.

    David T

    1  — February 22, 2021

    Poor customer service

    Got to say both times I tried their live chat I found the customer service/sales agent to be exceedingly cute to the point of rude.

    Once they decide you have asked too many questions or ones they don’t want/know how to answer it all turns sour pretty quickly.

    At the end of the day, I am the customer, I am asking valid questions, in a professional and polite manner.

    Greengeeks offer reseller accounts for businesses wanting to set up as a web host, yet in the available plans they only offer 60, 80 or 160GB hosting space for up to 80 clients. They don’t offer resellers ‘unlimited’ disk space or bigger disk space so the reseller can only offer customers 2GB or less depending on the plan.
    Totally unworkable, as no one would buy off a hosting company with such a limited space offering.

    I tried to understand how I would market the service as a reseller and was shut down in the live chat both times with a curt ‘I have provided you with the details, anything else I can help you with’ .

    Don’t offer unrealistic reseller plans if they are not workable in the real world.
    Poor show Greengeeks, your customer service is absolutely the worst, take some training from Hostgator.

    Pieter R

    5  — February 16, 2021

    Awesome support.

    I have been a Green geeks customer for nearly a year and I am very satisfied with their support, as I am not a techie guy I had to contact them on numerous occasions they have always sorted out my problems in no time at all. I would recommend them to anyone that wants to receive the best support.

    Duncan M

    5  — February 11, 2021

    Best move for my business!

    GreekGeeks was able to easily and effectively migrate my company’s entire web hosting and 0365 migration from another hosting provider and gave us a high quality, responsive sales and technical support staff with a seamless transition of hosting services.
    We’ve had horrible past experiences with a web hosting conglomerate, but our hosting experience with *independent* GreenGeeks has been an absolute pleasure and keeping green fits within our corporate responsibilities.

    I would highly recommend GreenGeeks to any organization that can’t “endure” anymore and is seeking web hosting alternatives to their current provider.

    Jesse R

    5  — January 25, 2021

    Green is the icing on the cake!

    I have been using GreenGeeks for about 4 years now. I have been in touch with the support team numerous times asking for help with this or that. They always help me immediately and I have always been more than satisfied with the help I have received. I started with them because I wanted to use a company that was green but that is really the icing on the cake. Simply put, they offer a great service! I will always recommend GreenGeeks if someone asks for hosting advice.

    Derek

    1  — January 24, 2021

    Cheap and fast to start. Nightmare to quit.

    I’ve had these guys for 5 years, 2 of the years, I didn’t use the service.  It’s really hard to cancel!  You got to submit a ticket at just the right time, to submit a ticket in order to submit another ticket.  And they’ll just charge your card anyways, even if it’s expired.  So don’t think you’re safe when it lapses.  They won’t prorate you when they auto charge you when you forget to cancel in time, but they have no problem prorating their fees when they are in the wrong.

    It’s a cheap no frills solution.  Nothing spectacular. I use to recommend them to clients just to get going.  But I really regret it.

    Steve C

    5  — January 4, 2021

    Best hosting I have found

    I have used several host providers – usually shared services – such as Siteground, Host Papa, 1 and 1, GoDaddy and a ton of others.  As with any Shared Service there are limitations and you have to abide by them – they are a hosting company, not a file storage company. As a hosting company, they are hands down top-notch. When I needed better performance and to host multiple sites and have more control, I decided to switch to their VPS account. I was concerned about managing my own site, but they provide managed VPS support. I was golden! They are a huge part of my site successes both personally and at work. They have excellent support and walked me through the entire setup of my VPS, they answered my newbie questions quickly and with ease, they managed configuration challenges I had and helped me setup my SSL certs. They ran the gamut. And I have complete control over my own server – I can upgrade PHP, I can launch WordPress sites, and much more. And I use the server to host my email. The system is intuitive, incredibly stable and the fastest solution I have used. I am very happy. I think anyone looking to host and grow would do well going with GreenGeeks. They are the best I have ever used.

    Tina T

    5  — January 2, 2021

    Quick Response Time

    I have been with Green Geeks for quite a while now and the odd time we have issues they are quick to respond and assist in solving our issues.  Very happy with their service.

    Lorna C

    1  — November 28, 2020

    Picky beyond belief

    Took 3 year package out due to looking like a good deal and they were ‘green’ (Dec 2019). Tried to put a few backup files on my webspace and told not allowed (never had a problem with 1&1).  So now I’m waiting for the 3 years to expire… In truth as soon as I can afford to, I will move my stuff to IONIS (who used to be 1&1) before this date. I’ve just chalked it up to experience.  I now put my few backup files elsewhere with no problem and hardly touch greengeeks. The lesson I have learned is that although I really want to be green, this can’t be at the expense of my business, so I will go back to the company that served my needs well.

    Marylene

    5  — November 24, 2020

    Just amazing service and support

    I’ve been using GreenGeeks hosting services for 8 years (reseller account) and I’ve never been let down. Amazing service.

    Hayden B

    5  — November 12, 2020

    Proud to Go Green with Green Geeks

    The timely support, the clean interface, the numerous help blog posts, and what Green Geeks stand for in attempting to make things as green as possible. These are just a few reasons, I am actually proud to use GreenGeeks for my Hosting.

    Beth S

    5  — November 7, 2020

    A+++ Support

    GreenGeeks has a wonderful support team. Whenever I’ve had a question they’ve answered it quickly and with links to articles that will help. They have a great system. I’ve dealt with other hosts and have not found any that offer the support GreenGeeks does.

    Melanie W

    5  — October 15, 2020

    Great ‘green’ service for beginners to websites

    As a total beginner with no experience in building websites, I needed an easy-to-use and affordable service for a personal project focused on social sustainability, ideally including WordPress and the domain as part of the hosting package. I found Green Geeks to be the ideal solution. The environmentally friendly aspect of running on renewable energy caught my attention immediately given that I work in environmental sustainability. After a bit of online research and talking to a few people who had varying degrees of experience in building websites I went ahead. Overall, I found it quite intuitive. The 3-year option to secure the USD 2,95 / month offer is not ideal, but I understand the business model and so far I’ve been happy with the service. I’ve had to use support once in the beginning and it was efficient.