Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

HostPapa is a Canadian-based hosting company that provides shared, VPS, reseller, and WordPress hosting.

HostPapa was founded in 2006 by Jamie Opalchuck and by now they’re hosting over 500,000 websites.hostpapa review

One potential explanation for their rise could be their various customer service options, offering phone support in a few different languages including English, French, Spanish, and German to both domestic and international clients.

In order to find out how good HostPapa’s services are we purchased the ‘Starter Plan’ and set up a simple WordPress website to monitor their uptime and speed over an extended period of time.

Did HostPapa perform well enough to get our recommendation?

Read on to find out.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.5

SPEED: 594 ms (January 2021 to December 2021)
UPTIME: 99.96% (January 2021 to December 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Email, Mail, Fax, and Knowledge Base
APPS:1-Click Installs for WordPress, Joomla, Drupal+Softaculous App Installer for 400+ Apps
FEATURES:Unlimited Bandwidth, 100 GB Storage, Two Websites, Free Domain Registration, 100 Email Accounts, SpamAssassin, Free SSL Certificate, cPanel, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, Website Builder, etc.
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, VPS, and Reseller Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Free
PRICING: Starting at $2.95/mo (renews at $9.99/mo)

Pros of Using HostPapa Hosting


HostPapa has quite a lot to offer.

At first, we were pleasantly surprised by their great uptime (as you’ll see). They also give a plethora of customer support options to choose from.

Let’s take a closer look at each pro.

1. Great Uptime 99.96%

We’re happy to report that HostPapa’s uptime has been good since day one.

They’ve posted a 12-month average of 99.96% uptime with a bit less than four hours of downtime.

While it sounds trite and obvious, you’d be surprised just how many web hosts struggle with the most foundational element of actually hosting a website — keeping the thing live!

HostPapa last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
HostPapa last 12-month average uptime (monitoring since 2015) | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • December 2021: 99.99%
  • November 2021: 100%
  • October 2021: 99.83%
  • September 2021: 99.94%
  • August 2021: 99.99%
  • July 2021: 100%
  • June 2021: 100%
  • May 2021: 100%
  • April 2021: 99.92%
  • March 2021: 99.88%
  • February 2021: 99.96%
  • January 2021: 99.99%

During the whole testing period, they only had three poor months (March, and October) where the uptime was a below-average of 99.88%, 99.92%, and 99.83% respectively.

2. Good Page Loading Speed 594 ms

Fast page speed is definitely something to look for in a host. Especially since it’s strongly connected to the overall user experience (slower sites increase visitor bounce probability).

Moreover, page speed is a landing page factor for Google Search and Ads already since 2010 (for desktop searches) and 2018 (for mobile searches).

HostPapa last 12-month speed statistics
HostPapa last 12-month average speed (monitoring since 2015) | See stats

Over the last 12 months, they had an average page load time of posting 594 ms, which is fast enough to have a place in our pros section.

3. Extensive Support Options

HostPapa offers extensive support options to help customers in a variety of ways.

You can browse their huge library of self-help videos. They offer 24/7 support through phone, mail, email, ticketing, live chat, and even fax (!).

hostpapa support options

They provide phone support in 18 countries (which might be the most we’ve seen from any company). They’re one of the only hosts to provide support in different languages, including English, French, Spanish, and German.

As if that’s not enough, they also provide an interesting support feature allowing you to connect in a one-on-one session with ‘Papa Squad Experts’, which are essentially guided walkthroughs using video or telephone conference.

We also tested out their live chat and received a response in less than a minute from their support staff. Answers to questions were provided within a modest two minutes.

hostpapa live chat

4. Proactive Security Features

HostPapa’s shared hosting plans come packed with numerous security features. Just to name a few: server firewall, monitoring, and intrusion detection, DDoS attack prevention and responses, RAID-10 redundancy, Let’s Encrypt SSL, network monitoring, brute force detection, and more.

What’s even better?

All the abovementioned features are also included in their cheapest plan.

If you decide to upgrade to their Business Pro plan, then it will come with more additional features including domain privacy protection, a premium Wildcard SSL certificate, a dedicated IP address, and automated website backups.

The last thing you need to worry about is security details like spam protection. It’s nice to have someone else watch your back.

5. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee & Free Site Migration+Domain Name

HostPapa offers an industry-standard 30-day money-back guarantee for most of their hosting plans.

In addition, they’ll gladly help you transfer an existing website from another host with no downtime.

Moreover, you’ll also get a free domain name for the 1st year. However, this only applies when you sign up with them for a minimum of one year.

6. Good Value for the Starter Price

HostPapa’s basic pricing starts at $2.95 for the first three years.

The good news is that they do throw in a lot of value for this initial pricing. You get two websites, compared to just one that most other hosts offer. You also get free domain registration, 100 GB SSD storage, 100 email accounts, and unmetered bandwidth.

Pretty good, right?

But that’s not all. You’ll also get their “Essential Features” which includes a free website migration, Cloudflare CDN, SSL certificate, and access to their 400+ apps and website builder.

So overall, it’s a pretty good value. Other hosts would make you pay for this stuff, easily pushing the monthly price up well above this initial $2.95/month range.

7. Green Hosting

If you’re looking for an eco-friendly host, then HostPapa might be for you.

According to their website, they were one of the first companies to make a public commitment to going green.

HostPapa has taken the initiative of going green by purchasing 100% green renewable energy to power their servers, office computers, laptops, and office space.

HostPapa green energy

8. Easy-to-Use Control Panel

HostPapa’s client area is logical to use. From there you can manage your profile, domains, services, websites, and billing settings. Basically, anything related to your hosting account is done from there.

HostPapa client area

For a control panel, HostPapa uses the popular cPanel which is accessible from your client area by clicking on “My cPanel”. It’s the most popular control panel for a reason – it’s very easy to use and innovative which should suit both – beginners and advanced users.

Cons of Using HostPapa Hosting


HostPapa started out strong, delivering fast page loading speed and uptime. Moreover, their customer support is knowledgeable and polite.

However, there are some downsides that need to be mentioned.

Take a look.

1. High Renewal Prices

HostPapa entry price starts at $2.95/month with a three-year commitment. As mentioned before they offer a good value for that price.

However, once the initial period ends, you’d have to pay double the price. For example, the cheapest Starter Plan will renew at $9.99/month, Business Plan at $14.99/month, and Business Pro Plan at $23.99/month. And that’s with a three-year commitment, which means you’d have to pay a lot of money in advance.

Seeing the renewal prices and features offered with that cost, the money-value ratio doesn’t seem so good anymore.

Overview of HostPapa Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Below is a quick overview of HostPapa’s three shared hosting plans.

Please note: Pricing tends to fluctuate often, and these low advertised prices required a three-year sign-up.


Starter PlanBusiness PlanBusiness Pro Plan
Pricing $2.95/month
Renews at $9.99/mo
$2.95/month
Renews at $14.99/mo
$11.95/month
Renews at $23.99/mo
Websites2UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Storage100 GBUnmeteredUnmetered
Email Accounts100UnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• Unlimited MYSQL Databases
• 2x More CPU and MYSQL Resources
• 4x More CPU and MYSQL Resources
• Domain Privacy
• Automated Website Backup
• Premium Wildcard SSL and SiteLock Detect

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: Yes, for the 1st year.
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, Paypal.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Advertised price is only for the first payment term. Renewals are much more expensive. You will be charged a setup fee of $29.99 if you make use of their refund policy.
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Activation can take a while.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): One-click installer to install popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend HostPapa?

Yes, we do.

HostPapa has improved its service quite a bit over the past year.

Their uptime is almost perfect and loading time is fast. They have a ton of different support options available, and we personally had a positive experience.

Moreover, they’re ecologically friendly.

The only downside is their high renewal prices. However, if money is not an issue, then HostPapa is a good option for you.

Visit www.HostPapa.com


Best alternatives for HostPapa:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2022)


What’s your experience been like with HostPapa? We’d love to hear about it, no matter if it’s positive or negative (as long as it’s transparent and honest).

62 user reviews for HostPapa

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    L.L.

    1  — December 29, 2021

    Aggressive sales technique and threat with locking account

    Logging into a wordpress site we had hosted with them, and updating it immediately raised Hostpapa account manager’s “support”: you’re using extensive resources so you should upgrade or get suspended!

     

    Page load speeds are bad.

     

    Very aggressive and bad company.

    Never touch them.


    Response received from Richard M, HostPapa (Responded January 18, 2022):

    Hello L.L.,

    Thank you for your feedback.

    I’d like to dig deeper into this if you could please reach out with your account information via escalations@hostpapasupport.com or reply here, your account shouldn’t be flagged for resource usage issues simply for updating WordPress.

    Thanks,
    Richard M
    HostPapa, Inc

    Marc B

    5  — November 17, 2021

    Happy w HostPapa

    After roughly a year with HostPapa, I’m happy with the performance and particularly happy with the customer service. We switched to them from a big-name American host because, as a Canadian firm, it was more convenient and affordable to get our bills in Canadian dollars, especially when the US dollar was rocketing upwards.

    Anton

    5  — October 14, 2021

    Great!!!

    After a long time researching through all the hosting offers currently available, I luckily found Hostpapa and I couldn’t be happier with my decision.

    From day one, before I made my decision I got the feeling that the customer service was going to be good. They helped me decide which plan was right for me, without offering me more expensive plans that were not necessary for my project.

    And once the service was contracted, it has not failed me a single day, and whenever I have had problems (due to my inexperience in many aspects of web design and server configurations or things that I would not know how to do alone) they have attended me and solved my problem very quickly and kindly. I feel great and I do not hesitate to recommend this hosting and I only hope that my project grows this year to hire a bigger plan!

    Long live PaPa!

    *By the way I love that 100% of the energy they use comes from renewable sources such as solar or wind energy.

    Ed

    1  — October 8, 2021

    Misleading and deceiving

    They advertise their Node.js hosting with a “Get started now” button that redirects people to their cheaper shared hosting, making people believe Node.js is included as part of those plans. In actual fact Node.js is only offered in their more expensive VPS plans. Very disappointed and will not renew after my service expires.

    In actual fact Node.js is only offered in their more expensive VPS plans. Very disappointed and will not renew after my service expires.


    Response received from Richard M, HostPapa (Responded December 15, 2021):

    Hello Ed,

    Thanks for your feedback – that seems to be an error/oversight on our part, but I’m not able to locate where you’ve seen this. If you could reach out to escalations@hostpapasupport.com with more information regarding this that would be wonderful and we would be most grateful.

    Thanks,
    Richard M
    HostPapa, Inc

    Grant C

    1  — September 27, 2021

    Very bad for web hosting

    2 months into subscription, started building a website, no visitors. Hostpapa sent me emails telling me I needed to upgrade to an expensive business plan as my traffic use was huge. Recording NO visitors at the time. Not enough space to keep writing.


    Response received from Richard M, HostPapa (Responded October 7, 2021):

    Hello Grant,

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Our pricing is very clear from signup that the initial promotional rate being paid is heavily discounted, this is why our order form shows the percentage discount you are receiving deducted from the standard service price (the price paid at renewal) in order to achieve the promotional rate. This pricing is also visible within the HostPapa Dashboard under My Services and is freely available on our website (http://hostpapa.co.nz/renewal-pricing), and is noted throughout our Knowledge Base. As such it should not come as a surprise that the renewal price is an increase on the promotional rate, the promotional rate is intended to be low cost to prevent any barriers to entry, allowing customers to try our services at minimal financial risk (and with a 30 day money back guarantee too) before paying the standard rate at renewal. We do also help customers at renewal who may be struggling for any reason, or may simply need to make changes to their plans, whether switching billing term or switching plans entirely, there are a range of options available to decrease the renewal amount and we’re always happy to help.

    In regard to your resource usage issues, documented extensively under ticket #3878618, your WordPress installs were being hit by bot traffic which required configuration changes to your wordpress configuration and security implementation to prevent this traffic causing issue; we show that you deleted a website and following this your usage levels dropped and the issue was marked resolved. Overall the resource issue was managed and ultimately resolved via you working with our Solutions and Technical teams, an upgrade is suggested to help to service the site based on the resource usage seen however as in this instance it is often possible to make configuration changes to reduce resource usage to within the limits of your plan.

    I am not showing any contact regarding notification emails regarding resource faults, however I am sure our Technical team would have been able to assist with this had they been contacted.

    We wish you the very best going forward with CrazyDomains.

    Thanks,
    Richard M
    HostPapa, Inc

    Grant C

    1  — September 27, 2021

    Terrible, terrible, terrible

    Hostpapa told me my traffic use was too high for my website and I had to upgrade to another plan. At the time I had 1-2 visitors a month being logged to the website as it was new and not being advertised anywhere. They made me make changes to the backend after much complaining to me, which made them happy but this meant I was now getting sent several emails per day complaining about the setup they made me do. they are useless and I’ll never use them again. They use all sorts of scams on their cheap plans to try to get you to upgrade to a much more expensive plan. Crazy Domain is much more reliable, has great customer service and much, much lower prices. I’ve gone back to them now.


    Response received from Richard M, HostPapa (Responded October 7, 2021):

    Hello Grant,

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Our pricing is very clear from signup that the initial promotional rate being paid is heavily discounted, this is why our order form shows the percentage discount you are receiving deducted from the standard service price (the price paid at renewal) in order to achieve the promotional rate. This pricing is also visible within the HostPapa Dashboard under My Services and is freely available on our website (http://hostpapa.co.nz/renewal-pricing), and is noted throughout our Knowledge Base. As such it should not come as a surprise that the renewal price is an increase on the promotional rate, the promotional rate is intended to be low cost to prevent any barriers to entry, allowing customers to try our services at minimal financial risk (and with a 30 day money back guarantee too) before paying the standard rate at renewal. We do also help customers at renewal who may be struggling for any reason, or may simply need to make changes to their plans, whether switching billing term or switching plans entirely, there are a range of options available to decrease the renewal amount and we’re always happy to help.

    In regard to your resource usage issues, documented extensively under ticket #3878618, your WordPress installs were being hit by bot traffic which required configuration changes to your wordpress configuration and security implementation to prevent this traffic causing issue; we show that you deleted a website and following this your usage levels dropped and the issue was marked resolved. Overall the resource issue was managed and ultimately resolved via you working with our Solutions and Technical teams, an upgrade is suggested to help to service the site based on the resource usage seen however as in this instance it is often possible to make configuration changes to reduce resource usage to within the limits of your plan.

    I am not showing any contact regarding notification emails regarding resource faults, however I am sure our Technical team would have been able to assist with this had they been contacted.

    We wish you the very best going forward with CrazyDomains.

    Thanks,
    Richard M
    HostPapa, Inc

    Deborah

    1  — September 14, 2021

    Jacked the price by 45%

    HostPapa raised my renewal price from the Lunarpages $107 per year to $155 per year with no notice. They also charged my credit card 15 days before the renewal date to ensure the charge would go through (their terminology not mine). I’ve switched providers two weeks before the renewal date, told them IN WRITING that I would not renew and I’m still fighting to get my money back. BUYER BEWARE!


    Response received from Richard M, HostPapa (Responded October 7, 2021):

    Hello Deborah,

    Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear you are unhappy regarding the pricing increase announced earlier in 2021.

    I can confirm all impacted customers were contacted during January and February 2021 in regard to the new pricing applicable at the next renewal, allowing time for any changes (i.e plan changes via upgrade/downgrade, billing term changes or cancellation) prior to the renewal due date.

    Renewal invoices are issued 15 days ahead of the renewal due date, and we provide a 30 day money back guarantee on web hosting renewals, as such this gives customers up to 45 days in order to cancel and receive a refund on web hosting renewals. Cancellations received outside of this time scale are not typically refundable, however we can gladly review this for you if you’d like to reach out to escalations@hostpapasupport.com FAO Richard M.

    Thanks,
    Richard M
    HostPapa, Inc

    Monica

    1  — August 17, 2021

    Terrible service and company

    HostPapa updated their servers and moved them all, which affected over 600 client sites, most of whom also managed their domains. This move meant our clients’ websites did not work. The worst part is that this change wasn’t communicated to us. We didn’t at any point have the option of opting out – no discussion – nothing. As a result, our company was flooded with complaints of why their site wasn’t working. When I contacted HostPapa to first understand what the issue was, they said the sites were working fine. And when someone realized the problem, the fix wasn’t easy and it still hasn’t been resolved. It’s been weeks now.

    At no point, where we offered compensation for the troubles this has continued to cause our company and our clients. I am really shocked at how terribly this entire change was managed and the entire lack of communication.

    We are changing our hosting provider and would caution anyone from considering this hosting company.


    Response received from Richard M, HostPapa (Responded September 16, 2021):

    Hello Monica,

    Thank you for your feedback, I am truly very sorry to hear of your experience with us.

    Unfortunately with only a first name I can’t locate your account and see what went wrong here,  I agree that it appears things really weren’t handled well on our side and I’d like to dig deeper into that so that we can learn from this.

    If you’d like us to review further please reach out via escalations@hostpapasupport.com FAO Richard M and I’ll look into this for you.

    Thanks,
    Richard M
    HostPapa, Inc

    Glenn

    5  — August 11, 2021

    Excellent!

    Needed to get help today on switching a domain, and I must say I am extremely happy and satisfied with amazing customer support and help.
    VERY quick replies to all emails, and amazing telephone assistance. They were thorough and pleasant and as I said I am extremely impressed. I would recommend this host to anyone. 6 stars for me.

    Paul S

    5  — June 5, 2021

    Great Timely Support

    I have been with Hostpapa for 10 years and have built and migrated a number of web sites using their excellent support. I am not an IT professional and appreciate the support. They are prompt, helpful and good value and I would highly recommend them.

    Mike

    2  — January 31, 2021

    Going downhill?

    I was with Lunarpages for 10+ years with little or no issues. Since they were bought out by hostpapa 6 months back, my email has been out 3 times for more than a day each time. The current problem is reporting back to all senders that my address is spam.

    They weren’t even aware of my issue until I reported it and the cpanel for my domain shows everything healthy including email. They had another issue affecting all email customers today and they thought they fixed everyone, but the email services for my domain remain down and now I see they’ve put my support ticket on hold.

    I’m seriously thinking about a more reliable alternative.

    James

    5  — January 29, 2021

    Great Experience! – Hassle Free Migration

    My previous host (with a similar name) was slow and was getting expensive. I did a lot of research and found HostPapa to come out top. The things that appealed to me were the free SSL with Let’s Encrypt for all my domains, performance and free migration of sites from my current domain.

    I had a good experience speaking to customer services prior to switching who did not upsell their product.

    The signup process was easy.

    I was a little skeptical about the free migration, but my input was minimal in the process and all my sites and email accounts were transferred with no issues!

    I have seen a good speed increase as well compared to my old host.

    Based on my experience I would definitely recommend them!

    Adam Z

    4  — December 23, 2020

    So far, so good

    I was formerly a Lunarpages client, which was assimilated by Hostpapa. So far, my experience overall has been good. While retaining the same plan and settings that I already had, sites seem to work faster and more reliably. No complaints on the technical end. Customer service for me has been responsive and eager to find solutions for the few things I reached out about.

     

    Having read other reviews, I offer to Hostpapa that they read the reviews and pay attention to them. There is merit to some of the posts. In particular, email correspondences are a bit more frequent than what I am used to. I suggest that they have an option (checkboxes?) to select how much and what kinds of messages would like to be received from them. That way, if I choose to only receive critical messages (payment due, technical problems, etc.), I can without getting what I consider junk mail.

     

    Overall, so far, I do recommend them, but more so because I have experienced poor web hosting service, and so far, Hostpapa has been accommodating with good reliable uptimes and great server speeds (at least for my sites).

    Ben

    5  — December 17, 2020

    Website hosting

    Before selecting HostPapa I had searched for several website hosting providers which I found expensive, complicated to create-myself the website, and payment terms weren’t flexible for my shallow pocket. So once I went through the online tutorials I easily managed to select from a quality and theme adaptable HostPapa templates. I managed to adjust and post my poor quality photos without problems. I now and again edit the contents of my website without difficulty at any time. The subscriptions fees are reasonable and even me whose website is not commercial can afford to pay year after year. Although I’m not able to use all the features provided (because of my own technical ignorance), I feel satisfied with the service of HostPapa. Subscription reminders are timely and I haven’t experienced a problem for over 5 solid years.

    Guillaume

    5  — December 11, 2020

    Seamless Transition

    I’m only new to HostPapa. Having said that, they just completed my site/domain/email migration and it all went without a hitch.
    I didn’t make it easy for them as I registered the wrong domain (typo) and I’d left it very late (4 days before my current service expiration).
    For one they spotted the typo on the domain name and fixed it, but most importantly they jumped on my case straight away and completed the migration well ahead off the short deadline.
    Great job so far guys, keep it up!

    Mark D

    4  — December 10, 2020

    New Account

    Having Googled the top ten hosting companies, Hostpapa came 2nd and was slightly cheaper than Number 1. They had a good deal which was 36 months for approximately the same prices as the renewal for one year with our current provider. Any time that i needed help there was a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable person on the end of a phone within a couple of minutes. I have received several helpful emails when they have noticed things that needed attention. I anticipate 3 years of good service with this company. All the information that i needed was supplied. The transfer process from my previous hosting supplier was easy.

    William S

    5  — November 23, 2020

    Support desk folks make HostPapa sing!

    I came to HostPapa from a truly awful hosting site that continued to bill me for a Gone Forever site after they had a meltdown. I had to struggle to get paid back.

    HostPapa has a decent package for my needs of unlimited upload space, as I maintain a number of \”fan pages\” for my interests.

    Every single problem I encountered along the way, from subtle effects of PHP and HTTPS, or Ajax or Database or Javascript flavours … I solved quickly with the help of the folks on chat and via Support Tickets.

    For a medium-skilled self-taught web page maker, HostPapa supplied everything they promised, and more. I am happy to pay my invoices!

    Priti C

    5  — November 18, 2020

    Excellent

    Hostpapa is a superb website/domain service provider. Their assistance for setting up or resolving any issues is unbelievable. They are very quick. I have two websites from them. I have also recommended it to some of my friends.

    Brooke M

    5  — November 18, 2020

    Amazing customer service

    I’ve been with Hostpapa for around 3 years now after using other services in the past, they’re amazing. Whether contacting from the UK or Aus they are always happy to help and have people there on call whenever you need!

    Annemarie O

    5  — November 10, 2020

    Great Tech Support – Thanks!

    I transferred my .com.au domain name to HostPapa and found them really helpful to get everything set up. It did take some time, and a few different contacts back with HostPapa tech support to organise the new redirects and domain name changes, but in the end, they sorted out all my issues and my automatic redirect is working and they are a lot cheaper than I used to pay. Thanks a lot to the team.