Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

SiteGround is a popular shared hosting provider that is trusted by more than 2.8 million domains.

Besides shared hosting, they also offer WordPress hosting, cloud hosting, and even dedicated servers.

Siteground homepage

We paid for a shared hosting account, set up a live test site, and have been closely tracking their performance with a third-party tool to provide this unbiased, transparent review.

Overall, SiteGround ranks near the top of all web hosting companies for both uptime (99.99%) and speed (356 ms). Their customer support team is knowledgeable, fast, and friendly. All plans come with a CDN, SSL certificate, and email accounts.

However, there are some downsides too.

Let’s dig in.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 5.0

SPEED: 356 ms (March 2022 to August 2022)
UPTIME: 99.99% (March 2022 to August 2022)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Knowledge Base
APPS:Supports More Than 500 Applications
FEATURES:Unmetered Bandwidth, 10 GB Storage, Website Builder, and Free Email, Free SSL and CDN, Daily Backup
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, Cloud, Reseller, Enterprise, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER:Yes
PRICING: Starting at $3.99/mo (renews at $14.99/mo)

 

Pros of Using SiteGround Hosting


SiteGround starts strong with 99.99% uptime, above-average speeds, and tons of extra features that are perfect for both beginners and power users.

1. Good Performance – 99.99% Uptime in Last 6 Months

SiteGround’s uptime performance has been nearly perfect over the last six months. Their 99.99% average puts them among the most reliable hosts we’ve reviewed.

Strong uptime like this keeps website visitors happy. But more importantly, it means your site is almost guaranteed to be working around the clock so you won’t miss out when your customers want to make a purchase, either.

SiteGround last 6 month average speed and uptime data
SiteGround’s last 6-month average uptime (monitoring since 2017) | See stats

Last 6 months’ average uptime:

  • August 2022: 100%
  • July 2022: 100%
  • June 2022: 99.99%
  • May 2022: 100%
  • April 2022: 99.99%
  • March 2022: 99.98%

2. Above-Average Load Time (356 ms)

Site speed is easily the second most critical factor when choosing a host.

For starters, research by Google shows that 53% of people will leave your site if your page doesn’t load within three seconds.

Furthermore, you can’t do much to fix a slow host. You might be able to compress images to lighten their weight. You might be able to load them through a CDN to take some pressure off your server. But it wouldn’t make much of a difference if the host is not delivering good speed.

Fortunately, you don’t have to worry about that with SiteGround.

SiteGround last 6 months average speed
SiteGround’s last 6-month average speed (monitoring since 2017) | See stats

Their above-average loading time of 356 ms isn’t the fastest we’ve seen, but the good news is that SiteGround has delivered gradually faster speeds throughout the six months.

3. Good Customer Support Experience

SiteGround provides a knowledge base for customers to find their own quick answers. Otherwise, you can call in over the phone or use the 24/7 live chat.

For this latest test, we opted for the live chat option and we connected with their customer rep in less than a minute.

Unlike some other hosts, there was no noticeable delay in answers. So it seemed like he knew what he was talking about and didn’t have to look up answers each time we sent over a new question.

SiteGround live chat

In total it took us less than four minutes to get a reply to our questions.

4. Free WordPress Migration

Whenever we see web hosts come out with a “DIY migration” option, it makes us a little anxious. That’s because most of them aren’t great, and they end up putting more burden on the customer.

SiteGround might be the exception to this rule, though. They’ve created a free WordPress Migration plugin that you can upload to any site.

SiteGround WordPress migration plugin

There aren’t any long and boring walkthroughs, either. You simply generate a token from inside your SiteGround hosting account and the plugin will quickly help do the heavy lifting.

Yes, it still requires you to do a little work. But the good news is that you can migrate as many websites as you want with this option. (In comparison, some hosts that offer “free migrations” cap it after only a few, forcing you to pay after a certain point.)

If you’d rather have some professional, hands-on help, SiteGround will throw in the free service on their higher-tier plans (GrowBig and up).

If you exceed the limits on each plan, they charge a nominal fee of $30 for each additional site.

5. Free SSL Certificate and Content Delivery Network (CDN)

Google Chrome has started actively warning people if the site they’re trying to reach doesn’t have an SSL certificate set up.

SSL helps to protect any information sent back and forth between the user’s device and the website, including personal details like IP addresses or credit card numbers. If left unsecured, hackers and others could easily intercept this information. So Chrome is looking out for web users’ best interest here.

In other words, that basically makes SSL certificates a requirement on all websites today. And thankfully, SiteGround throws these in for free on all plans.

The other bit of good news comes in the form of a free Cloudflare CDN (Content Delivery Network). CDN stores large files, like images, on many servers in different locations around the globe. This helps to make sure that the files are stored as close as possible to site visitors, making them faster to access.

SiteGround has servers spread out over three continents, which helps to keep loading times fast and provide a good customer experience.

6. Beginner-to-Advanced Features Available

SiteGround has a little something for everyone.

Beginners and bloggers will like that you can install popular website builders like Weebly in just a few clicks. Weebly features a simple drag-and-drop editor so you can take full control over the look and feel of your site (without having to dive into code).

Other than Weebly, SiteGround also has deep integrations with WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal. Each of these apps can be installed quickly and painlessly. No need for a developer to help you out.

However, if you already are a developer, you’re in luck, too.

You’ll get Git pre-installed on bigger plans, along with SSH, WP-CLI, SFTP, and phpMyAdmin. They have multiple PHP versions at your disposal. Multi-level caching is available. And you can also get access to staging environments for sites to prep or test before pushing new features into production.

SiteGround also helps out with security, using a proprietary, AI-bot prevention tool that tries to snuff out new attacks before they hit. Their data reports that anywhere from 500,000 to two million brute-force attempts are blocked on their servers each hour.

So you’re not left alone to deal with these headaches, either.

7. 99.99% Uptime Guarantee

Remember that solid 99.99% uptime average? Well, there’s a reason SiteGround doesn’t falter here – it would cost them a lot of money.

Often, when you dig into a web host’s terms of service, there’s only bad news buried in the fine print.

SiteGround surprised us in a good way. Under their Service Level Agreement, they guarantee “network uptime of 99.9% on an annual basis.” If they ever dip below that threshold, you will get compensated with free months of hosting.

Now, there are a few conditions to how the uptime is calculated. Any scheduled or emergency maintenance issues are exempt. If something you do causes downtime (such as exceeding resources, installing applications that don’t work, or violating terms), then SiteGround does not take responsibility. Any major external attacks on their systems could sidestep this policy, too.

8. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

SiteGround features a full 30-day money-back guarantee on all shared hosting plans.

Like many other hosts, domain name fees and any other “extras” are usually not refunded. And this refund policy only applies to brand new customers. So you can’t get refunds on renewal plans.

Cons of Using SiteGround Hosting


SiteGround impressed us with near-flawless uptime and their guarantee of free service if uptime dips below 99.99%. Their loading speeds are quite good, even if they’re not the fastest out there. Also, SiteGround offers a variety of apps to make both beginners and advanced users happy.

However, there are a few drawbacks to consider before signing up. So here are some of the bigger issues we ran into during our hands-on test.

1. Higher Renewal Rates

SiteGround’s cheapest plan, StartUp, features a $3.99/month advertised price on their website. Although it’s not the cheapest price we’ve seen among other hosts, it’s still pretty reasonable.

However, there’s a catch.

Almost every web host we’ve reviewed to date uses the same trick. They get your attention with a low introductory rate, only to double (or even triple) the price when it’s time to renew.

For example, that $3.99/month rate jumps up to a whopping $14.99 when you renew. SiteGround’s other plans hike up to $24.99 and $39.99/month.

The best solution to this is to lock in the longest term possible to take advantage of that low rate for as long as you can.

2. Limited “Cheap” Plan

SiteGround’s pricing on their lowest plan is comparable to the competition so it seems like a good deal when you first look at it.

However, the plan features don’t line up exactly.

For example, you get one website and only 10 GB of web space to handle around 10,000 monthly visits. This plan also features unlimited traffic (or unmetered bandwidth). However, if your site is getting anywhere close to those limits, performance is going to suffer.

That means it’s good for smaller sites that might not hit those thresholds for a while. But if your site starts becoming bigger, you’ll probably have to upgrade and pay more for increased resources.

3. No Free Domain Name

Most web hosts throw in ‘freebies’ to attract new customers.

That often includes the low introductory rate and additional services like email or migrations.

A free domain name for the first year is almost always on that list, too.

SiteGround domain name pricesSiteGround, unfortunately, doesn’t do that. If you don’t already have a domain name, they’ll charge you for one from day one, starting at $17.99/year for .com.

SiteGround Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

SiteGround has three shared hosting tiers. Here are the costs and highlights:


StartUp PlanGrowBig PlanGoGeek Plan
Pricing $3.99/month
Renews at $14.99/mo
$6.69/month
Renews at $24.99/mo
$10.69/month
Renews at $39.99/mo
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Storage10 GB20 GB40 GB
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• On-Deman Backup Copies
• Speed Boosting Caching
• Staging
• Add Collaborators
• White Label Clients
• Ultrafast PHP
• Priority Support

Quick Facts

  • Domain: No. Domain prices start from $17.99/year.
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy, one-page sign-up process.
  • Money-Back: 30-days money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card (there are other options available through chat)
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Renewal rates are higher. And you have to pay for a domain name (no freebie).
  • Upsells: A few… but nothing too bad.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard: cPanel
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs using Softaculous.

Do We Recommend SiteGround?

Yes, we do.

SiteGround has delivered solid uptime for a few years now. And their uptime guarantee makes sure that you’ll probably never have any major downtime issues.

Their site speed is pretty good, too. That’s thanks to their servers spread out over three continents and free Cloudflare CDN account. They also give you free SSL on all plans.

Moreover, their pricing is good if you take advantage of the longest term possible. Otherwise, you’ll end up hitting those high renewal rates sooner. Bring your own domain, too, to escape another fee.

Visit www.SiteGround.com


P.S. Have you used SiteGround before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors. Thanks for your support.

134 user reviews for SiteGround

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Katie

    3  — May 17, 2022

    Support has finally started going downhill

    I have always loved Siteground, for many years. I’ve always recommended them, I have 30 sites on the most expensive shared server, and I have ALWAYS had excellent and fast customer service. I have enjoyed the “Priority Support” as promised with my GoGeek plan, until very recently.

    I tried to get help with an issue and went round and round and round inside their help center. They have made this change on purpose in order to cut down on people contacting them and I know this because the selections I used to make to get into the chat no longer take me to the chat. As a loyal customer, I don’t appreciate this run-around method of getting me to give up and decide to not contact support.

    The last 2 times I’ve contacted support, I’ve had to make up answers in order to get the support I need because the suggestions were not even remotely helpful. When following the prompts, it says they can’t help because my domain is not pointed to Siteground and suggested I point my nameservers. The domain IS pointed via A record, but it would still not let me access support. I had to pick a different domain in order to make it through the prompts and then tell the agent “sorry, it’s actually about a different domain”.

    I pay the same amount of money and they’re trying to offer me LESS support. Unacceptable. I’ll be making a plan to move sometime within the next few years, and I have stopped recommending them. I’m sad to see the support decline in this way.

    The agents are always very helpful if you can make it there!

    Sharon

    5  — May 12, 2022

    Always helpful & polite

    Every time I’ve had a question the support team has been very quick to answer and walk me through the steps needed. They are also very polite 🙂 I moved my account to Siteground after being with Godaddy for years. It was easy and I saved a lot of money too!

    Vitor C

    5  — April 22, 2022

    Amazing support

    Siteground support never ceases to amaze me. I just had four different problems solved in one go (chat).
    They just stopped short of doing developer work, but solved things in the immediate term and explaining/teaching fully gave me a clear picture of where to go for a robust implementation of what I need.

    Heads up to Felipe R. and Dobromir N.
    Where ‘s the 6th star?? They deserve it

    Paul B

    5  — April 20, 2022

    Great customer service

    I needed urgent assistance with DNS records so I hopped on SiteGrounds chat function and it was sorted within a couple of minutes! A very helpful member of staff guided me through the entire process and got what I needed to be completed. I am very happy with this service.

    Dan

    5  — April 19, 2022

    Great Customer Service

    I’ve been using Siteground for a while and it’s consistently good. Even though I prefer Cpanel, the newer site tools work just fine. Anytime there’s a hiccup or an issue comes up I have been able to connect to support via chat very quickly if not instantly, regardless of time of day. The support person has always been top notch– understanding my issue quickly and responses are clear and also easy to understand. They have always solved the problem and I’m back up and running within minutes rather than hours/days. I highly recommend it!

    Alina

    5  — April 14, 2022

    Will never go elsewhere

    SiteGround is the best. Ironically I initially chose them because of their aesthetic and site design. It was calming, not demanding attention… But when we had issues they were right there! Within minutes! These guys are the best and I’m so so happy I found them. They have old-fashioned ethics and modern convenience. I highly Recommend!!

    Stephen S

    5  — April 10, 2022

    Very Helpful

    Very helpful and stress free. Even though I am not computer savvy, I knew that my issue was going to be taken care of professionally. I walked through step by step though the entire process. I was using another service without any help. Total 180.

    Paul

    5  — March 22, 2022

    Excellent support

    Fast and professional support, difficult tech problems solved quickly, professionally and competently. We had an email issue which we could not resolve and the chat support was activated quickly and enabled us to share the problem including screenshots. Thank you

    Sarah H

    5  — March 13, 2022

    Transfer of Ownership Clarifications

    I needed to know how the hosting situation would play out when transferring ownership of a site to the client/end-user. I got thorough info that answered not only my first question but several more I hadn’t even asked yet! Very pleased with the assistance and the functionality of the product/service.

    Leslie

    5  — March 13, 2022

    Site Migration Enquiry

    Comprehensive professional advice and a perfect solution agreed. Excellent friendly service. I would highly recommend Siteground having used them previously too! At the end of the day you only get what you pay for and if your business requires fast service for mission critical customer experience then you need a comprehensive hosting provider.

    TANJOH K

    5  — March 11, 2022

    Awesome Services

    Great services and awesome support. Virtually 0% downtime since I started using siteground hosting services. Support is 24/7 with always positive results. Apart from the hosting, the security is awesome and does not leave out the speed with which sites load.

    Tim

    5  — February 21, 2022

    Got just what I needed

    Siteground customer support again does a marvelous job.

    I was baffled at the next steps for pointing an outside domain to hosting on Siteground. The nice person on the chat helped me through the process smoothly, and even sent a link to a tutorial that would help me through the next steps I need to take.

    Wish I knew the name of the rep I dealt with – he or she was very good, and deserves recognition.

    nome

    5  — February 19, 2022

    Fast and to the point

    Took less than a minute to respond to my query and got all the support needed to sort out the issue with my new domain name I bought within 5 minutes. The customer support was very knowledgeable and was able to help someone like me that is new to this stuff.

    Impressive support

    Vicki

    5  — February 2, 2022

    Love Siteground

    I have been with siteground for quite a few years now and would never change as they have been so supportive to me. Highly recommend them. They have a great support team that have always helped me out no matter what. Simply the best. Thanks to the team at Siteground.

    Cesar R

    5  — February 2, 2022

    Excellent Support

    SiteGround’s support is always at hand when I need it. I never have to wait more than 3 minutes and someone is chatting with me right off.

    Support always resolved my issues with ease and fast.

    The best hosting I ever had after many years with others.

    Sue

    5  — January 25, 2022

    Outstanding Customer Service

    Hosting is the lifeblood of your website. Things can go smoothly for years, but when your site is down, it’s all hands on deck. SiteGround has maintained their superior customer service despite their growth over the years and I highly recommend them!

    Dave

    5  — January 17, 2022

    5 Stars for support

    As a newcomer to WordPress, I’ve found the learning curve to be a little steep. In fact, I may have abandoned the platform all together if it weren’t for the support staff at Siteground. They’ve been phenomenal when I’ve found myself ready to throw in the towel, and the patience with my elementary questions has been world class!

    Jonathan A

    5  — January 7, 2022

    Absolutely Fantastic!

    Absolutely fantastic customer service. Immediate responses every time. They are quick, knowledgeable, and I couldn’t recommend SiteGround enough. I have requested service through their chat feature a couple of times now and the responses and level of support have been consistent every time. Hands down phenomenal.

    Jenna

    5  — December 27, 2021

    Excellent service

    I had an issue changing my DND records and reached out for help at Siteground. Once I found the chat area, I was able to get immediate assistance and they helped me resolve the issue. They gave me easy step-by-step instructions and were very pleasant to converse with. Great service, happy customer!

    James F

    5  — December 24, 2021

    Great Support

    Great support staff at your fingertips 24/7.

     

    Queries answered promptly. Very understanding and helpful.

     

    Had a few small issues none of which were related to Siteground, however their staff were able to assist me and helped breathe a little easier.

     

    10/10 for customer service