Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

SiteGround is a popular shared hosting provider that offers its users multiple different hosting options.

These include WordPress hosting, cloud hosting, and even dedicated servers.

SiteGround review

We’ve been monitoring SiteGround’s cheapest “Startup” shared plan for over two years now.

We paid for a shared hosting account, set up a live test site, and have been closely tracking their performance with a third-party tool to provide this unbiased, transparent review.

Overall, SiteGround ranks near the top of all web hosting companies for both uptime (99.99%) and speed (756 ms). Their customer support team is knowledgeable, fast, and friendly. All plans come with a CDN, SSL certificate, and email accounts.

However, there are some downsides too.

Let’s dig in.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 5.0

SPEED: 756 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME: 99.99% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Knowledge Base
APPS: Supports more than 500 applications
FEATURES: Unmetered bandwidth, 10 GB storage, website builder, and free email, free SSL and CDN, daily backup
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, Cloud, Reseller, Enterprise, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Not free
PRICING: Starting at $5.99/mo (renews at $12.99/mo)

Pros of Using SiteGround Hosting


SiteGround starts strong with 99.99% uptime, above-average speeds, and tons of extra features that are perfect for both beginners and power users.

1. Good Performance – 99.99% Uptime in Last 12 Months

SiteGround’s uptime performance has been nearly perfect over the last year. Their 99.99% average puts them among the most reliable hosts we’ve reviewed.

Strong uptime like this keeps website visitors happy. But more importantly, it means your site is almost guaranteed to be working around the clock so you won’t miss out when your customers want to make a purchase, either.

SiteGround last 12-month uptime and speed
SiteGround’s average uptime | See stats

Last 12 months average uptime:

  • January 2021: 99.90%
  • December 2020: 99.99%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 99.99%
  • August 2020: 99.99%
  • July 2020: 100%
  • June 2020: 99.98%
  • May 2020: 100%
  • April 2020: 100%
  • March 2020: 100%
  • February 2020: 99.99%

2. Above-Average Load Time (756 ms)

Site speed is easily the second most critical factor when choosing a host.

For starters, research by Google shows that 53% of people will leave if your pages don’t load within three seconds.

Furthermore, you can’t do much to fix a slow host. You might be able to compress images to lighten their weight. You might be able to load them through a CDN to take some pressure off your server. But once a slow host? Always a slow host.

Fortunately, you don’t have to worry about that with SiteGround. Their above-average loading time of 756 ms isn’t the fastest we’ve seen, but it does place SiteGround in our pros section (so far!).

SiteGround Speed Feb 2020 - Jan 2021
SiteGround’s average speed See stats

3. Good Customer Support Experience

SiteGround provides a knowledge base for customers to find their own quick answers. Otherwise, you can call in over the phone or use the 24/7 live chat.

For this latest test, we opted for the live chat option and we were connected with their customer rep in less than a minute.

Unlike other hosts, there was no noticeable delay in answers. So it seemed like he knew what he was talking about and didn’t have to look up answers each time we sent over a new question.

SiteGround live chat

In total it took us less than three minutes to get a reply to our questions.

4. Free Site Migration for One Website

Whenever we see web hosts come out with a “DIY migration” option, it makes us a little anxious. That’s because most of them aren’t great, and they end up putting more burden on the customer.

SiteGround might be the exception to this rule, though. They’ve created a free WordPress Migration plugin that you can upload to any site.

SiteGround WordPress migration plugin

There aren’t any long and boring walkthroughs, either. You simply generate a token from inside your SiteGround hosting account and the plugin will quickly help do the heavy lifting.

Yes, it still requires you to do a little work. But the good news is that you can migrate as many websites as you want with this option. (In comparison, some hosts that offer “free migrations” cap it after only a few, forcing you to pay after a certain point.)

If you’d rather have some professional, hands-on help, SiteGround will throw in the free service on their higher-tier plans (GrowBig and up).

If you exceed the limits on each plan, they charge a nominal fee of $30 for each additional site.

5. Free SSL Certificate and Content Delivery Network (CDN)

Google Chrome has started actively warning people if the site they’re trying to reach doesn’t have an SSL certificate set up.

SSL helps to protect any information sent back and forth between the user’s device and the website, including personal details like IP addresses or credit card numbers. If left unsecured, hackers and others could easily intercept this information. So Chrome is looking out for web users’ best interest here.

In other words, that basically makes SSL certificates a requirement on all websites today. And thankfully, SiteGround throws these in for free on all plans.

The other bit of good news comes in the form of a free Cloudflare CDN (Content Delivery Network). CDN stores large files, like images, on many servers in different locations around the globe. This helps to make sure that the files are stored as close as possible to site visitors, making them faster to access.

SiteGround has servers spread out over three continents, which helps to keep loading times fast and provide a good customer experience.

6. Beginner-to-Advanced Features Available

SiteGround has a little something for everyone.

Beginners and bloggers will like that you can install popular website builders like Weebly in just a few clicks. Weebly features a simple drag-and-drop editor so you can take full control over the look and feel of your site (without having to dive into code).

Other than Weebly, SiteGround also has deep integrations with WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal. Each of these apps can be installed quickly and painlessly. No need for a developer to help you out.

However, if you already are a developer, you’re in luck, too.

You’ll get Git pre-installed on bigger plans, along with SSH, WP-CLI, SFTP, and phpMyAdmin. They have multiple PHP versions at your disposal. Multi-level caching is available. And you can also get access to staging environments for sites to prep or test before pushing new features into production.

SiteGround also helps out with security, using a proprietary, AI-bot prevention tool that tries to snuff out new attacks before they hit. Their data reports that anywhere from 500,000 to two million brute-force attempts are blocked on their servers each hour.

So you’re not left alone to deal with these headaches, either.

7. 99.99% Uptime Guarantee

Remember that solid 99.99% uptime average? Well, there’s a reason SiteGround doesn’t falter here – it would cost them a lot of money.

Often, when you dig into a web host’s terms of service, there’s only bad news buried in the fine print.

SiteGround surprised us in a good way. Under their Service Level Agreement, they guarantee “network uptime of 99.9% on an annual basis.” If they ever dip below that threshold, you will get compensated with free months of hosting.

Now, there are a few conditions to how the uptime is calculated. Any scheduled or emergency maintenance issues are exempt. If something you do causes the downtime (such as exceed resources, install applications that don’t work, or violate terms), then SiteGround does not take responsibility. Any major external attacks on their systems could sidestep this policy, too.

8. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

SiteGround features a full 30-day money-back guarantee on all shared hosting plans. In comparison, their cloud, VPS, and dedicated hosting plans only come with a 15-day refund.

Like many other hosts, domain name fees and any other “extras” are usually not refunded. And this refund policy only applies to brand new customers. So you can’t get refunds on renewal plans.

Cons of Using SiteGround Hosting


SiteGround impressed us with near-flawless uptime and their guarantee of free service if uptime dips below 99.99%. Their loading speeds are quite good, even if they’re not the fastest out there. Also, SiteGround offers a variety of apps to make both beginners and advanced users happy.

However, there are a few drawbacks to consider before signing up. So here are some of the bigger issues we ran into during our hands-on test.

1. Higher Renewal Rates

SiteGround’s cheapest plan, StartUp, features a low $5.99/month advertised price on their website.

This deal looks a little too good to be true because it is. Almost every web host we’ve reviewed to date uses the same trick. They catch your attention with a low introductory rate, only to double (or even triple) the price when it’s time to renew.

For example, that $5.99/month rate jumps up to $12.99 when you renew. SiteGround’s other plans hike up to $22.99 and $34.99/month respectively.

The best solution to this is to lock-in the longest term possible (36 months on SiteGround) to take advantage of that low rate for as long as you can.

2. Limited “Cheap” Plan

SiteGround’s pricing on their lowest plan is comparable to the competition so it seems like a good deal when you first look at it.

However, the plan features don’t line up exactly.

For example, you get one website and only 10 GB of web space to handle around 10,000 monthly visits. This plan also features unlimited traffic (or unmetered bandwidth). However, if your site is getting anywhere close to those limits, performance is going to suffer.

That means it’s good for smaller sites that might not hit those thresholds for a while. But if your site starts becoming bigger, you’ll probably have to upgrade and pay more for increased resources.

3. No Free Domain Name

Most web hosts throw in ‘freebies’ to attract new customers.

That often includes the low introductory rate and additional services like email or migrations.

A free domain name for the first year is almost always on that list, too.

SiteGround domain name pricesSiteGround, unfortunately, doesn’t do that. If you don’t already have a domain name, they’ll charge you for one from day one, starting at $13.95/year for .com.

SiteGround Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

SiteGround has three shared hosting tiers. Here are the costs and highlights:


StartUp Plan GrowBig Plan GoGeek Plan
Pricing $5.99/month
Renews at $12.99/mo
$9.99/month
Renews at $22.99/mo
$13.99/month
Renews at $34.99/mo
Websites 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage 10GB 20GB 40GB
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • On-Deman Backup Copies
• Speed Boosting Caching
• Staging
• Add Collaborators
• White Label Clients
• Ultrafast PHP
• Priority Support

Quick Facts

  • Domain: No. Domain prices start from $13.95
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy, one-page sign-up process.
  • Money-Back: 30-days money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card (there are other options available through chat)
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: They charge a $14.95 setup fee if you pay for their shared hosting plans monthly instead of annually. Renewal rates are also higher. And you have to pay for a domain name (no freebie).
  • Upsells: A few… but nothing too bad.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard: cPanel
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs using Softaculous.

Do We Recommend SiteGround?

Yes, we do.

SiteGround has delivered solid uptime for a few years now. And their uptime guarantee makes sure that you’ll probably never have any major downtime issues.

Their site speed is pretty good, too. That’s thanks to their servers spread out over three continents and free Cloudflare CDN account. They also give you free SSL on all plans.

Moreover, their pricing is good if you take advantage of the longest term possible. Otherwise, you’ll end up hitting those high renewal rates sooner. Bring your own domain, too, to escape another fee.

Visit www.SiteGround.com


P.S. Have you used SiteGround before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors. Thanks for your support.

125 user reviews for SiteGround

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Kehinde T

    1  — February 26, 2021

    Very Disappointed

    I think I’ve been on siteground for 5 years now and everything went downhill when they decided to do their upgrade from C-panel to site tool. I also migrated my websites to their cloud platform which has been more of a disaster than anything else. I have been experiencing different manipulations on my database that one one can explain. At some points tables in my database started deleting on their own. I do not have SSH configured or FTP or allow remote access, All these things just suddenly started happening. I uploaded a short screenshot of tickets from February 18 – february 20. I could screenshot them all because they are so much. At some point, I was raising 10 tickets per day and chatting with support every hour. That was raised to resolve an issue that was never resolved.

    I am frustrated and have made up my mind to migrate all my sites to another hosting. Their server integrity has been compromised and is no longer secure.

    Rade

    1  — February 24, 2021

    Don’t have select all in File manager

    They don’t have cPanel.

    Their web panel doesn’t even have a select all option in File manager. Poor user experience.

    Paul

    2  — February 11, 2021

    No longer a top choice

    SiteGround was excellent years ago, but that’s no longer the case. They continue to slide downhill.

    – speeds are worse
    – prices have gone way up
    – uses Google infrastructure, raising privacy concerns
    – they continue to make it more difficult to reach live chat and phone support through their support portal. It’s obvious that they don’t want you contacting them unless absolutely necessary.
    – the new Site Tools interface may look better aesthetically, but it’s less convenient in many ways, and also slower. For example, you can’t access the files of all of your websites in one place like you used to be able to do. Each website is now treated as a completely separate entity.

    These days, you can get much better hosting at around the same or an even lower price.

    Tom

    2  — February 11, 2021

    Service Renewal Scam

    After one year I found out that they are scammers like others.
    If you are looking for a WP hosting (I’m not sure about their other services), they will charge you $140 US for the first year and a year after, at the renewal they will charge you $480 US without notice. They charged my credit card 3 weeks ahead of the due date for renewal. You can call and ask them, all they say “Oh the first year was discounted price”

    If you are ready to pay $480 for the hosting per year. This is the best hosting scam service out there.

    Henry B

    1  — February 7, 2021

    Impossible to contact support

    Siteground may have great support but if it’s not on their suggested list, getting to chat or phone is a nightmare. Like many Internet companies, because they find answering emails or having chat facilities or emails to support, expensive, they make it nearly impossible to do.

    Until now I was able to look at my website’s html pages and alter them as and when needed from their CPanel. They have recently upgraded (!) their website tools from “CPanel” to “Site Tools”. But no instructions on how to use Site Tools is included on their site.

    I am not a big customer as I have only one website with them and have been a client for quite a few years. In the past getting to a chat or submitting a support ticket was relatively easy but now virtually impossible. Support can only be called good if you can reach it. If you can’t reach it then it can be good or bad but that is meaningless. I would have easily recommended them a while ago but now, unless you are an expert, stay away. As I am stuck with Site Tools and because of that I have no way of editing on site they have only 1 star.

    Natalie

    3  — January 4, 2021

    Price changes

    I have just moved from SiteGround after 4 years to Bluehost and I couldn’t be happier. 

    SiteGround has a very low database size for their plans and the prices get astronomical as you are forced to upgrade.

    Yasir

    2  — December 31, 2020

    Not accepting sign up from most of the Asian countries

    They were good and good in terms of support, performance. Now also, I have good service from them. They have stopped new sign up from India, all of the gulf countries, African countries, and they restricted to countable countries. I don’t know what happened to them. They used to be good, now onwards, we can’t rely on them.

    Gagan

    5  — December 30, 2020

    SiteGround Review

    I’m in love with SiteGround. SSL is free, daily backups included, they help you with transferring your website and the customer service is excellent and fast. Chat is best (they are always online), so anything comes up, even just a question, they solve it within minutes. I don’t want to miss it. I’m staying because of their fantastic customer support.

    Jdushner

    1  — November 28, 2020

    Customer service is Non-Existent

    I agree with everyone the service/product isn’t what it used to be.
    But I’ve had the worst customer services experience of my life with them.  it was an auto renew that was $300 and I cancelled my service and requested a refund.  First of all, it took me 1 hour to understand how to get the right person on the phone to do that.  Second, they lied and said they couldn’t give me a refund because I disputed the transaction with my credit card.  I feel like I’m getting scammed by them and don’t think they will give me my money back.  Please beware and just use Godaddy, they are the best!

    Alexander W

    1  — November 10, 2020

    The reviews cant be right!?

    After 4 years with Hostgator we decided to try Siteground. We are extremely disappointed. The lack of service and lack of competence from the people giving service is so much worse than Hostgator.

    Their migrating tool did not work so we paid to get the website transferred. After the transfer we lost half a month’s revenue due to all the email and functions were gone.

    Not recommended at all. I cannot believe their reviews online.

    Regards Alexander

    Joss

    2  — October 28, 2020

    Going down the hill

    Their services used to be top of the line just a couple of years ago. Something has changed since everything is dispersed in the Clouds somewhere. Tech support is still fast but not as efficient. While I live in Canada, my site seems to be hosted on a server lost in eastern Europe and blacklisted by many email services. BIG PROBLEM! I certainly won’t renew my account with them.

    Sandy

    1  — October 15, 2020

    Not What They Used To Be

    Their customer service has gone way down the past year and a half, as their prices have gone way up. If you change hosting plans, be prepared to be nickel and dimed all the way through for things like access to emails and such. Definitely will be looking for another host when my current plan comes up for renewal.

    J

    1  — October 7, 2020

    Enough is enough

    I have been their customer for almost 10 years and I’m sick and tired of the constant problems. Every time they change something from their end, it takes a few days to recover it. Now, I have to create 3 to 5 tickets per day for troubleshooting and I don’t know how much I wasted my time. Enough is enough. I wish I could move to a different host. Are there any good alternatives?

    Jim

    2  — September 7, 2020

    Used to be great but not anymore

    SiteGround used to have great support, but not anymore. The average response time for a support ticket is 8 hours! Sometimes if you are lucky, you get an abstract answer after 1 hour and then you wait for hours and hours for the next reply.

    Their servers used to be great too, but unfortunately this has changed dramatically for the worse.
    I am paying for an expensive cloud server and all I get is problems, especially after their migration to Google Cloud platform.
    I don’t know what happened to this company. It’s a shame. After 5 years on SiteGround I am now looking for another hosting company.

    Bharat S

    1  — August 25, 2020

    bad day by day

    It could be good for small sites working on wordpress or so. But they are clearly not good when it comes to technical difficulties. I have been using them for almost 10 years now, they were certainly good in past but now the frequent changes like migration, cpanel switching etc. causing us a lot of trouble and everytime they do some changes it breaks our website, sometimes folders permission changed, ssh keys don’t work, git access denied, payment gateway issues etc.

    These things cause our team to waste time talking and fixing with them and many times they just say “Please tell us the steps to re-render the situation”. How do I re-render the error when it happens due to changes done on the siteground side?

    It wasted a lot of my team’s time and money and also cost us customers.

    So if you are not worried about losing money and time then siteground is good, otherwise my advice is to not use it. I am now forced to look for other options.

    Looking at my tickets for the last two months. Every month there is a new problem coming with them.


    We asked SiteGround for a response:

    Hello Bharat, we are sorry to hear that the latest improvements in our system (such as the migration to a more powerful platform and a customized control panel etc.) seem to have affected your site negatively. Since we cannot identify your account based on the provided data, we can not investigate the issues mentioned by you. If you let us know what is your domain name or ticket ID, we will make sure to check the case in detail and investigate the connection between these problems and the changes in our system and make amends where possible.

    Gilles

    2  — August 12, 2020

    Becoming Greedy

    I just cancelled my GoGeek account today after being a very long time customer. Yes Siteground does have good customer support, but I haven’t needed it for years. In the last two years they have increased their prices twice and to a point that just made me say enough is enough… they are just getting greedy…

    I made the switch to Cloudways over the weekend and the switch was easy, I even had to call upon their support a couple times and had quick responses. I was scared at first because of some of the press I have seen on Cloudways, but my experience has been very favourable.

    I made the change for a little less than a quarter of the price for a faster host and up to this point just as good service as I have had from Siteground. It is pretty much a no-brainer, I just wish I made the switch at their last price increase, I would have saved myself a few hundred dollars…

    Siteground is shooting themselves in the foot for greed, it won’t pay off as I am sure that people will react much the same way as I have by feeling like they are being extorted for their service, but the move was much easier than anticipated and if you are feeling the same way I did, just make the move.

    Dav

    2  — July 11, 2020

    Siteground no longer a good choice

    Siteground have gone downhill in the last 5 years (or not managed to keep up) and I sadly cannot recommend anyone to use them if they have an ecommerce webshop which is more resource intensive. We have WooCommerce.

    Their hosting service on the GoGeek plan is supposed to give more to those spending more, but it is nothing more than a repackaged basic service. For the actual hosting power you get, it is in my opinion very expensive (compared to what others now offer). I personally think Siteground have been offering low performance hosting to all managed accounts for a long time, but it’s only in the last few years we are seeing this more as other companies are offering much better hardware and resources.

    Having moved some sites away from Siteground and spending a lot less, I am shocked at the speed increase our sites have. Siteground also has a very annoying system of limiting CPU usage. After you reach a certain CPU usage, they literally disable access to your site (until your CPU seconds have dropped). With eCommerce shops, it is very often possible to go above this CPU usage if you have a plugin/script with some problems. The last thing you want in this scenario is to have the added stress of your hosting not keeping your site available.

    The support was previously what made Siteground special. Their support was very good. However in the last 6 months their support channels have all been shrunk and they make it very hard to now contact them about a general enquiry. Yes it’s an overhead they are no doubt trying to reduce, but it was their main selling point.

    So if you have a basic html website with not too many plugins, you may well find one of their cheaper packages is perfect for your requirements. However if you have a more serious ecommerce webshop which is your main source of income, but you still cannot afford a dedicated or cloud server, then you should look for a hosting provider with a more professional package. It took me far too long to learn that.

    Rowan

    1  — June 28, 2020

    Clueless

    After reading all the reviews, I thought Siteground would be a good choice however when I look back I realise those 5 star reviews are often cherry picked by Siteground and their affiliate networks who get paid for recommending them. They talk about good uptime, big deal all hosting sites have good uptimes of 99%+

    I ported my site across to them on their recommended package deal, their interface is bespoke so it lacks a lot of the basic functionality that you get from cPanel or Plesk which I really missed.

    However I could live with that until about 6 months into hosting they sent me an email stating my site had exceeded their “No more than 40,000 CPU seconds for any given calendar day” rule.

    And 2 minutes after sending it they switched my site off while it still had 22,500 live visitors on it!!!!

    No warning, no let’s discuss an upgrade, nothing!

    Of course their support phone number is so hidden you just can’t find it. Tried the online chat to support and they told me to reply to the email but also gave me the phone number.

    Reply to the email and get no response.

    Call Support and Pieter hangs up on you after 2 minutes of explanation because he just can’t be bothered to help, after all it is 19:30 and it’s time to relax!!! Website still down and Ivan who finally replied to the email is telling me to be patient 3 hours later.

    Yes this is an angry review, written in the heat of the moment but I did not post it until everything was finished so I could see if they had redeemed themselves, they did not which is why this was posted, 3 days after the event.

    Average support time reply to email tickets – 4-6 hours. Telephone Support / Online Chat you get through in about 2 min but they can never help no matter the request

    It took 2 days to get the site running again after speaking to 11 different people and being given 4 totally wrong recommendations of what needed to be done to get the site live again.

    Overall conclusion: Totally clueless with don’t give a damn attitude.


    We asked SiteGround for a response:

    Hello Rowan,

    We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our support.

    The issues you report sound worrisome, so we would like to review the case in detail. Please provide us with your account details or ticket ID at reviews at siteground dot com.

    Thso we can check and find out what caused the delay you describe and the disconnected phone call. Thank you for your cooperation!

    Aaron

    1  — June 27, 2020

    Trash

    Guys, please do not sign up here.

    Find a host with Cpanel, their homemade interface is horrible.

    Their support is the worst I have seen in my career building websites. It is a puzzle to access their support chat – they hide it on purpose – which is crazy.

    The storage space is small, they only allow for a single email forward per address. (insane.)

    I have worked with many hosts, and I would not be here if it was my decision.

    Stay far far away.

    Maybe they will see this and be inspired to change their ways. Either way, there are MUCH better options out there.


    We asked SiteGround for a response:

    Hello Aaron,

    We are sad to hear that you do not like SiteTools. We strived to create a clean user interface according to the latest established design standards without compromising any functionalities.
    Regarding the email forwarders, we can confirm that from our end, you can set multiple email forwarders for each email address both via cPanel and SiteTools. In cPanel, the forwarders are being set one by one to the destination mailbox, while in SiteTools, you can add the desired destination mailboxes at once: https://snipboard.io/vRCc91.jpg

    Still, if you are missing specific features, we would be glad to hear your feedback! Likewise, if you provide us with your ticket ID or domain name, we would be able to review your support history and check if your case was handled adequately from our side. Alternatively, if you need urgent technical assistance, you can reach our 24/7 Support team via your Client Area question mark in the top right corner > View Helpdesk Center > Contact Us page.
    Lastly, if the current disk space of the account is insufficient for your needs, you can either review your disk usage and try decreasing it, or you can check our higher hosting plans with a bigger disk quota (up to 1TB).

    Kind regards,
    The SiteGround Team

    Todd

    3  — June 17, 2020

    Used to be great

    This year – 2020 we started outgrowing our go geek – we were pegging memory and thus upgraded to their “cloud” solution. Started getting lots of 503’s some on us, got all the caching working sites working great.

    Then they killed cPanel, moved to their own “site tools.” The day of the change, random 403’s, large queries that worked give 504’s or 403’s. Support is working on it, but the ticket is escalating – now on its third tier – and I’ve done most of the trouble shooting.

    On top of that some of the auto update tools – softaculous – are no longer available on site tools. Moreover, the cloud version was not getting the lasting core of our CMS whereas our other sites, on lower tier plans, are. So pay more and get less. And support, responsive, but many times answers with I cannot tell you when that will happen.

    So, if you have a small website, working on a budget, site ground can be good. We’ve used them for 10+ years. Our experience, however, is making us look elsewhere, because as they kill things like cPanel, you need to get on a new learning curve anyway, why not with someone else.

    And, did I mention they no longer do their own hosting, it’s all in google cloud, which adds another layer.