Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

TsoHost was founded in 2003 by the Paragon Internet Group. And to date, they host over 500,000 websites from their UK base.

TsoHost hosting review

Unlike some companies that have reached this same scale and sold out, tsoHost is largely led by the same founding team that’s operated it since its inception for almost 14 years.

TsoHost may not be one of the biggest or well-known hosting providers out there. But that steady growth and stable leadership point to a company that knows what it’s doing.

We signed up for their cloud hosting plan and have been closely monitoring performance statistics like uptime and page load speeds.

Our goal is to compile a fair, unbiased review and let tsoHost’s data speak for itself based on the performance of our live test website.

Let’s see how tsoHost has done over the last year.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 3.0

SPEED: 560 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME: 99.49% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT: Live Chat, Phone, 24/7 Ticketing, and Knowledge Base
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, Magento, PrestaShop, OpenCart, Drupal, phpBB +25 Overall Apps
FEATURES: One Website, Free Domain Name, 100 GB Storage, Unlimited Bandwidth, 512 MB Memory, 1-Click Installs, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, VPS, Managed Dedicated, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Free
PRICING: Starting at £3.99/mo (no higher renewal price)

Pros of Using TsoHost Hosting


TsohHost has grown steadily and kept its founding team intact. That points to a well-run organization that (should) deliver on the most important aspects like uptime and speed.

1. Solid Loading Time 560 ms

One of the major decision-making criteria you should use when evaluating a new hosting company is speed.

The reason? Three-fourths of your website traffic will leave if pages take longer than five seconds to load.

We’re very worried about the first months when we started monitoring them. With two second load time, it means that almost half of your traffic will leave the site and visit someone else, who has a much better loading time, at least under a second.

However, the good news is that tsoHost has really stepped up their game during the past year and delivered a solid speed of 560 ms. Even though loading time has gone a bit slower compared to the beginning of 2020, it’s still good enough to get a thumbs up from us.

TsoHost Speed Feb 2020 - Jan 2021
TsoHost average speed See stats

2. Nice ‘Bonus’ Plan Features

Like many of the web’s top hosts, tsoHost features a simple one-click installation of CMS applications like WordPress, Drupal, and ZenCart. That means you can have a new site up within minutes, and possibly selling by the end of the day.

Each shared hosting plan also comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. (And unlike many other hosts, this money-back guarantee really is a good deal, with no hidden fees or other tricks to worry about.)

TsoHost price plan comparison

Their plans — even the most inexpensive and basic ones — come with a lot of extra features that are not very common with other hosts.  For example, all their plans offer a free domain name and website migrations.

3. Transparent Pricing

Many hosting providers have a ton of upsells at the last minute check-out. When you choose their chosen plans, it often comes with 2 or 3 years commitment with higher renewal prices.

We liked tsoHost’s pricing plans as you’ll find ALL THE FEATURES shown in their price plans and they also show you the different price commitment prices.

The shows prices are for 12 months (approximately 4$/mo for start-up plan) and for a monthly payment you’d be looking at a price increase of 1$ – approximately 5$/mo.

Cons of Using TsoHost Hosting


All in all, tsoHost has a lot of things to like.

Their speed is solid. Their plans, even the cheapest ones, come with some nice features like daily backups and one-click installs.

However, there are a few drawbacks to their service you should be aware of.

1. Poor Uptime – 99.49%

Uptime is arguably the most important criteria a hosting company’s responsible for.

The reason is that even the slightest bit of downtime — like 99% — can add up to your site being offline for almost a full day each month.

TsoHost has posted weak uptime of 99.49% with 417 outages within the period we monitored them.

TsoHost last 12-month uptime and speed
TsoHost average uptime | See stats

Last 12 months of monitoring: uptime

  • January 2021: 97.48%
  • December 2020: 98.45%
  • November 2020:99.91%
  • October 2020: 99.96%
  • September 2020: 99.96%
  • August 2020: 99.80%
  • July 2020: 99.87%
  • June 2020: 99.86%
  • May 2020: 98.77%
  • April 2020: 99.83%
  • March 2020: 99.72%
  • February 2020: 99.96%

There are just way too many outages and downtime which potentially translated into lost traffic and also income.

2. UK-based servers

It’s not necessarily a bad thing. However, if your site is mainly for the US market and customer base, you’d be better off with your servers located in the US not overseas.

Overseas servers often slow your site down as data transfers take longer.

3. Strict Payment Terms

The long and dreadfully boring Terms of Service is usually where all the bodies are buried.

And tsoHost’s terms were no exception.

First up, is their strict terms around how and when renewals are paid.

Here’s the problem: how often do you get a new credit or debit card throughout the year, only for the old one to be still linked to many online accounts (like hosting providers)?

If overdue invoices aren’t taken care of within a few days, tsoHost will automatically suspend your account (which means your site goes down). So keep a watchful eye on those reminder emails!

When other products purchased through them, like a domain name, expire (again, unfortunately, common when they try to run a card with an old number and the payment doesn’t go through — even though you just assume it does), that product will immediately expire the next day.

After you do make the payment right, you’ll still have to notify them by email to get your domain or site back online within the next 24 hours. So you could be looking inadvertently at a lengthy downtime period if something common, like your card details changing, happens and payment doesn’t go through.

Another potential downside is that all payments received must be in UK Pounds sterling. That means you’re on the hook for any possible exchange rate charges.

Last but not least, they reserve the right to change or adjust pricing at any point in time. That means even though your next renewal period won’t cost you more right now… it doesn’t mean that will be the case in the near future.

4. Limited and Slow Support

TsoHost has three customer support options: live chat, telephone, and ticketing. Besides that, they also have a vast knowledge base.

tsoHOST support optionsSounds good, right?

In theory, yes, however, in practice not so good.

Their telephone support is available only from 7 am to midnight GM, the same goes for live chat. So, if you’re located in the U.S. (or anywhere else other than the UK and Western Europe) that might post a few problems.

Moreover, when we tried to contact their customer rep via chat (several times) during business hours, there was no possibility to do so, which leaves us questioning whether tsoHOST even has a live chat option or just claim they do.

This left us with ticketing. We opened a new ticket in the client area and asked some technical questions. We received clear and knowledgeable replies to all of our questions, but it took 13 hours for the customer rep to get back to us.

tsoHOST ticket reply

It’s understandable that ticketing is slower than an actual live chat, but 13 hours to get a reply is a bit too much.

TsoHost Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

TsoHost offers four different shared hosting plans. All prices shown are with a 12-month commitment.

Here’s what’s included in each:


Economy Plan Deluxe Plan Ultimate Plan Maximum Plan
Pricing £3.99/month £5.99/month £8.99/month £14.99/month
Websites 1 5 10 200
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage 100GB Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Email Accounts 100 500 Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • 1 Basic Migration • 3 Basic Migrations • 3 Basic Migrations
• 2 eCommerce Migrations
• 5 Basic Migrations
• 3 eCommerce Migration

Quick Facts

  • Ease of Signup: The signup process is relatively quick and painless
  • Payment Methods: You can pay by credit card or PayPal.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: No domain names on some plans. Be careful about renewals.
  • Upsells: There are a few upsells along the way.
  • Account Activation: Usually instant, however, can take up to a day in some cases.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Extremely easy, one-click installation process of the most popular apps available.

Do We Recommend tsoHost?

Yes and no.

TsoHOST delivered decent page loading times which we liked.

We were also impressed by their relatively inexpensive plans that offer great features. We also appreciate that their pricing, although it comes with strict terms, it’s transparent and honest on their website. However, the prices are shown without VAT, which is determined by your country for billing details.

Downside? They’re lacking in two very important things: weak uptime and slow customer support that can’t be overlooked.


Best alternatives for tsoHOST:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


Do you have any experience with tsoHost? If so, we’d love to hear a transparent and honest review below — positive or negative!

42 user reviews for TsoHost

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Trixie

    1  — February 13, 2021

    Terrible basic package

    I’ve been using this company for about 15 years and they have always been pretty good. They got taken over by GoDaddy and the legacy hosting packages I have from before this time are fine but I recently bought a new basic hosting package to host a single, simple wordpress site and it is APPALLING! They have an I/O limit of 1MB which is constantly reached and then the site effectively goes down. I can’t even upload an image to wordpress on this without the server keeling over.

    They couldn’t care less and want me to pay for an expensive business account – for a single simple WP site! I’m moving hosts – I have to! And will take the 30 or so clients with me somewhere else. Sad to say. p.s. Phone support has always been excellent

    Trixie

    1  — February 13, 2021

    And another thing

    Oh and another thing – they recently (early 2020) added a security update to their servers which means unless you are on a static IP, you are blacklisted from accessing their servers and have to phone them up to whitelist your current static ip address…on a domain name basis.

    What this means in practise is that every time I want to connect to a website for a client via ftp, I have to call TSOHost support to get my ip address whitelisted. Only they can’t whitelist it for every server seemingly – they have to do it on a website by website basis. meaning I have to call them for every single ftp connection I make each day.

    Asa C

    1  — January 17, 2021

    Terrible in the end (WordPress)

    Started out fine (WordPress hosting), but speeds deteriorated massively over time, and in the end they didn’t even make excuses for this. Instead, they almost invited me to leave for another hosting company, which I did (Namecheap), and which I don’t regret at all.

    Sajad

    1  — January 3, 2021

    Complete Rubbish

    No idea what has happened to tsohost – turned into a joke company. Updated at great cost to their “new” cpanel maximum and was promised amazing website and email speed.

    However things went much slower.

    Not happy at all.

    Kyle

    1  — September 30, 2020

    Sad deterioration of a once-excellent Company

    It’s with sadness that today, after nearly 8 years as a customer of TSOHost (and its former incarnations), I have made the decision to migrate all of my numerous business and websites away from them after the unacceptable dip in quality of service (in terms of performance but also customer and technical) over the past 12 months in particular.

    Many of the issues are well-storied already here, so I shan’t go into any indulgence with them, but essentially load times and uptime have all been steadily getting worse, and the overall experience has seen me spend far too many hours than is reasonable or fair engaged in live chats repeating the same issues and problems to agents who have to then ‘pass it on’ (never a problem previously) or on support tickets, my latest which I am on over 2 days and counting since a reply… despite them knowing the urgency of the situation.

    And that doesn’t even begin to cover all of the unnecessary and often unheralded back-end changes, movement of files and sometimes even account information and a myriad of other needless headaches, changes and problems that you are lucky to get resolved in anything approaching a sensible time frame.

    It’s a sad departure from a company that I’ve used in its various forms for so many years, but the quality of service and performance has just gotten so dire I had no choice but to move away.

    I would very much recommend steering clear until at the very least the collective consensus improves considerably.

    David

    1  — July 6, 2020

    Appalling

    I was moved across to TSO by an unhelpful web developer – she turned out to be almost as bad they are. I have had appalling up time in the last two years, they have repeatedly moved my data around altering locations and usernames and even passwords. The multiple domains we had with them were all co-hosted poorly under a single directory and when one was infected they all were, an external cleaning company sorted through mess out and we ported the two main sites to separate hosting. The sites that remain are in an appalling state, I do not have ftp or mail access to them currently waiting for a higher level of support to respond to open tickets after nearly three hours of chat with their support team this morning.

    More than happy for anyone to contact me to discuss but if your business depends on the web, this cannot be a recommendation from me at this time.

    Rob C

    2  — July 3, 2020

    Customer Service Getting Worse

    TSOHost of today is nothing like Vidahost when it started, and has become noticeably worse since the more recent takeover by GoDaddy. The packages they provide are competitive and of a reasonable standard, but downtime seems to be a more frequent occurrence. However, the aspect that is now really disappointing is customer service. Clearly, the tech support is under-resourced. The answers are usually thorough and competent, but it’s taking a few days to get any sort of response, which is making TSOHost pretty much unviable from a commercial perspective.

    I’ve been a client for over 10 years and I think it’s time to move everything to another host. I wouldn’t recommend TSOHost in its current form.

    Thomas

    1  — June 23, 2020

    Cannot cancel – Removed support

    I was unable to cancel my services auto-renewal. It required me to submit a support ticket to cancel. I did this and it wasn’t actioned.

    I tried to contact support via live chat. It’s no longer available. Temporary issue? Not sure, but it’s forced me to contact Tsohost support via phone. The wait time is 25+ minutes.

    Vidahost always offered excellent service. I was treated well and would recommend them to anyone looking for hosting services. I would not recommend Tsohost to anyone and I will not be using their services again.

    Alex

    1  — June 19, 2020

    Not the same company it was 5 years ago

    For the first few years we used TSO I used to tell everyone about them. Amazing UK based support that was professional and knowledgeable. Then around 3 years ago, tech support was outsourced to Eastern Europe (in itself not an issue) and wait times suddenly appeared. Tickets remained unanswered for over 24 hours.

    Also most issues needed to be ‘passed to next level of technical’ – whereas before you were speaking to technical staff right from the off – no bul**** time wasting tactics that are then claimed to be for your benefit.

    ….And now outages to the control panel, now today no access to webmail. I’m starting to think the money’s all being withdrawn and the company is about to go to the wall.

    OR the owners just dont give a **** and are now just bleeding a once great company of all its assets at the expense of its customers.

    Jon E

    1  — June 14, 2020

    Gone to the dogs….

    Been with Vidahost for some years, but service has declined steadily since TSO took over, and after a totally unannounced disastrous server transfer a couple of months ago down times have been totally unacceptable, and their email servers have been blocked on occasions by the likes of Hotmail, Gmail and Yahoo.

    I am not looking forward to the hassle of changing ISPs – I have better things to do with my time, but the service I am getting at the moment coupled with the standard support response of ‘Buy more/Upgrade to make it better’ is simply not acceptable.

    Support used to be very snappy, accessible and helpful… It is helpful, but much slower now… and much less accessible – You can’t send them a document without raising a ticket…. but you go to raise a ticket and they suggest everything else to try before you raise a ticket….

    Sorry TSO.. unless something miraculous happens in the next few months I’m joining those loyal customers looking for a new ISP.

    michelle d

    1  — June 11, 2020

    Awful to deal with

    I’ve had two websites with Mr. Site who were then bought out by a TSO host. No problems with the websites as they’re both very simple BUT i had an email from TSO host at the beginning of the month saying they were deactivating all Mr Site websites on the 30th June. Not much notice. And not much help either. I contacted them the same day I had the email to find out what we can do. So far i’ve had a phone conversation with a girl who did not understand what my problem was and two standard emails which were no help at all. I’m still no further forward and face losing both my sites and the associated email which runs from the domain name and without which I’m utterly stuffed. And this at a time when self employed businesses like mine are really struggling due to Covid 19 restrictions. I struggle to think of a worse time they could have chosen to do this. Really really unhappy. Very unimpressed with TSO host. especially as this comes about a month after i renewed both sites, they happily took the money then chucked my custom in a ditch. Cheers guys.

    Matt

    1  — June 4, 2020

    Has got completely rubbish

    I read all the reviews about them being awful – but I’ve maintained some products with them for 8 years, the legacy cloud hosting – this platform is good but they no longer offer it.

    Cpanel hosting is crap. CRAP. I read all the reviews saying it was and I still bought it as I had faith everyone had been unlucky – but that’s not the case. I am currently trying to build a new website on the cpanel hosting, which I bought on the 3/6/2020 – all day today I’ve been fighting against wordpress timing out, and now I cannot access my site at all.

    Trying to get in touch with support and I’m number 39 in the queue, so I’m guessing a lot of sites are down at the moment.

    save your money and go to literally any other hosting provider.

    Steve

    1  — May 26, 2020

    Terrible

    TSO has become really awful in the last 12 months or so. I host about 100 sites with them and they keep going down, email gets blocked, support has become terrible (they keep asking for more money rather than fix the issue).

    Support often have no idea – they just paste in the same replies over and over into the live chat.

    They used to be good – I’ve been with them for about 6 years.

    They are now truly appalling. Avoid!

    Any G

    1  — May 24, 2020

    Awful service, shocking in fact

    It’s time to move on. Originally vidahost, then TSOhost, service has been on the decline for a while. 2 hours wait to be told we can’t guarantee uptime on shared servers with the only solution to pay a fortune for a dedicated server is atrocious. I’ve spent thousands with this company, wish I’d stayed with Netcetera now.

    I’m done with being fobbed off and fed BS. My advice is find anyone else to host your site if you want it to be up and running that is. If you like shocking support and your website down, for hours on end, this is the company to go with !

    Andreas

    1  — May 13, 2020

    Rubbish

    Tsohost is quite possibly the worst host I have used in my 20 years as a web developer. I was originally with Vidahost, who were great, they were bought out by Tsohost, who have now been bought out by GoDaddy. I have their Cloud hosting, which is constantly going down, slow performance, and which they are now not selling anymore, so there is no maintenance and my websites are left to rot. Every week I have to move sites to Siteground, who I thoroughly recommend. Forget Tsohost, another GoDaddu buy out disgrace.

    Brian

    1  — May 9, 2020

    Dreadful downtime issues – Avoid

    I look after many websites and so have quite a lot of different experiences with different hosting companies. The website that uses TSO host has been one that I have looked after since 2010 so I know it well and I also know the website structure well, as I built it.

    I happen to also have another identical build website with identical structure / plugins / but just different text and images HOWEVER hosted by another company, so I can compare the two different services.

    TSO hosts took over from Vida Host and before that the website was originally hosted with Domain Express. However once TSO hosts took over the hosting the number of periods of downtime shot through the roof, I have an uptime monitor on all my websites and this alerts me whenever a site goes down and when it comes back up. I began noticing very significant down periods in late 2018 and this continued into early 2019 when I asked TSO hosts to explain what was going on. They gave all sorts of excuses and offered to move the site onto a newer server. This took them until August 2019 and then for a while things improved. However things have taken a nose dive in the last few months and today May 8th 2020 I reported to them that in the last 24 hours there were 24 periods of down time, some up to 20 minutes,

    I am about to move the hosting to another host.

    I hope that if anyone is wondering about using TSO hosts … they decide to go elsewhere.

    Avoid

    Frederick

    4  — April 29, 2020

    Can’t understand all the negative comments

    I really can’t understand all the negative comments. I have been with them since they were Vidahost and found them to be extremely good and pleasant to deal with. They are all based either in the UK or somewhere in Eastern Europe, perhaps Bulgaria, and their English is excellent. I can certainly build a very good rapport with them than with someone with a sing-song accent somewhere in South Asia, who I generally have difficulty understanding – both linguistically and culturally.

    Admittedly, my site is still in the development phase so I don’t know what my experience will be once it becomes operational

    John

    1  — April 21, 2020

    Used to be good, now terrible

    I joined back in the day when Vidahost ran things – they were excellent. Things took a nose dive when tso took over. Site performance is very poor and their attitude to customer service is too, I am actively seeking alternatives and will not renew my contracts with them again

    They appeared to program a major server migration ahead of the covid 19 pandemic, obviously prior to any knowledge about the problems about to hit the world. What i could not understand is that they went ahead with the migration while the world was shutting down and support teams were severely impacted.

    Required changes to email configurations were issued via email that were clearly written for people who knew what they meant: DNS Propagation, SPF record changes etc. hardly customer focused.

    Their live chat was completely shut down and response times via email were about 2 to 3 days.

    I raised the issue of going ahead with the migration during such a volatile time but it went unanswered.

    When your site slows to an unusable speed (quite regularly), when you can get a response from them, its generally a glib, sorry for the inconvenience, we were experiencing high demand – all ok now

    My advice based on my experiences, stay clear

    Jonathan H

    1  — March 29, 2020

    The worst ever host – I kid you not!!!

    I signed up years ago when they were Vidahost. Everything was great for a few years. then I was persuaded to move everything to their “Cloud” platform as it was going to be even better with backups and load sharing and a brilliant new control panel etc.

    The control panel was ok, appeared to be loosely based on cPanel but all the useful stuff had been removed. Impossible to migrate anything to another server as the panel is completely different to anything else.

    Since becoming TSOHost everything has become 100% abysmal! The Cloud service regularly fails, emails don’t get through or addresses are blacklisted, site response times are pathetic and asking the server to parse a simple php script – well suffice to say don’t even try.

    All in all I have wasted weeks with this company over the years phoning, emailing, complaining and guess what.. the only thing that changes is that it just gets worse.

    My advice, take it or leave it is steer well clear if you value your sanity!!!

    Commander Z

    3  — March 10, 2020

    Over 3 years a client and not impressed…

    I’m a Reseller…paying over £100 a month currently on a legacy package price.

    Support Analysis

    Having seen the gradual decline in the standard of customer support (not to be confused with the availability of support channels) over the past 3 years, it’s been sad to identify a trend both in TSO’s and the wider industry’s case – that of out-sourcing and ‘refining’ the way support is provided.

    We all know that out-sourcing is one way to solve financial problems, but it creates a whole new set of problems too. Not only do you suddenly have far-away call-centers but a degree of disconnect between the support person and the core of the business, and in many cases, the client.

    You begin to notice the focus is on stream-lining and cost-reduction, rather than high quality training and inclusive employee support…

    Result? You get support staff not paying enough attention to the detail of what’s being said and no real interest in pursuing, advocating or defending your interests as a client.

    I know this transition has happened because the previous company I was hosted with, was bought out by TSOHost (5Quidhost) – and they offered an exceptional 1 hour support response by email (which was handy but not so secure) or ticket, or you could get on the blower (albeit wait times very variable). TSOHost came in and slowly extracted the useful parts of that support system and replaced it slowly with the very recognisable, generic approach to customer service.

    This meant the friends I had made with those great support guys over years just pretty much disappeared overnight.

    That’s not to say that TSO’s support doesn’t function – the tech team in Latvia or Belarus, or somewhere out that direction, are pretty legit at english, both spoken and written and on presenting my case to one particular support staff member, we did hold quite a good discussion, where he put up some good arguments about the ailing tech – but ultimately, it still felt more like a fight to be heard and respected as a “valued” customer.

    They can get stuff sorted relatively quickly over phone, which is my preferred method, but wait times on chat and phone have all seen recent increases in wait time including 35+ mins, in my own experience.

    TECH

    That wasn’t the end of it, where the relatively high monthly price I paid at 5Quid (carried on by TSO on the same tech and price ever since) came with the only limitation of disk quota, when problems started to crop up about 6 months ago due to technical obsolescence that was occurring as a result of the take-over. The old machines just can’t quite cut the mustard anymore and TSO have invested in brand spanky-new machinery but to migrate my package to a new server and retain my current services, they wanted over £180 a month – a rise of nearly £80 compared to the current price I paid.

    I saw this as a bit of a kick in the teeth to be honest – they hadn’t ‘warned’ me of this impending problem of obsolescence in their server stock, they admitted the older 5Quid servers were harder to handle from a support aspect, but kind of refuted the fact that this ailing tech is really THEIR problem to handle and not mine.

    As it happened, it did become my problem when SQL versions moved on, and the 2011 version wasn’t cutting it and couldn’t be updated (or some such similar technical quandary) and loads of my clients various websites started complaining about it (thanks wordpress et al)

    However, they’ve promised a migration to newer servers in March 2020, which will hopefully put an end to performance problems and updating issues. We’ll see….

    I’ve been looking for better support from a host provider for months and months, and was nearly tempted to migrate fully to 20i, but the grass wasn’t much greener on the other side either.

    Let’s see what the upgrade brings with it, and whether TSO will continue its trend on the support front.