Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

Hosting24 was bootstrapped in 2008 and is a part of the Hostinger web hosting. They provide services for 29 million users in 178 countries.

Hosting24 review

Similar to many other web hosts, their website is chock-full of useful features, including a 99.9% uptime guarantee and a website builder.

We set up a WordPress website with their cheapest shared hosting plan and been closely monitoring uptime and speed, in addition to testing their customer support and performing background checks to compile our results in an unbiased, honest review.

Did Hosting24 perform well enough to get our recommendation?

Read on to find out.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 3.0

SPEED: 706 ms (April 2020 to March 2021)
UPTIME: 98.74% (April 2020 to March 2021)
SUPPORT: Ticketing, Email, Live Chat, and Knowledge Base
APPS: Softaculous App Installer for the Most Popular Apps, Like WordPress, Joomla, and more.
FEATURES: 30 GB Disk Space, 100 GB Bandwidth, One Website, Easy Website Builder, One MySQL Database, One FTP User, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, 99.9% Uptime Guarantee, SSL Certificate, and more.
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, Cloud, VPS, Reseller, WordPress, Email, and cPanel Hosting
SITE TRANSFER: Free
PRICING: Starting at $0.80/mo (renews at $2.15/mo)

Pros of Using Hosting24


Hosting24 throws quite many nice-to-have things.

Take a look:

1. Enhanced Security With Automated Backups

Hosting24 follows up its seemingly customer-centric approach by paying special attention to your site’s security.

Many of their hosting plans come standard with Cloudflare DDOS Protection and the ClamAV antivirus scanner to proactively protect your site.

They’ll also perform weekly backups. In an ideal world, you would have daily backups. Since they’re throwing it in for free, while many other sites force you to pay extra, it’s not a bad deal. We’ll review these backups in more detail soon.

In addition, they also offer SpamAssassin Protection for emails.

2. Numerous Promotional Sales

If you time it right, you might get an incredible deal. For example, at the time of this writing, there was an 80% deal off from web hosting plans.

A quick look at their Facebook Page reveals numerous different sales, usually associated with some holiday.

3. Free Website Transfer(s) and Domain Name

Hosting24 will help you transfer or migrate an existing website — free of charge — if it’s hosted elsewhere. (It’s worth noting that almost every other host we’ve reviewed also offers this perk).

Moreover, you’ll get a free domain name for the 1st year. This, however, applies only for the higher tier plans, starting from the Premium Web Hosting plan (only if you sign up annually).

Still, it’s better than nothing.

4. Good Speed 706 ms

Hosting24 performed rather well with their load times. They clocked in at 706 ms over the past 12 months.

Hosting24 Page Speed Apr. 2020 - Mar. 2021
Hosting24 average speed See stats

Not the best we’ve seen, but not the worst also.

Consider this:

74% of people will leave your site forever if it fails to load within just 5 seconds.

That means speed isn’t just an experience issue. In fact, it has a direct impact on your conversion rates, too, causing site visitors to leave in droves.

Needless to say, one of the most important factors for site speed comes down to the speed of your hosting. There are only so many things you can do if the foundation is faulty.

5. Custom Control Panel (With a cPanel Option)

Hosting24’s backend is easy to browse and very beginner-friendly. From there you can manage your hosting details, domains, servers and check your account details.

hosting24 dashboard

Similar to Hostinger, Hosting24 also uses a custom-made control panel called hPanel. However, if you’re not a fan of it, you can also change it to cPanel, which is the most popular control panel in the hosting industry.

6. 99.9% Uptime Guarantee

An uptime guarantee is something that we always like to see hosts offer. Not only it gives you more confidence using their services, but also the host proves itself to be reliable (in most cases).

Hosting24 includes a 99.9% uptime guarantee in all of their shared hosting plans.

What does it mean to you?

If your uptime falls below 99.9% you’re eligible for a refund of 5% of your monthly hosting fee for that month.

7. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

You can try out Hosting24’s services for a full month. In case you’re not happy and no longer want to continue with them, you’ll get a refund (this applies to all of their hosting plans).

However, there are some exceptions and some products are not available for refund, for example:

  • Domain name renewals
  • Redemption fees
  • SEO Toolkit
  • Privacy protection
  • Google Workspace Email

Moreover, new domain registrations and transfers are refundable only if canceled within the first four days of registration (96 hours).

Cons of Using Hosting24


There are some downsides to consider before committing to Hosting24.

Let’s have a closer look.

1. Poor Uptime (Only 98.74%)

One of the first things you’ll notice when visiting the Hosting24 website is a 99.9%+ uptime boast, so we had high expectations.

Unfortunately, Hosting24 did not keep up with its promise and delivered an average of 98.74% uptime with more than four days of downtime during the past year.

However, if you look at the uptime history, their uptime in most months fluctuated between 99.98-100%, only September, October, December 2020, and March 2021 were poor months and took down the whole average result.

Hosting24 last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
Hosting24 average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • March 2021: 87.51% (not good)
  • February 2021: 99.99%
  • January 2021: 99.99%
  • December 2020: 99.91%
  • November 2020: 99.99%
  • October 2020: 99.90%
  • September 2020: 97.96% (not good)
  • August 2020: 100%
  • July 2020: 99.98%
  • June 2020: 100%
  • May 2020: 99.99%
  • April 2020: 100%

2. Limited and Slow Customer Support

Hosting24 primarily offers support via email, ticketing, knowledge base, and live chat. However, the latter is only available if you’re a registered user and have an account with them.

hosting24 contact support optionsWe logged in to our client area and tested out the live chat. The first thing that we saw when we opened the chat window was that the approximate response time is under an hour – that’s way too long for a live chat (especially considering that Hosting24 promises on their website that the average response time is 50 seconds). So instead of a customer rep, we were connected with a chatbot.

hosting24 live chat

The good thing is that we got a fast, knowledgeable reply to our question and it was backed up with a link. However, if you want to talk to a real person, you have to consider waiting for quite a long time.

3. Limited, Marginally Beneficial Backups (Despite Claims to the Contrary)

Hosting24 advertises their backup feature as a badge of honor on their website. Unfortunately, in our experience, it doesn’t live up to the hype.

Here’s why:

  • They only do weekly backups. Ideally, these should be done daily to make sure you always have a copy ready to restore, in case anything happens.
  • During the weekly backup, they will delete your previous ones. That’s not ideal, because to be on the safe side, it’s always better to have multiple versions. Relying on a single backup could be a problem if there are any random problems or issues that happen.
  • To top it all off, they won’t backup accounts larger than 2GB.

2BG ain’t that big. Especially if your site is highly visual (eCommerce comes to mind). If you don’t properly scale, crop, and compress high-resolution images before uploading them, you could have a single photo take up over 20 MB easily. Multiply that by 10 (or 100) and you’re quickly maxing out.

All in all, don’t believe the hype!

You’re probably better off backing up the site yourself.

4. Cheap Pricing Only Available with Long-Term Plans

Hosting24’s cheapest plan costs only $0.80/month. However, this price only applies when you sign up with them for 48 months.

Want a shorter term?

Then be ready to pay more.

Hosting24 pricing example

The good news is, that the shorter-term prices are still pretty competitive compared to many other hosts we’ve reviewed.

Hosting24 Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of their hosting plans.


Single Plan Premium Plan Business Plan
Pricing $0.80/month
Renews at $2.15/mo
$2.15/month
Renews at $3.49/mo
$3.45/month
Renews at $7.95/mo
Websites 1 100 100
Bandwidth 100GB Unmetered Unmetered
Storage 30 GB 100 GB 200 GB
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • 2x WordPress Optimized Speed
• Free Domain
• 4x WordPress Optimized Speed
• Free Domain
• Daily Backups&SSL Certificate
• Deluxe Live Support

Quick Facts

  • Free domain? Yes, starting from the Premium Plan.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy sign-up process.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Accounts with a single file above 1GB, or with more than 250,000 files, can be terminated without notice to the account owner.
  • Upsells: SSL certificate.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: Custom control panel with cPanel option.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): One-click installation of popular apps and CMSs through Softaculous.

Do We Recommend Hosting24?

Yes and no – they’re just a bit too average.

When you sign up for web hosting, you’re paying for the performance.

Namely, (1) uptime and (2) page loading times.

Hosting24’s uptime was, well, below-average. The best website that’s consistently falling offline, won’t benefit you.

Their page loading times are about that same- just slightly too average. That might become a problem when it comes to generating revenue from your site (as discussed earlier).

There are better hosts out there with more stable uptime, blazing-fast loading times, and fantastic customer support – all at a decent price point.

Best alternatives for Hosting24:


Do you have any experience with Hosting24? Please leave a review below – good or bad – as long as it’s honest and transparent.

11 user reviews for Hosting24

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Ennuyer

    5  — May 11, 2020

    Thank you for being honest!

    Thank you for being honest in your review, i’m using the service of 24 for almost 7-8 years (plan gold) by now and lately I can confirm that its not been the best at all. I’m searching for a new hosting. It’s true that the price is very accessible and before in terms of quality and price it was ok, but now that I need something more professionnel in my work (i’m a digital visual artist – a lot of pictures uploaded) I need a website that charges nicely my portfolio, even is that cost a little bit, I’m searching for new hostings. Maybe 24 hosting could work for really small businesses that are starting with very little budget or first time to try hosting but then I don’t recommend it. (the support service its very very good though)

    Paul C

    2  — May 1, 2020

    Not Very Happy

    I could not just simply upload my own webpage onto the hosting site. I was forced to use a template I didn’t want. Also, when I tried to upload files to its file manager, it gave me an error message and when I looked it up on Google, it referred to information that only a computer guru could understand.

    It is not easy to use, and I wanted a straight forward hosting site where I could easily upload my own website and files, easily edit it on my own computer and then replace the index file through its file manager.

    I basically gave up after spending three hours doing what I should have been able to do in 10 minutes.

    I think it could be made a lot more user friendly.

    MUMBERE A

    5  — March 29, 2018

    Simple and cheap best hosting provider

    I have been using this web hosting provider for over a year now and I have really liked it so much, because their uptime is really good as promised, because I hardly see any down times on my site – something which I like.

    The chat support of hosting providers is also the main factor for me to choose a web hosting provider and I must say that they got a great support team, who are available 24/7. Just click live support and you will instantly be connected to a person.

    Overall I like it.

    Pirkka M

    5  — March 1, 2018

    Why not use Hosting24

    At first I was very skeptical about Hosting24 services, because of the negative comments on the internet, but then I went a little deeper and explored their services. I was very surprised that they’re actually quite good at what they’re doing. Can’t tell that they’re perfect, but still very good, especially for a price like that! Uptime is good, response times are also good, everything is very simple and easy to use. So why not choose Hosting24?

    david k

    4  — January 21, 2018

    Great For the Price

    Hosting24 is much better than your review indicates. For one, the coupon price is always available at approx $24 a year, including a free domain. That’s ideal for small sites, especially personal ones. I moved a WordPress site there from a big-name host, because Hosting24 gave PHP 7.2, where the other was still at 5.6. Hosting24 also provided encrypted URL and weekly backup (which is a good alternative, although I do my own backups). I have three sites there and all three routinely get straight A’s at webpagetest.org. The sites have never been down and are always fast. Customer support is always friendly and helpful, although sometimes slow.

    For $100 a year, I could move to a host with phone support and daily backups, but I don’t need that level of support. If I had a commercial site, those would be mandatory, and Hosting24 may even offer that with their VPS, but I don’t know. Overall, for small sites, you could pay four times as much and receive little, if anything, more.

    Paul M

    1  — January 21, 2018

    Even worse than your review

    They’re far worse than your review.
    Uploading a website, it’s always hit and miss whether it’ll work.
    I’ve purchased another domain and the domain according to them is purchased, but if you try and go to the URL it just doesn’t work.
    I have a bi-monthly issue, where I have to reset my email, password and have had to re-upload my website a couple of times.
    Their customer service is non-existent, claiming to be 24/7/365. You’re incredibly lucky if you actually get in touch with anyone at all. Through chat, messages and emails I don’t get any kind of response.
    Frankly, I’ve never had this poor a service from anyone with anything and would not recommend them to anyone.

    Tanner C

    3  — April 30, 2017

    Insecure password storage

    I’ve been a Hosting24 client since January 2017. The load times are abysmal, but I haven’t noticed much downtime – but that may be due to my use of their hosting services for a professional portfolio rather than a client-facing website.

    My biggest concern is that I forgot my password early on. I reset my password, and they sent me a password reset email. Cool. But either their random password generator is on point, or they’re storing passwords in a way that can be easily decrpyted because my “new password” was one I frequently use.

    Evan

    4  — October 29, 2016

    Not that bad!

    I’m using Hosting24 since 2009. I host more websites and finally I change to a reseller account due the large number of websites I’m hosting on there servers.

    I got some problems, like my sites were down, a couple of times, I contact the support, and I got very fast my problem solved! I have some experience also with other hosting sites, but the proportional between price and quality is much more better with Hosting24! I consider for those prices, services are very good. Maybe when my sites arrive over 1 million visitors per day (!) I’m going to move to another server!

    The only con – I will add, is about domain transfer, not all domains are supported, so I need maybe to move some of my .de domains.

    Alan W

    5  — October 2, 2016

    Better than Hostgator

    I switched to Hosting24 from Hostgator and to tell you the truth this small company has been better than the big well-known Hostgator. My sites loads faster, support is 100 times better and it’s half prize. I read the review about Hosting24 being slow and down alot – I haven’t experienced this at all, I guess it depends on what server you are on.

    Ismael J

    4  — May 16, 2016

    Decent host, could be much better, though

    Hosting24 was offering a good deal that included a domain name and the hosting for about $10/month. It took quite some time for it to process around 24-48 hours. They claimed that if you did not enjoy their service, you can cancel within 30 days and receive your money back, no questions asked. I tried to cancel and they asked for a reason. I told them that I found a better service and they didn’t refund me.

    Dennis P

    2  — April 15, 2016

    Too slow

    I know that Hosting24 also offer free hosting via 00webhost.com which is VERY bad, but hey – it’s FREE!

    Since they heavily suggest Hosting24 – I decided to give it a go. After all, they made my transfer for free which was great as I’m not very computer savvy.

    However, after using them for nearly 6 months I’m thinking of leaving. Page load times is a BIG issue for me and lot of my friends and colleagues who want to access to my blog are often saying that it’s loading way to slowly.