Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

MidPhase is cheap.

Like, four bucks a month cheap.

If life has taught us anything, it’s that something cheap often isn’t good.

We mean, MidPhase must have terrible uptime or spotty customer services like Web Hosting Pad or HostMetro. Right?

MidPhase hosting review

Four dollars doesn’t even cover a cup of coffee these days. How on Earth does it cover the insanely high costs to purchase and run hosting servers. Not to mention rent and employees for their HQ in the beautiful Salt Lake City, Utah.

But MidPhase is not a fly-by-night operation. They’ve been around since ’98, have teams in the UK, Ukraine, and India. Since then, they’ve merged with the UK2 Group in ’07 (who also owns WestHost).

The point is: This isn’t their first rodeo.

We purchased their cheapest shared hosting plan and set up a test site to monitor their uptime and speed over an extended period of time.

How did MidPhase perform?

Read on to find out.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 3.5

SPEED: 939 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME: 99.96% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Ticketing, and Knowledge Base
APPS: Softaculous App Installer for the Most Popular Apps Like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and more
FEATURES: Unlimited Storage and Bandwidth, Free Domain, One Website, Unlimited Emails, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, Nightly Account Backups, and more
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, VPS Cloud, and Dedicated Hosting
SITE TRANSFER: Free
PRICING: Starting at $3.95/mo (renews at $6.95/mo)

Pros of Using MidPhase Hosting


The first thing that comes to mind for $4 hosting, is having to sit on the phone with someone who doesn’t speak your language for three hours while you try to determine why your website’s down – again. Fortunately, that’s not even close to being accurate.

Here’s how MidPhase performed over our 12-month review process.

1. 99.96% Uptime Over 12-Months

During the past 12 months, MidPhase delivered an average uptime of 99.96% with a little over three and a half hours of downtime. In total, they had 21 outages.

That’s a pretty good result and proves MidPhase to be a reliable host.

MidPhase last 12-month uptime and speed
MidPhase average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • January 2021: 99.98%
  • December 2020: 99.99%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 100%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.60%
  • July 2020: 99.99%
  • June 2020: 100%
  • May 2020: 100%
  • April 2020: 99.96%
  • March 2020: 100%
  • February 2020: 100%

2. Responsive Customer Support

MidPhase offers phone support, a ticketing system, and also a live chat option is available 24/7.

We tested out their live chat option to see how responsive MidPhase customer support is.

Their customer rep connected with us within a minute and answered our simple (site migration-related) question quickly.

In the past, we also tested out their ticketing system and also received a fast and knowledgeable reply.

MidPhase live chat

Besides the above-mentioned customer options, you also have a possibility to browse their vast knowledge base.

3. Inexpensive

Did we mention MidPhase is cheap?

A long-term plan with their cheapest shared hosting option comes out to $3.95 per month. (GreenGeeks is similarly priced).

The catch? It’s at least a one-year commitment (which unfortunately is a standard industry trick).

They do offer a true month-to-month plan that starts at $7.95 per month (it’s worth noting that some other hosts require at least a 12-month signup, so this is a decent short-term option).

4. Free Migrations & Transfers

MidPhase bucks a common industry trend by providing free site migration services for all cPanel accounts.

To be honest, this sounded a little too good to be true. Many hosts might provide a single site transfer for zero dollars. But then they’ll charge you dearly for more.

Others will charge you up to $150 to move anything at all.

Not MidPhase, though. It’s nice to see that despite their inexpensive approach, they’re not nickel-and-diming customers to make up for it.

We followed up with their customer service reps to confirm everything. And we’re pleased to announce that they won’t charge more for additional sites, as long as the accounts provide cPanel access.

5. 99.9% Uptime Guarantee

Our MidPhase test showed excellent uptime over the past few years.

That’s no surprise given their commitment to uptime.

They have a Status page on their site that provides real-time updates, as well as any past reports or incidents.

But that’s not the best part.

They also have a “99.9% uptime guarantee” for their hosting packages.

Drop below that threshold and you can ask for an account credit.

However, based on our experience so far, you thankfully won’t need to ask them about this too often.

The lowest monthly uptime figure we’ve seen is 99.98%. And that’s well above the 99.9% minimum they keep.

Cons of Using MidPhase Hosting


Four dollar hosting can’t be all perfect. There are a few drawbacks to consider if you value other hosting features besides saving the most.

1. Slow Average Speed

MidPhase’s uptime is great. Their customer support is attentive.

Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for the page loading times and speed. Our last 12-month analysis showed an average speed of 939 ms.

MidPhase Speed Feb 2020 - Jan 2021
MidPhase average speed See stats

Not terrible, not great either.

But cheap! And almost the quickest for that price range.

If speed is a top priority (which it should be for commercial sites as it affects usability, conversions, and search rankings), you might want to weigh the costs vs. benefits at this point.

2. Unclear Money-Back Guarantee

Many web hosts will offer a standard 30-day money-back guarantee. Some even go so far as to stretch this period to 90 (or 97!) days to make sure that you’re happily satisfied with their service before getting you to commit.

We DID find mentions of a 30-day money-back guarantee for their WordPress and shared hosting plan options. Note that, we didn’t find the same guarantees for many of their other services.

There are also a ton of help desk responses (like this one), confirming that some kind of 30-day refund exists.

They recommend reading their terms for more details, but that’s part of the problem: there isn’t a whole lot of information there, either.

So we think you should be good at 30 days.

Something to consider and possibly ask about if you’re trying to take advantage of that low, long-term rate.

3. Security? Anyone, Anyone? Bueller?

Many web hosts will provide a long list of security apps available with a few simple clicks to lock down your site and keep things secure from nefarious attempts. Some will even go above and beyond, performing preventative maintenance services to make sure you’re A-OK.

We couldn’t find the same support options with MidPhase. Another possibility to consider or inquire about when signing up.

4. High Renewal Pricing (Across All Products)

MidPhase’s $3.95/month sticker price for their Web Hosting Personal package looks pretty good on the surface.

However, if you’ve been in the game as long as we have, you’ll know that advertised pricing usually comes with a few ‘gotchas’ that can come back to haunt you if you’re not careful.

Sadly, MidPhase is no different in this case.

The biggest catch, in this case, is the high renewal cost when your first plan expires. Your price will basically double across the board, no matter which plans you choose.

The Web Hosting Personal one, for example, goes from $3.95/month up to $6.95/month. The Professional plan goes from $4.95/month to $8.95/month, while the Business one also increases from $5.95/month to $10.95/month.

Bummer, right?

Except here’s the thing:

This isn’t even the worst price increase we found.

No, that luxury is reserved for the domain registrations. The first year will cost you $15.99. It’s a little high, but not too bad in the grand scheme of things.

The problem pops up when it’s time for the domain price to renew. Higher-than-usual renewal pricing is fairly common in the hosting space. But it’s not in domains. You pay your annual fee and it almost never changes no matter how long you have it.

MidPhase, on the other hand, will increase your domain price from $15.99/year up to $45.99/year! That’s absurd if we’re being honest.

They’re basically preying on customers, knowing full well that the likelihood of you wanting to move your domain or hosting after the first year is slim-to-none. So they’re taking advantage of the ‘switching costs’ to price gouge you.

Call us crazy, but we’re not huge fans of business practices that are designed to specifically punish good, loyal customers.

MidPhase Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here is a quick overview of MidPhase hosting plans to help to determine if they are a good fit for you:


Personal Plan Professional Plan Business Plan
Pricing $3.95/month
Renews at $6.95/mo
$4.95/month
Renews at $8.95/mo
$5.95/month
Renews at $10.95/mo
Websites 1 3 Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • 1 Subdomain • 5 Subdomains • Unlimited Subdomains
• Free SSL Security
• Free Dedicated IP

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: Yes, with all plans.
  • Ease of Signup: Friendly and easy to use three-step signup process.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: There’s a limit of 200,000 files and 10GB cumulative database size on all shared hosting accounts. Exceeding this limit may result in the termination of your account.
  • Upsells: Lots of upsells. Not fun.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs with Softaculous.

Do We Recommend MidPhase?

Yes. But there are some better options available.

There are serious questions to consider prior to signing up with MidPhase. Primarily – speed. But also the money-back guarantee and security features.

Despite that, if you’re looking for a quick, cheap option with good uptime and support, MidPhase might be worth a roll of the dice.

Best alternatives for MidPhase:


Have you used MidPhase? Please leave your MidPhase review based on your experience – positive or negative – to help us provide honest and transparent reviews.

8 user reviews for MidPhase

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Sam

    3  — January 16, 2021

    Used to be great

    I’ve been with Midphase for a long, long time, before they were bought by UK2 in 2007. The service was fantastic until then, and it’s gone rapidly downhill since. I have one of the more complete packages – shell access, free domain, SSL cert – and the quality of the support is poorer and they’re less flexible (e.g., I used to be able to ask them to install emacs on my server, but no longer – it’s all stock installs at my price point and I don’t have root). I’m repeatedly tempted to move on – the cost isn’t bad at all for what I’m doing (hosting my own site plus a two sites for my spouse, both with WordPress and other features), but I’m more and more disappointed with the quality. The problem, as always, is that you never know how crappy something is until you’ve used it for a while, and I’m hesitant to move on knowing that imbeciles like UK2 might buy whatever next great service I find.

    Mike W

    1  — October 19, 2020

    Awful. Just awful

    So many hours lost. So much down time. So much pathetic support. I can’t believe I stuck with them for so long. Even as I am trying to move to another service, I get errors with my sites not loading admin dashboards. I swear they have been trying to get rid of me and now that I comply and want to finally leave, they can’t debug enough for me to even do that! Outsourced support to mass support agents in India who don’t care. Constant headaches with not being able to get in to fulfill orders or edit the site. Dashboard is slower than tar in winter!

    Mike W

    2  — October 6, 2020

    Lots of Headaches-sub-par Support

    I’ve been with them for years and finally have decided enough is enough. I haven’t wanted to move and felt trapped due to worries about transferring to another host and rankings and all that but the pain of terrible support has finally pushed me over the edge. Down time -My site has been down on multiple occasions with not even an apology from their support staff. Terrible support -They have repeatedly ignored my questions or given me bad advice, in poor English and then ended the chat! It simply isn’t worth the price at any price to have such terrible support and horrible uptime. Looking elsewhere to get a host that will actually care and offer speed and uptime.

    Ruth B

    5  — December 7, 2016

    Price increase

    I don’t use them, but found as of December 2016 their lowest price is $3.48/month.
    I have an older website and I’m not sure where to park it, so am considering mmy options.
    Currently with Bluehost whose prices went up.

    Kayode

    3  — September 26, 2016

    Try only if you on a budget

    I’ve been with them for about 5 years (originally AnHosting then acquired by Midphase)… I think the review is being generous with how bad their load times are, it’s the single reason I am leaving (and why I came to this website). Another thing I struggled with them is my emails were constantly getting bounced back because their IP addresses were blacklisted, I was constantly been uphold a dedicated IP address.

    They have very helpful staff but unfortunately as a business I need reliability and speed.

    Pam

    3  — August 29, 2016

    2 or 3 year commitment involved

    MidPhase is cheap indeed, but it only comes with a 2 or 3 year commitment. It’s a shame that it’s not possible to pay monthly. Otherwise it would’ve been to good to be true.

    Allen K

    4  — June 28, 2016

    Just signed up

    I like it so far. Getting started was a bit of a hassle and may be a turn off to new people. But that sweet price? Sold.

    Daniel P

    5  — April 28, 2016

    Recommending MidPhase for my clients

    Since I’m a web developer and one of my day-to-day tasks are also helping clients to find an affordable web hosting provider – I’ve lately started to recommend them using MidPhase.

    When customer approaches me, I’ve usually two questions:
    A) Do you want a fast, reliable & expensive host?
    or..
    B) Do you want the cheapest solution?

    Many of them quickly reply, saying something along the lines “Is there something that is a bit of this and that?”… and in my opinion – MidPhase truly is it.

    It’s cheap, but at the same time it’s reliable, providing an uptime of 100% which is something hard to compete with. Even Dreamhost fails to meet it, tough it’s recommended by a ton of web developers.

    In short – my vote goes for MidPhase.