Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

MidPhase is cheap.

Like, one-buck-a-month cheap. If life has taught us anything, it’s that something cheap often isn’t good.

MidPhase hosting review

One dollar doesn’t even cover a cup of coffee. How on Earth does it cover the insanely high costs to purchase and run hosting servers. Not to mention rent and employees for their HQ in the beautiful Salt Lake City, Utah.

But MidPhase is not a fly-by-night operation. They’ve been around since 1998, have teams in the UK, Ukraine, and India. Since then, they’ve merged with the UK2 Group in 2007 (who also owns WestHost).

The point is: This isn’t their first rodeo.

We purchased their cheapest shared hosting plan and set up a test site to monitor their uptime and speed over an extended period of time.

How did MidPhase perform?

Read on to find out.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 3.5

SPEED: 754 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.93% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Ticketing, and Knowledge Base
APPS:Softaculous App Installer for the Most Popular Apps Like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and more
FEATURES:Unlimited Storage and Bandwidth, Free Domain, One Website, Unlimited Emails, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, Nightly Account Backups, and more
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, VPS Cloud, and Dedicated Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Not Available (Only manual, do-it-yourself option available)
PRICING: Starting at $1.00/mo (renews at $5.00/mo)

Pros of Using MidPhase Hosting


MidPhase started out strong, delivering solid uptime and quick customer support.

Let’s take a closer look at other perks MidPhase has going on for them.

1. 99.93% Uptime Over 12-Months

During the past 12 months, MidPhase delivered an average uptime of 99.93% with a bit more than six hours of downtime. In total, they had 56 outages.

MidPhase had two poor months where the uptime was below-average (August 2020 and February 2021) but during the rest of 10 months, their uptime fluctuated between 99.94%-100%.

MidPhase last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
MidPhase average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • July 2021: 99.94%
  • June 2021: 99.97%
  • May 2021: 99.98%
  • April 2021: 100%
  • March 2021: 100%
  • February 2021: 99.68%
  • January 2021: 99.98%
  • December 2020: 99.99%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 100%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.60%

That’s an industry-standard result and proves MidPhase to be a reliable host.

2. Good Average Speed

MidPhase’s uptime is great.

But what about their speed?

Our last 12-month analysis showed an average speed of 754 ms (which falls below the industry-standard 850 ms).

MidPhase average speed data
MidPhase average speed | See stats

What’s even better is that MidPhase’s speed has been gradually going faster month-to-month and that gives us hope to see even better results in near future.

3. Responsive Customer Support

MidPhase offers phone support, a ticketing system, and also a live chat option that is available 24/7.

We tested out their live chat option to see how responsive MidPhase customer support is.

Their customer rep connected with us within a minute and answered our simple (site migration-related) question quickly.

In the past, we also tested out their ticketing system and also received a fast and knowledgeable reply.

MidPhase live chat

Besides the above-mentioned customer options, you also have the possibility to browse their vast knowledge base.

4. Inexpensive

Did we mention MidPhase is cheap?

A long-term plan with their cheapest shared hosting option comes out to $1.00 per month.

The catch?

It’s only valid for one month. After that, the packages renew at the standard cost.

MidPhase renewal prices

5. 99.9% Uptime Guarantee

Our MidPhase test showed excellent uptime over the past few years. However, this might always not be the case and uptime can vary.

That’s why it’s good to have some sort of guarantee that will protect you if the uptime drops too much and affects your website’s traffic.

That’s exactly what MidPhase offers – a 99.9% uptime guarantee” included in their hosting packages.

Drop below that threshold and you can ask for an account credit.

However, based on our experience so far, you thankfully won’t need to ask them about this too often.

6. Beginner-Friendly Control Panel

MidPhase’s client area is logical and easy to use. From the left sidebar, you can access your account settings, domains, WordPress, website builder. On the main screen, you can also see your active hosting packages and contact support if necessary.

MidPhase client area

What concerns the control panel, then MidPhase uses cPanel which you can access also from the client area.

cPanel is no doubt the most popular control panel in the hosting industry and for a good reason – it’s very beginner-friendly. Everything hosting-related is easy to find (also search bar is included to make it even easier for you).

MidPhase cPanel

Cons of Using MidPhase Hosting


One dollar hosting can’t be all perfect. There are a few drawbacks to consider if you value other hosting features besides saving the most.

Let’s start with security.

1. Lack of Security Options in Their Cheapest Plan

Many web hosts will provide a long list of security apps available with a few simple clicks to lock down your site and keep things secure from nefarious attempts. Some will even go above and beyond, performing preventative maintenance services to make sure you’re OK.

And what’s even better?

Most of these features are offered for free.

MidPhase, however, is not that generous. For example, Dedicated SSL Certificate, which’s basically a must-have option to have on a website, would have to be purchased for an extra cost of $34.99/year. You’ll only get it for free if you sign up with their most expensive plan.

The same goes for Dedicated IP Address and Stats2 Web Analytics – if you want these, be ready to pay $5.00/month and $2.00/month respectively.

2. Site Migrations Not Included

Free site migration is something a lot of hosts include in their plans. Even, if it’s not free, hosts usually offer at least a paid website transfer service that would be done by their professionals.

That’s something that can save a lot of time and hassle.

Unfortunately, that’s not the case with MidPhase. Site Migrations (neither free nor paid) are not included in their hosting plans. This means, that if you already have an existing website and you want to transfer over to MidPhase, you’d have to do all the heavy lifting yourself.

Sure, if you’re already an old-timer in the hosting world it shouldn’t be a problem, but if you’re not very tech-savvy the whole process can be a bit overwhelming.

3. High Renewal Pricing (Across All Products)

MidPhase’s $1.00/month sticker price for their Web Hosting Personal package looks pretty good on the surface.

However, if you’ve been in the game as long as we have, you’ll know that advertised pricing usually comes with a few ‘gotchas’ that can come back to haunt you if you’re not careful.

Sadly, MidPhase is no different in this case.

The biggest catch, in this case, is the high renewal cost when your first plan expires. Your price will basically become multiple times more expensive.

The Starter Plan, for example, goes from $1.00/month up to $5.00/month. The Pro Plan goes from $1.00/month to $7.00/month, while the Enterprise Plan also increases from $1.00/month to $9.00/month.

If you’re on a tight budget, it’s definitely something to look out for.

MidPhase Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here is a quick overview of MidPhase hosting plans to help to determine if they are a good fit for you:


Starter PlanPro PlanEnterprise Plan
Pricing $1.00/month
Renews at $5.00/mo
$2.00/month
Renews at $7.00/mo
$3.00/month
Renews at $9.00/mo
Websites10UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
StorageUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 5 MySQL Databases•10 MySQL Databases•Unlimited MySQL Databases

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: Yes, with all plans.
  • Ease of Signup: Friendly and easy-to-use three-step signup process.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: All Major credit cards, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: There’s a limit of 200,000 files and 10GB cumulative database size on all shared hosting accounts. Exceeding this limit may result in the termination of your account.
  • Upsells: Lots of upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs with Softaculous.

Do We Recommend MidPhase?

Yes. But there are some better options available.

There are serious questions to consider prior to signing up with MidPhase. Primarily the lack of security features and high renewal prices.

Despite that, if you’re looking for a quick, cheap option with good uptime, speed, and support, MidPhase might be worth a roll of the dice.

Best alternatives for MidPhase:

Have you used MidPhase? Please leave your MidPhase review based on your experience – positive or negative – to help us provide honest and transparent reviews.

5 user reviews for MidPhase

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Joe

    1  — September 13, 2021

    Careful with free domain

    I’ve been a midphase customer for 20 years without any major problems (other than the ones mentioned in previous reviews below). This time they simply didn’t renew the “free domain name” and it got snapped off the market. I can’t get it back. Do not trust them with your valuable domain name. They try to blame me for ignoring the “your domain name is about to expire” emails. I’ve been receiving these emails every year (over 20 years) for all sorts of services: domain name, ip address, etc. and at the end the service gets renewed and I don’t have to do anything.  Only this time they have not done it. All following emails never reached me, guess why, because they use the main domain name for customer communications. So my domain name expired and I was blissfully unaware of it.

    I complained and I’m still waiting for a satisfactory reply, so far only silence.

    Of all the things they can do to you, I can’t think of any more severe and with wider implications than this.

    Looking for alternatives now.

    Mike W

    2  — October 6, 2020

    Lots of Headaches-sub-par Support

    I’ve been with them for years and finally have decided enough is enough. I haven’t wanted to move and felt trapped due to worries about transferring to another host and rankings and all that but the pain of terrible support has finally pushed me over the edge. Down time -My site has been down on multiple occasions with not even an apology from their support staff. Terrible support -They have repeatedly ignored my questions or given me bad advice, in poor English and then ended the chat! It simply isn’t worth the price at any price to have such terrible support and horrible uptime. Looking elsewhere to get a host that will actually care and offer speed and uptime.

    Kayode

    3  — September 26, 2016

    Try only if you on a budget

    I’ve been with them for about 5 years (originally AnHosting then acquired by Midphase)… I think the review is being generous with how bad their load times are, it’s the single reason I am leaving (and why I came to this website). Another thing I struggled with them is my emails were constantly getting bounced back because their IP addresses were blacklisted, I was constantly been uphold a dedicated IP address.

    They have very helpful staff but unfortunately as a business I need reliability and speed.

    Pam

    3  — August 29, 2016

    2 or 3 year commitment involved

    MidPhase is cheap indeed, but it only comes with a 2 or 3 year commitment. It’s a shame that it’s not possible to pay monthly. Otherwise it would’ve been to good to be true.

    Daniel P

    5  — April 28, 2016

    Recommending MidPhase for my clients

    Since I’m a web developer and one of my day-to-day tasks are also helping clients to find an affordable web hosting provider – I’ve lately started to recommend them using MidPhase.

    When customer approaches me, I’ve usually two questions:
    A) Do you want a fast, reliable & expensive host?
    or..
    B) Do you want the cheapest solution?

    Many of them quickly reply, saying something along the lines “Is there something that is a bit of this and that?”… and in my opinion – MidPhase truly is it.

    It’s cheap, but at the same time it’s reliable, providing an uptime of 100% which is something hard to compete with. Even Dreamhost fails to meet it, tough it’s recommended by a ton of web developers.

    In short – my vote goes for MidPhase.