Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

MDDHosting is a small, private hosting company founded fairly recently in 2007.

Their claims to fame?

MDDHosting review

Speed and service. The ‘meat and potatoes’ of web hosting. Their straightforward approach seems refreshingly honest in an industry that can be – well – less so.

It also reflects their down-to-earth, Mid-Western roots (started and headquartered in Indiana, with data centers in Denver, Colorado.)

We’re always on the lookout for the diamond in the rough; new hosting companies that offer a different or better approach than the old industry stalwarts.

MDDHosting looks like a perfect candidate.

We purchased MDDHosting’s ‘Basic Plan’ and set up a WordPress website to begin running tests for the eventual unbiased review you’re reading now.

Let’s dig in.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.0

SPEED: 611 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.97% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:Live Chat, Phone, Ticketing, and Knowledge Base
APPS:Softaculous App Installer for the Most Popular Apps Like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and more.
FEATURES:Unlimited Domains and Bandwidth, 10 GB Storage, Unlimited Email Accounts, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, 1000% Uptime Guarantee, Daily Offsite Backup, Free SSL Certificate, Site Builder, Unlimited MySQL Databases, and more.
HOSTING PLANS:Cloud, VPS, and Reseller Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Free
PRICING: Starting at $4.00/mo (no higher renewal price)

Pros of Using MDDHosting


Most hosting companies sell the same service (more or less). Some throw in a few extras, but the big three of uptime, speed, and customer support are primarily what you’re buying.

If a web hosting company falls short in any one of these areas, there’s an issue. Two or more – run!

Fortunately, MDDHosting passes all three with flying colors.

1. Decent Page Load Time (611 ms)

First up – speed. This is where MDDHosting has been pretty good for the last 12 months.

During our testing period, they put up an average page load time of 611 ms. 

MDDHosting average speed data
MDDHosting average speed | See stats

It’s not the fastest speed we’ve seen, but still good enough to get a thumbs up from us.

2. Good Uptime 99.97%

Over a 12-month period, we tracked MDDHosting’s uptime for our site to make sure things ran smoothly (and that there weren’t any hiccups).

Industry-standard comes out to around 99.93% uptime, and MDDHosting’s 12-month overall was a solid 99.97% with 17 outages.

What’s even better news?

MDDHosting has been showing very good results almost every month (except June 2021) which makes them a reliable host.

MDDHosting last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
MDDHosting average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • July 2021: 100%
  • June 2021: 99.75%
  • May 2021: 100%
  • April 2021: 99.99%
  • March 2021: 100%
  • February 2021: 100%
  • January 2021: 99.95%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 100%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 100%

3. Quick, Efficient Support

MDDHosting provides standard 24/7/365 customer support through phone, ticketing, and also live chat.

During our review processes, the customer rep responded to our live chat query in less than a minute and was overall knowledgeable.

MDDHosting live chatOnce again they perform well in one of the ‘big three’, providing quick, efficient support that’s good enough for an 8/10 at the very least.

MDDHosting also has a vast knowledge base.

4. Straightforward Hosting

WYSIWYG.

No hidden fees. No pricing tricks where you have to sign away the next 35 years of your life for the low advertised website price. And no games with limiting standard features force you to accept the more expensive plans.

Sure, there is some space and storage limitation for lesser plans. Otherwise, you get all of the same features that the more expensive ones offer.

For example, even with their basic plan, you get unlimited:

  • Addon domains
  • Subdomains
  • Databases
  • Emails
  • FTP accounts

You want to pay for just a single month, as opposed to a full year (or more)? Sure, you can go ahead and do that. The annual discount isn’t that big either; therefore you’re not missing out on much.

5. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

MDDHosting offers an unconditional, hassle-free 30-day money-back guarantee with most of their plans. Nothing special like 90 or even 97 days, but not bad either.

6. Free Migrations for cPanel Sites

Some web hosts we’ve reviewed will charge you for every site migration. That’s right: they’re basically charging you extra for bringing your business to them.

Others will offer to move a single site over to their servers for free. But if you want to bring any additional ones over, they’ll charge you extra.

We’re happy to report that MDDHosting does neither. According to their terms, they’ll help move any of your sites over to their data centers for free. There’s also no limit, so you can move two, five, or ten, and not be charged extra.

There are only two caveats:

  • The first is that you need to ask within the first 60 days. That seems pretty obvious, though, so no big deal. After that, it’ll cost $10 per site.
  • The other potential issue is that these free site migrations are only available for accounts with cPanel. If you’re trying to move sites without cPanel access, then it’ll cost $25 per site or account after that.

The silver lining is that these policies are fairly common. Most cPanel-friendly hosts can move these files faster and easier than other custom configurations that don’t match with their own server setup.

7. No Renewal Price Hikes

MDDHosting bucks another common industry price trick that ends up catching customers by surprise.

Many hosts will advertise a shockingly low rate on their site.

Naturally, people are drawn in with what looks like an amazing value. And it is if you sign up for usually at least three years to lock-in that low rate.

However, the other common issue is that when this introductory plan expires, you’re often left with a “renewal rate” that can be anywhere from 2-3x the initial price you paid.

Thankfully, MDDHosting doesn’t do that. So whatever price you pay when moving to them is the price you’ll pay when your initial plan expires, too. There’s no surprising price increase in two-to-three years’ time.

8. “1000%” Uptime Guarantee

MDDHosting features a “1000% Uptime Guarantee” in their Terms.

What exactly does that mean?

It means for every single hour of downtime, “you can request 10 times (1000%) the actual amount of downtime.”

In other words, one hour of downtime gets you ten hours of credit.

MDDHosting uptime guaranteeThe catch is that you need to email their billing department (billing@MDDHosting.com) within seven days of the downtime.

Similar to other uptime guarantees, this only applies to actual downtime for internal issues or mistakes.

Extraordinary circumstances or regular maintenance downtime are not included.

And this guarantee only applies to their shared and reseller hosting accounts.

Cons of Using MDDHosting


Everything good comes at a price. With MDDhosting, one of their ‘cons’ is just that.

Let’s have a closer look.

1. Additional Costs for Extra Services

MDDHosting’s basic plans are a pretty good value. However, anything ‘above and beyond’ the normal hosting plan features will cost you a little something on top.

For instance, MDDHosting doesn’t throw in a free domain name for the first year. Instead, it’ll cost you $14.99/year if you need a new one.

There are also tiny price increases if you sign up for a shorter one or two-year deal as well. So prepaying for an extra year or two can often save you a few dollars each month (which could add up to a hundred bucks off the overall plan price).

Even though MDDHosting offers a lot of helpful extra security features for free (SiteLock Website Security, SSH/sFTP access), for some you’d still have to pay.

For example, CodeGuard Website Backup’s cheapest 1GB Lite option would cost you an extra $22.49/triennially and if you want to add SpamExperts Email Security, you’d have to pay $107.64/triennially.

MDDHosting Codeguard pricing

So while it’s nice that they offer them, when you start adding everything up, the value-per-dollar doesn’t look so great. And you might just be better off paying a little more each month for something that includes all of these features from the get-go.

MDDHosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

MDDHosting offers several hosting plans. Here’s an overview of the first three cheapest options (if you sign up with their triannual plan):


Cloud Starter PlanCloud 1 PlanCloud 2 Plan
Pricing$4.00/month$7.00/month$14.00/month
WebsitesUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Storage10 GBUnmeteredUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 0.5 Core CPU
•0.5GB RAM
• 1 Core CPU
•1GB RAM
• 2 Core CPU
•2GB RAM

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: No.
  • Ease of Signup: Very lengthy signup process.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, Paypal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: By signing up, you agree that they have the right to change the monthly payment amount and other charges at any time. You must not use more than 25 percent of system resources for longer than 120 seconds or you risk account termination (kinda standard among the industry).
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs with Softaculous.
  • Other Features: Free SSL security and SiteLock Site, daily offsite backup

Do We Recommend MDDHosting?

Yes, we kinda recommend them (but there are still better options out there).

MDDHosting is relatively new to the hosting game. So far, they’ve put up solid uptime numbers, decent page loading times, and great customer support.

Even though they have come down with their price, there are still many less expensive options out there if you’re just looking for a simple hobby or a personal site.

Otherwise, despite being one of the most expensive shared hosting options available, you’ll probably get your money’s worth if you take advantage of all the ‘unlimited’ options that even their Starter plan comes fully loaded with.

Best alternatives for MDD Hosting:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


Have you used MDDHosting? We’d love to hear about your experience – good or bad – as long as it’s honest and transparent. You can leave your MDDHosting review below.

4 user reviews for MDDHosting

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    KL

    5  — August 19, 2021

    Tried the others – Found the best!

    Tried previously web-hosting companies offering free to discount pricing and avg. to average+ customer service. None were able to maintain pricing or customer service. In 2018 I found a reasonably priced web-hosting company MDDHosting and have never looked elsewhere. GREAT customer service, many add-ons and continuous fair pricing with MDDHosting. The best available and highly rated by me.

    Kenny

    5  — November 14, 2017

    Superb speed and service, decent uptime

    I have been with with MDD for a couple of years. Help service is not just very fast, but inevitably polite and knowledgeable. I have never had to go beyond first level of service to get the help I need. Speed is awesome. LiteSpeed server is fast on it’s own but MDD makes server-side caching available for free to all users – it blows other caching systems away. Uptime is usually good, not great. September was a nightmare with all shared and reseller sites down for three to five days after the entire data center was destroyed by a typo (yes, a typo!). But even before September uptime was less than elite. If Michael and his team can solve that one glitch – and I think they will with lessons learned from the September debacle – MDD will be as good as it gets for relatively low-cost shared and reseller hosting. They are already my favorite of the eight hosts I have tried over the years.

    Obasi M

    5  — March 20, 2016

    gem

    MDD Hosting is our last bus stop. We have used so many popular hosting companies that promised so much but delivered very little.

    Our last experience with a EIG-owned hosting company prompted us to narrow down our search to MDD hosting and Squidix. We went for the shared server for one of our websites (low traffic) and premium for our primary website. Honestly, we can’t different the performance of the shared server from the semi-dedicated server because both of them are simply awesome. We receive almost instant (about 3 minutes) email support each time we submit a ticket and haven’t noticed a single down-time yet.

    The pricing is a bit on the high side bit its really a value for the money. We can easily recommend these guys to anyone in search of a rock-solid hosting company with really solid infrastructure.

    Annalisa G

    5  — March 3, 2016

    Flawless service

    I’ve been hosting with MDDHosting shared hosting since October 2014, and I can describe my experience in one word: flawless; aside from some minor hiccups – a very short outage due to hardware upgrade and the usual scheduled maintenances – my blog on MDDHosting has always been up, fast and I’ve never had a single reason to contact support…because I haven’t had a single issue.

    I definitely recommend MDDHosting hands down; while the prices may be a little more expensive than other shared hosts, the extremely high quality of the service is worth every single penny you spend.