Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

Web Hosting Hub aims to provide affordable shared hosting to small businesses.

Founded in 2010, they’re owned by the conglomerate InMotion Hosting. Web Hosting Hub is headquartered in Virginia Beach, VA, and they have two U.S. data centers – on the west and east coast.

webhostinghub hosting reviewTheir 200+ U.S.-based team services over 40,000 customers, providing a simple platform to help you start, run and grow a new website.

Web Hosting Hub also uses solid-state drives on all plans, which (as claimed) can deliver up to 20x faster than more traditional mechanical hard drives used by the competition.

20x is a bold promise. Do they back it up?

To find out, we set up a new basic WordPress website on the Web Hosting Hub ‘Personal Web Hosting Plan’ and monitored their uptime and speed.

Let’s dig in.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 3.5

SPEED: 993 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.97% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Email, Skype, and Knowledge Base
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, PrestaShop, Magento, OpenCart, and more.
FEATURES:Unmetered Bandwidth, Emails, and Storage, Free Domain 1st Year, Free Private SSL, Free Website Builder, 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee, More than 400 1-Click Applications
HOSTING PLANS:Shared and WordPress Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Free
PRICING: Starting at $5.99/mo (renews at $11.99/mo)

Pros of Using Web Hosting Hub Hosting


Web Hosting Hub boasts incredibly fast speeds due to its state-of-the-art technology at an affordable cost.

Does the data live up to the hype?

Let’s take a look at where they perform admirably.

1. Good Customer Support

Fast page loads and uptime are equally important because site visitors will leave in droves if your site takes longer than a few seconds to load or doesn’t respond at all.

But customer support can be a deal killer if issues aren’t addressed or fixed quickly.

Web Hosting Hub offers several customer support options: live chat, phone, Skype, and they also have a knowledge base.

We tested out their live chat option and asked a few simple questions about their shared hosting plans. We waited approximately 10 minutes to get connected with the customer rep – not the fastest but still quick enough to have our attention and not go looking for answers elsewhere.

Web Hosting Hub live chat

Overall the customer rep was polite and gave knowledgeable replies.

2. Easy Website/Blog Setup

Web Hosting Hub features a simplified, quick signup process that might be the best we’ve seen after reviewing many other web hosts.

It’s so easy that even the least technical person you know could figure it out.

On their signup page, you can select to install WordPress as your website/blog content management system or Prestashop for eCommerce. After a simple click, they take care of all the heavy lifting and will configure everything for you.

Web Hosting Hub easy setup

3. Free Domain Name & Site Migration

Do you have a website hosted somewhere else?

No problem! Web Hosting Hub will transfer up to three websites and databases for you (assuming they don’t exceed 5GB). Another added bonus includes their ‘zero downtime’ promise during this process.

Starting up a new site? They’ll throw in a free domain name to sweeten the deal.

4. Solid State Hard Drives

Web Hosting Hub likes to boast that every site they host takes advantage of new solid-state hard drives. These ‘SSD drives, according to themselves, can deliver 20 times faster results than normal (mechanical) hard drives used by some of the competition.

5. 90-Days Money-Back Guarantee

You can always tell which companies stand behind their service by looking at their refund policies.

Web Hosting Hub is a big believer, offering a full 90-day money-back guarantee (one of the few offers with an extended term).

That means if you’re considering giving them a chance, you have an almost risk-free chance to ‘test drive’ their services for a full three months.

Or, just about as long as the time it takes to completely forget where you’ve hosted your site in the first place.

That’s great news if you’re worried about committing to a web host only to find out later that you dislike their services and features.

According to Web Hosting Hub’s Terms of Service, there are a few nonrefundable fees that may apply, though.

Fees paid by a subscriber, like purchasing SSL certificates, domain privacy, or domain names are nonrefundable.

If a subscriber registers a domain name through Web Hosting Hub as part of a “Free Domain Name” promotion, they will have to pay $15.99 per year for the domain, plus a $5.00 administrative fee.

That means that they will deduct a total of $20.99 from your total refund amount, which is pretty standard when compared to most competitors.

However, you’ll retain complete ownership of your domain name(s), and you can transfer them to an alternative host after canceling your subscription with Web Hosting Hub.

6. They’re Environmentally Friendly

While we weren’t able to find any certifications for Web Hosting Hub from the EPA that prove that it’s a green web host, they do have several eco-friendly policies.

Since 2010, the company has claimed to make efforts to reduce waste, recycle as often as possible, and use fewer paper products.

Web Hosting Hub has an energy-efficient data center, and they believe that reducing energy usage is better than simply offsetting it.

The company opened up the first-ever green data center in Los Angeles, CA by using advanced Outside Air Cooling technology.

They’ve cut their cooling costs by 70% by switching to this cooling method, and they also claim to have reduced their carbon output by over 2,000 tons per year.

Outside Air Cooling vents hot air out of the building to bring cooler air in, only cooking it through the CRAC units when it’s necessary due to high temperatures or humidity.

Traditional data centers run Computer Room Air Conditioners, also known as CRACs, 24/7. This method allows for hot air to be cooled and then recirculated, but it burns more energy than needed.

If you’re concerned about reducing your carbon footprint or you’re looking to work with brands who care about the environment, consider Web Hosting Hub.

They may not be as green as other sites, like Green Geeks, but they’re still making innovative waves when it comes to being energy efficient.

7. Good Uptime

Our 12-month testing process revealed that Web Hosting Hub has an average uptime of around 99.97% with more than two hours of downtime.

That’s pretty good and means that you can rely on Web Hosting Hub to keep your site up.

WebHostingHub last 12 months uptime and speed
Web Hosting Hub average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • July 2021: 99.97%
  • June 2021: 99.93%
  • May 2021: 99.98%
  • April 2021: 99.99%
  • March 2021: 99.98%
  • February 2021: 100%
  • January 2021: 99.94%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 99.98%
  • October 2020: 100%
  • September 2020: 99.96%
  • August 2020: 99.93%

Cons of Using Web Hosting Hub Hosting


Web Hosting Hub provides a decent list of positives. The support was adequate and uptime good.

Those are a few of the primary ways to evaluate a host, and Web Hosting Hub delivered the goods.

Unfortunately, there are a few potential drawbacks as well.

1. Slow Page Load Time 993 ms

Web Hosting Hub prides itself on speed, referencing (many times) the fact that their solid-state hard drives can be up to 20x faster.

However, our experience didn’t show 20x faster, but their speed came to 993 ms, which unfortunately is a bit too slow for us.

Web Hosting Hub average speed data
Web Hosting Hub average speed | See stats

While this is not the worst result from Web Hosting Hub, there are still hosts who are much faster. Moreover, seen from the graph above, they have been delivering slower page loading times over the past year.

2. Expensive Pricing

Shared hosting plans averagely cost between two to four bucks a month.

Web Hosting Hub starter price, however, is $5.99/mo, and this is only if you sign up with them for three years.

Want a shorter commitment period?

In this case, be ready to pay $6.99/mo with a two-year plan and $7.99 if you want to pay annually.

Want to just start with month-to-month? You can’t. Twelve months is the lowest they’ll go, which means you have to pay a lot of money in advance.

Not such a great deal after all.

Moreover, once the initial startup pricing period ends, you’d have to pay twice as much for the same plans.

4. Extra Fees for Backups & Security

Daily backups are incredibly helpful for a variety of reasons.

For example, sometimes, plugins don’t play well together. You upload a new one and hit “Activate” immediately without checking to see what versions of WordPress (or your theme) it’s been tested for. All of a sudden… nothing. The site goes bye-bye.

At least you can easily recover from this mistake.

Backups can help you in each case, allowing you to basically hit the rewind button to simply roll back to a previous version.

But they’re only good if you (1) remember to do them, (2) do them consistently, and (3) keep them ‘offsite’ so they’re not corrupted either.

Web Hosting Hub offers to provide daily backups, and will even automate the process, but it’ll cost you an extra dollar each month.

extra fee for add-onsMost other web hosts will throw in security features for free, as part of their core offer. But again – Web Hosting Hub nickel-and-dimes you for anti-virus and anti-spam protection, and more.

5. Possible Delayed Activation

Web Hosting Hub (similarly to parent company InMotion Hosting) might require extra details (like even a live phone call) to completely verify your account.

In theory, this is positive because it’s for security. However, it can still be frustrating if you’re trying to get things up-and-running and you’re located overseas.

Web Hosting Hub Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here is a quick overview of Web Hosting Hub’s shared hosting plans:


Spark PlanNitro PlanDynamo Plan
Pricing $5.99/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$7.99/month
Renews at $15.49/mo
$9.99/month
Renews at $20.49/mo
Websites2UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
StorageUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 2x Performance and Speed
• Choice of Data Center
• 4x Performance and Speed
• Choice of Data Center

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy, one-page sign-up process. One of the best.
  • Money-Back: 90-day money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: There is a limit of 75,000 files and 10,000 messages (or 2GB in size) for their users. Accounts that exceed 10GB or 75,000 files are automatically excluded from their backup system. It can cost up to $50 (minimum!) to have your backup restored.
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick activation. Beware of the account verification, especially if you’re outside the US.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs via Softaculous.

Do We Recommend Web Hosting Hub?

Yes and no.

Their uptime and customer support are pretty good.

But their speed is too slow, and pricing isn’t as good as advertised. Your account verification might get delayed 24 hours – if you are based outside the US. And overall, their performance is just a bit too average.

You’d be better off signing up with some other host who will deliver better value for a cheaper price.


Alternatives for Web Hosting Hub:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


Have you used Web Hosting Hub? If so, please leave an honest and transparent Web Hosting Hub review below. We welcome all positive and negatives experiences.

3 user reviews for Web Hosting Hub

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Patricia J

    5  — June 12, 2018

    Web Hosting Hub is pretty good

    I have been with Web Hosting Hub for about 4 years now. I have three websites with them. The speed could be better but it’s ok. I have the cheap basic package and if I wasn’t using Google Analytics tags, it would be faster… But it’s ok. I do SEO Services so I know certain things to not have my speed that bad. My speed is below 5 seconds of loading so I am ok with it. I have learned so from Web Hosting Hub though… I learned enough to actually start an SEO Company and of course through experience and trial and error. Their customer service is second to none. I definitely appreciate what they have done for me over the years and I definitely recommend them.

    N M

    2  — July 31, 2017

    Avoid

    The customer service is awful. Website down for over a day and they tell you:
    “Unfortunately, I do not know why it happened. There could be many reasons why this happened. Unfortunately, I do not know and there isn’t anyway that I can track down exactly what happened to the DNS on the domain that caused this.”

    When asked why my site was down:
    “I do not know. I can’t track that. If I could give you an answer I would. It is not likely to happen again but that is not something I can guarantee.”

    Craig

    4  — April 8, 2016

    My experience

    I bought Web Hosting Hub cheapest shared plan back in 2013 when I launched my first WordPress blog. The sign up process and installing WordPress was pretty painless, but since I paid via PayPal and lived outside of US at that time – they required me to send in my ID card for proof of payment.

    I felt it was just too much, but I sent it in anyways. After few hours, my account was fully verified.

    Fast forward 3 years, I haven’t seen any problems or errors. Once there was a downtime of around ~1hour since they did some sort of datacenter migrations (not sure what it is), but overall they’re pretty good = 7/10.