Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

With more than a thousand website hosting services out there, it’s pretty difficult to find a host that’s perfect for your needs.

At first glance, GoDaddy is great, having low prices and some great features.

GoDaddy review

But if you look at customer reviews and feedback, you’ll see some polarized opinions, too.

So what is the case exactly with GoDaddy? Should you sign up with them, or not?

Well, we want to help make the decision easier for you. So, we have signed up with GoDaddy to test their performance. We took a deep look at all their features and terms and wrote this definitive review to make it easier for you to know if GoDaddy meets your needs.

Let’s take a closer look.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.5

SPEED: 520 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.91% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, WhatsApp
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and 125+ Other Apps with a One-Click Install
FEATURES:Unmetered Bandwidth, 100 GB Storage, Free 1st Year for Office 365 Email and Domain Name
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, Cloud, Reseller, VPS, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER:Not free ($99.99 per site)
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $8.99/mo)

Pros of Using GoDaddy Hosting


GoDaddy might be best known for being a domain registrar, but they have also figured out how to provide a decent hosting service.

Namely, they have delivered solid uptime and page speed over the last few years. In addition, they offer more than 125+ free integrations for your website, as well as helpful customer support.

And all things considered, their cheapest Economy plan has good value for money, too.

Here are the top things we liked about GoDaddy’s hosting.

1. Great Page Load Time at 520 ms

This might come as a bit of a surprise:

Our GoDaddy test site has shown a great average page loading time as low as 520 ms over the past 12 months.

GoDaddy average speed data
GoDaddy average speed | See stats

This is somewhat surprising because years ago you wouldn’t associate cheaper web hosts like GoDaddy with performance as great as this.

And fast loading times aren’t just for vanity.

As a matter of fact, studies have shown that slow loading times can cause your visitors to leave the site faster. In turn, this hurts your search engine rankings (especially on mobile) and, of course, negatively impacts your conversion rates.

Unfortunately, as you won’t be able to change your web host’s server speed, it’s vital to consider it before signing up with a hosting provider. If your web host is slow on the server level then, sadly, your hands are tied.

Luckily, though, based on our tests, you won’t have to worry about page speed with GoDaddy hosting.

2. Over 125+ One-Click Install Applications

GoDaddy will let you install some powerful third-party integrations to your website. In fact, you can add over 125 of the most popular applications on the Internet – with just one click. That includes content management systems like WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal.

godaddy apps

GoDaddy also includes developer-friendly tools like cPanel, MySQL, CloudLinux, Python, and multiple versions of PHP.

So, they have a good variety of options that suit everyone from beginning bloggers to more experienced web developers. What’s useful for some beginners, is that they even have a drag-and-drop website builder, which comes with a separate pricing plan (starting from $9.99/mo), though.

3. Basic Cheap Plan is Good Value (for a Single Basic Website)

When we originally reviewed GoDaddy (in 2017), their cheapest shared hosting plan was too expensive, and the features were really limited. At least compared to the competition.

Now, though, it seems they’ve done a 180-degree turn. Currently, the Economy plan pricing is only $2.99/month with a 12-month contract.

But for such a low price, do you actually get any value?

Well, yes. You get one website, up to 100 GB of storage, and unmetered bandwidth. Also, you’ll get a free domain with any annual plan, and free Office 365 Email for the first year. All these features are really useful and not every host offers them as part of their cheapest plan.

The overall value you’re getting from GoDaddy’s Economy Plan for a single basic website is good, considering that it’s insanely cheap.

However, despite some remarkable features and a great price, you will have to make a few compromises with GoDaddy, too. It’s only when you dig a little deeper that you realize it’s not as good as it might seem. We’ll discuss this more in detail in the next section.

Cons of Using GoDaddy Hosting


Although the value for GoDaddy’s cheapest plan seems good at first, you’ll find some problems once you look closer.

In fact, their low prices somewhat contribute to the problems. Namely, the cheapest plan lacks a few important features and there are a lot of upsells throughout the checkout process. Also, the renewal pricing will be much higher than the first-term discount.

In addition to that, we didn’t exactly enjoy GoDaddy’s slightly confusing and vague money-back guarantee, either.

So, here are the biggest cons we found, discussed in more detail.

1. Base Plan Lacks Critical Features (No SSL Certificate, Backups, Security, or Site Migrations)

The top hosts we’ve reviewed will throw in features like an SSL certificate or backups on every plan. In fact, these have become commonplace and are pretty much required to run a site today.

Unfortunately, GoDaddy doesn’t offer any of the mentioned features in their base plans.

Let’s take a look at SSL certificates for example. Unless you’re already paying for GoDaddy’s most expensive plan, this feature will cost you:

GoDaddy SSL Ceritificates prices

To be honest:

These prices are a bit too much. Especially as most hosts today will give you a free Let’s Encrypt SSL certificate for each and every one of your sites.

Some hosts will also give you backups and website security for free.

But with GoDaddy, backups will cost you $2.99/month and website security $5.59/month (renews at $6.99/month).

In addition to all that, there’s another common feature that GoDaddy doesn’t offer for free:

Site migrations.

Again, many hosts will move at least one existing site over to their servers for free. Many of them can even do this within a few hours of asking so you don’t have to wait around.

Not GoDaddy, though. They don’t offer any free managed migrations. This feature will cost $99.99 per site and per database, and it takes 7–10 business days. So it’s not just expensive but also slow.

If you add all of these extra costs up over the course of a few years then GoDaddy hosting doesn’t look that cheap anymore.

2. Below-Average Uptime at 99.91%

GoDaddy delivers a bit too average uptime on their shared hosting plans. As mentioned, their 12-month average uptime is 99.91%.

GoDaddy last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
GoDaddy average uptime | See stats

An uptime rate of 99.91% means about eight hours of total downtime per year, which is not too bad compared to some other hosts we’ve reviewed (Hosting24!). However, it’s still below the industry-standard 99.93% uptime.

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • July 2021: 100%
  • June 2021: 99.99%
  • May 2021: 99.89%
  • April 2021: 99.58%
  • March 2021: 99.93%
  • February 2021: 99.91%
  • January 2021: 99.98%
  • December 2020: 99.97%
  • November 2020: 99.82%
  • October 2020: 99.96%
  • September 2020: 99.84%
  • August 2020: 99.99%

Now, this doesn’t necessarily mean that GoDaddy can’t be trusted anymore. Keep in mind that throughout several years, their uptime has been consistently decent. However, the downward spikes within the last few months put them in our cons section for now.

3. Lots of Upsells

All the lacking features that we discussed above, lead to a lot of upsells during the signup process. In fact, GoDaddy has become somewhat infamous for upselling. The reason for offering so many upsells is to increase the final price that you’re going to pay, as the initial plan prices are absurdly low.

The first upsell that you’ll run into has got to do with the monthly cost for the hosting plan. Based on the duration of your chosen plan, the amount that you will prepay can vary greatly.

A short, three-month plan has a significant monthly cost: $10.99/month. So, for the best value, you might have to sign up for 12, 24, or 36 months instead, getting a monthly price of$2.99 or $5.99 respectively.

godaddy upsellsWith such offers, you might be tempted to get a longer plan right away. But this means you’ll have to invest a larger sum of money upfront, making a much longer commitment.

And this is just the first of many upsells.

GoDaddy will also try to sell you a lot of extra services at checkout, too. For example, they will automatically opt you in for website backups that will cost another $2.99/month for the duration of your plan.

Just that one upsell alone will already double your price.

And it doesn’t stop there, either. As discussed above, you’ll see upsells for SSL certificates, backups, and “essential website security” which refers to malware scans and updates.

GoDaddy’s checkout process can feel like a minefield, where you need to carefully watch each step before accidentally paying two or three times the initial price.

And as if that wasn’t enough.

4. Inconsistent Customer Support

One feature that we’re always happy to see is 24/7/365 customer support. GoDaddy offers exactly that. They have a live chat, a great network of international phone support in a number of languages, and a decent knowledge base.

So, to test out their live chat support, we asked them a few basic questions about site migration.

The outcome?

None. Because the estimated waiting time for us was 47 minutes due to higher than normal volume.

GoDaddy live chat

In the past, we’ve had also a good customer support experience where we got connected to the customer support rep in a few minutes and got knowledgeable replies.

Overall, however, GoDaddy’s customer support is a bit inconsistent (you’ll never know if you’ll get a quick response or have to wait for almost an hour).

GoDaddy Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of GoDaddy’s hosting plans:


Economy PlanDeluxe PlanUltimate Plan
Pricing $2.99/month
Renews at $8.99/mo
$7.99/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$12.99/month
Renews at $16.99/mo
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Storage100 GBUnmeteredUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• Free Email for the 1st year (renews $23.88/yr)• Free Email for the 1st year (renews $23.88/yr)
• Unlimited Subdomains
• Free Email for the 1st year (renews $23.88/yr)
• 2x Processing Power and Memory
• Free SSL Certificate
• Premium DNS

Quick Facts:

  • Money-Back: A slightly confusing 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Website Migration: No free transfers. Cost for managed migration $99.99 per site. The migration will take 7-10 business days.
  • Free domain: Free for the duration of the initial annual plan (12, 24, 36 months, etc.).
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy signup.
  • Payment Methods: All major credit cards and PayPal are accepted.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Somewhat confusing refund policy & terms such as “If a Hosting Service has already been performed, then it is non-refundable (if not yet performed, eligible for a refund within 30 days of the date of the transaction).”
  • Upsells: A lot of upsells. Price variation for the initial term length, site migrations, backups, SSL certificates, security, and more.
  • Account Activation: Fast account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Lots of 1-click installation options with the most popular open-source apps.

Do We Recommend GoDaddy?

Yes, we do.

GoDaddy has fast page loading speeds. They work well with the most popular web apps you would want. And the initial pricing for the cheapest plans is still good value despite lacking several important features.

GoDaddy offers many upsells for basic features that you’d assume were just included for free (SSL, backups, etc.). Adding any one of these might double the cost of your plan. But together, they could easily end up costing you significantly more than other web hosting providers.

Their uptime has taken a downward turn, but it’s still quite decent.

So while GoDaddy’s overall performance is good, they do have some drawbacks. However, they’re still a reliable host.

Visit www.GoDaddy.com

Best alternatives for GoDaddy:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


Do you have any personal experience with GoDaddy – positive or negative? If so, please leave us an honest, transparent review below!

29 user reviews for GoDaddy

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Susan

    1  — September 27, 2021

    Frustrating beyond words

    I’ve had an ongoing problem with my site being hacked for about 1 year now.  I’ve had extra godaddy security plans added to my site and still the same hacking issues return within a few days after paying for cleaning up the site and adding the extra security plan.  In the past few months I’ve been on the phone and or on the chat for about 3 hours each week trying to resolve the problem.  Each time I have to re-explain the entire situation as they do not seem to keep records of the previous chats?  I then read an article in Forbes magazine that godaddy servers had been hacked and customer information was compromised, this was in May 2020 about the time my site started to have the hacking issues.  I’m now looking to move to another host.  Very expensive service with very little customer satisfaction.

    Charles

    1  — August 27, 2021

    Avoid them like the plague

    I’m not sure anyone will read this. If you do, please don’t use Godaddy for hosting! I helped a friend to set up a web page with WordPress. It started fine during installation. Then we realised the page load time was horrible. Cloudflare could help by some milliseconds, we know. Optimisations also. Hang on.. We installed a static homepage with several seconds load time each day we tried it.
    On top of this, it was down on multiple occasions. I’m an IT guy on fibre broadband, so don’t think this is related to “bad wifi”. Godaddy is great for buying and registering domains. Hosting? They should rethink.
    Out of 100% ? I give them 10% out of 100% in rating. (5% that something worked at all, another 5% that the GUI is ok..) Stay away and never look back. If you are already on godaddy’s hosting, I think you should look for other alternatives pronto.
    May the remainder of 2021 be having more light. All the best!

    Tom

    1  — June 16, 2021

    New Customers – down 3 times in 48 hours.

    I joined GoDaddy in January 2021. I was warned not to do it but… sure enough, the site went down about 5 months in, then it happened 3 times in 48 hours. I lost business because clients contacted me by email the next day. GoDaddy seems unreliable if you run an ecommerce site. Their tech support is fine and the interface is good actually, but the backend/infrastructure is not good. By contrast, I was with 1&1 for 10 years without a hitch. I moved because they lacked a feature I needed. However, I am going to move back as they now provide what I need but at a higher cost. I think most go to GoDaddy to save money and that’s fine for personal websites but not for business. I’m disappointed because it took a lot of effort to set things up. Thankfully, I kept my domain with 1&1.

    Mayank

    2  — November 29, 2020

    Gone down the drain

    I have been with GoDaddy for years now, almost starting in 2006-2007. Their service was quite reliable, personally I always could reach a Tech Support agent.
    Lately things have gone bad to worst, first of all they brought down the web server for days and a few days back they deleted my MS SQL DB. Apparently to restore the DB that they deleted I need to pay 100$. Tech support agents are absolutely clueless on what they are talking about.
    I am definitely one of those who is considering switching my domains.

    Martin

    1  — November 18, 2020

    Non existent support

    Non-existent “technical support” and server issues in their cPanel hosting makes it one of the worst hosting providers I have experienced in 20 years. Not worth even a penny.

    Nolan

    1  — August 26, 2020

    Godaddy is awful

    Absolutely horrible host. As a digital marketer, I’ve used 50+ hosts. Godaddy is the bottom of the barrel on my list.

    Uptime and speed are okay, but their site is FLOODED with 404 errors. You want to update DNS settings? Too bad, 404. Need to add a new email? Too bad, 404.

    So then you resort to reaching out to support – which sucks. “Award-Winning Support” like they advertise is a lie. They are helpful if you can get a hold of them. The wait times on the phone and live chat are often an hour or more, and that’s at 6am or 5pm when I start and end my day. When you message them in the middle of the day you’re looking at a few hours of wait.

    Just avoid them, they’re horrible. If you use them, migrate to another host (like a2, liquidweb, kinsta, or siteground) and the level of support you’ll get is a night and day difference.

    Kenneth

    1  — June 23, 2020

    Servers are slow and prone to overload

    I had to switch from go daddy hosting to bluehost because I experience overload so frequent on godaddy hosting. I tried to upgrade the hosting plan but it was still slow and prone to overload. Their capacity is so small. WIth bluehost, even the lowest capacity is plenty.

    Vinobe

    1  — May 31, 2020

    Do not fall for it, GoDaddy = NO GO

    Please do not fall for their sweet talk. I’ve been with them for about 5.5 years now for some personal projects, and I’m currently searching for a better alternative… Which could be any because GoDaddy has degraded to one of the worst I ever saw in my career so far. My websites go down at least once a week, mostly more. I have “uptimerobot” data to support that statement. They have no free SSL, which you can expect from any other provider without even questioning it. One time I had about 30 ~ 40 visitors filling out a simple form at “the same time” (10 min window) when giving a talk, and the site went down for 15 minutes. Their chat support knows nothing, any technical term is unknown to them. Out of 4~5 support chats I only once had a person with very good knowledge of their servers, kudo’s to him. But please DO NOT fall for it, take anything else but not goDaddy!

    I’m a web developer in a big agency, I make custom websites and write custom WordPress themes for our clients. I’m really talking out of experience. Even a 1 star rating is too high. GoDaddy is a NO GO!

    karen

    2  — March 26, 2020

    Shady business practices

    I’ve been using them for decades and they’ve been ok but now their website is hard to navigate and they trick you by forcing 2 year renewals and other products into your cart. If you aren’t paying attention you’ll be billed for all sorts of items that you never officially asked for or agreed to.

    For example, when you sign up for a domain they assume you want their website package and in a sneaky way force a trial on you. 1 month later be ready, because if you don’t cancel the trial that you didn’t know about, you’ll see a $288 charge on your credit card.

    “,When I called they said “we try to send out emails notifying you of the charge”. I looked through all of my emails and nothing – not even in bulk.

    I told her to cancel the 2 domain names and asked for a refund because I only had for the domains for a month. They refused.

    They’ve become a shady company, I wouldn’t recommend nor will I use them again.

    Sarah

    1  — January 18, 2020

    Worst Hosting Ever

    Every 3 to 4 months I had an issue with godaddy, hacking, plugins, wordpress, name it. Everything happened and they charged every.single,time around 100$ to ‘fix it by a professional’ So I decided to go with an external agency and they told me they couldn’t fix it as the problem came from godaddy themselves. But godaddy told me they couldn’t fix it because it didn’t come from them.

    I’m switching providers this week.

    Shady

    1  — January 17, 2020

    Do it yourself company!

    It is that type of Do it yourself because we are afraid to break your website – type of company! I am no developer, and luckily I have some knowledge, but what happens to people without the knowledge needed? If support fucks up something, they direct you to Experts service where you need to pay to correct technical support’s mistakes!! Unbelievably awful business model. Go for BlueHost or NameCheap better! Professionals and they do not treat you as a developer!

    carly

    1  — January 14, 2020

    Terrible!! Watch out!

    I’ve ran into countless problems with GoGaddy, where do I even start.

    Built a staging site, tried pushing it over (this has always been a hit or miss… usually leaving a few things wonky). This time it broke the whole site. I tried to push a few times and had no luck. Was chatting with support for 1.5 hrs with no resolution and got disconnected!!! The rep even suggested that I should change my permalinks!!! I went ahead and restored the original version and THEN was not able to get into /wp-admin/… would get redirected to /wp-admin/insall.php/. I’ve been on the phone with them for an hour now, being tossed around through tech reps. Database is apparently erased… I cannot stress enough to not use this company!!!

    Their CDN simply does not work, and there are a bunch of random server side errors when I run my page through GTMetrix. Tried calling about that too and they suggested that it was “probably a plugin”, and blamed the fact that i’m using PNGs. I disabled and checked all plugins and there was no difference.

    Before you call, know your stuff! You’ll most likely get manipulated into thinking that its your fault.

    Rahul

    1  — January 7, 2020

    Worst Hosting Ever

    Their service is the worst in this whole world. I made a mistake of renewing with them for 1 year which is my prod server. Everytime they push some idiotic update and server is down for minimum 24 hours. When you complain they will blame you that you would have filled the storage disk to max capacity and now the server is down because of this. They make big claims that 99.99% uptime is all fake and a marketing scam.

    K

    1  — December 30, 2019

    Bought 3 years and canceled in 2 months – no money back

    I have purchased a 3 years hosting plan and cancelled by mistake and immediately contacted them to either restore service or give me a refund but they did nothing. Customer service is very poor asking me 150 more to re-enable services. My mistake I went with godaddy – their ssl enablement is also a very lengthy process. Overall my recommendation if you are looking for hosting there are so many other providers – in top 10 hosting providers godaddy is not one of them.

    Peachy E

    1  — December 20, 2019

    Incompetent

    Our website was down for two weeks getting 502 errors which was a hosting issue. The customer service and their ticketing is a headache. For two weeks I was over the phone more than 5 hours a day listening to their rubbish music. We built momentum in 10 months for Christmas sales and just 3 weeks before Christmas we had this hosting issue which killed all our sales and business. I had no choice but to migrate the hosting to another provider.

    Robin

    1  — October 24, 2019

    Why GoDaddy is a bad provider

    GoDaddy is a very poor service provider. The server packages are extremely slow and weak, while being more expensive than the competition.

    We had some hard speed issues on our site after transitioning to GoDaddy. We called multiple times to solve the issues, but were met with the only recommendation of increasing the package and test the website on GTMetrix, a suggestion an intern could have made.

    Once we upgraded packages, we were still facing the same issues and repeated the process. The only recommendation / “support” we received was to increase once more the package we had with them. We did so, and this did not solve the issue whatsoever.

    Once we switched to a provider with a much cheaper and lower end package, the website starting running as smoothly as on our staging site.

    Very poor customer service, quality of service and useless recommendations.

    0/10 Would absolutely not recommend.

    Michael H

    5  — October 3, 2019

    So far so good

    I have used GoDaddy for over a year and have bought new domains as well as bought expired domains through their auctions. I haven’t had any issues transferring to other web hosts. I would recommend them so far since I have had no issues.

    John W

    1  — July 26, 2019

    Worst hosting ever and serious privacy concerns

    I don’t know why anyone still uses these guys. Their servers are slow, customer service is seriously lacking and there are problems around every corner. I contacted their support because I have a client that is using their Ultimate shared hosting package. I know… shared hosting isn’t always the best, but it’s what the client wanted. So, we ran into an issue where emails from the website were always going to spam.

    The simple solution is to change it so that emails are being sent via smtp through an email account. It shouldn’t be a problem. I’ve done this before. Except for when I went to run a test and found out that all email ports (25, 465 and 587) were being blocked. I ran a quick port checker from an external site and confirmed that they were open on the email server. It appeared that Godaddy was blocking the website from connecting to those ports.

    So, I contact customer support in order to see if we can work out a resolution. Besides, this is the first time I’ve ever run across this issue with any web host… even shared hosting from other web hosts. I tell the tech what the issue is and instead of being straight with me and telling me that that won’t allow a website to connect to port 587, he leads me on this hour long journey to prove to me that our website can send through their email server at port 25 ONLY. What he doesn’t say is that the emails will only end up in your spam. Even their own chat transcript ends up in my spam. Great solution, huh???

    Worse yet, they want all email from their shared hosting to flow through THEIR unencrypted email servers. Do you have secure password reset links that need to be sent from your website. Bad news… Godaddy want to read that email? That’s exceptionally bad for website owners and their customers. He couldn’t give me a straight answer as to why they won’t permit it and that means they’re okay with bad privacy standards.

    Do not ever work with this company. I’m moving all of my domain names away and I will never recommend them again!

    Darren

    1  — June 17, 2019

    Terrible for WordPress

    I’ve built a large number of wordpress sites for clients in the last few years, and Godaddy is a host I refuse to work with. One thing they never tell you upfront is the amount of RAM allocated to your site. It’s so pathetic that it CRASHES your host service for 10-15 mins when you install certain plugins into WordPress. I’ve had to spend extra time tweaking settings on both the server and WP’s side just to counter this nonsense. Considering that most other hosts are pretty much install and go for WP, Godaddy should be avoided if you’re gonna use WP.

    Joe

    1  — June 12, 2019

    They reel you in and steal your money

    As most of you who are small business owners know, there are times when you are to busy to check the details. About 3 years ago I added an email for a temporary employee to my account . When the employee left I called GoDaddy and canceled the email. Yet they continued to charge me for it for 3 years(I didn’t notice the charges because I had my main emails set to auto renew every 3 years.) When I called them out on it they refused to refund my money and told me that it was my responsibility to manage my auto renewals and that even though I canceled the email. When asked I asked where to find my auto renewals I was directed down a path that required four clicks to find the secure location of the auto renewals. The charge was relatively small for a big company like GoDaddy however they said they couldn’t refund it because the charge was more than 30 days old even though the product wasn’t being used. I am trapped because I just renewed for 3 years. Don’t make the same mistake I did and support the unethical culture of this company.