Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

With more than a thousand website hosting services out there, it’s pretty difficult to find the host that’s perfect for your needs.

At first glance, GoDaddy is great, having low prices and some great features.

godaddy hosting review

But if you look at customer reviews and feedback, you’ll see some polarized opinions, too.

So what is the case exactly with GoDaddy? Should you sign up with them, or not?

Well, we want to help make the decision easier for you. So, we have signed up with GoDaddy to test their performance. We took a deep look at all their features and terms and wrote this definitive review to make it easier for you to know if GoDaddy meets your needs.

Let’s take a closer look.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.5

SPEED: 531 ms (April 2020 to March 2021)
UPTIME: 99.94% (April 2020 to March 2021)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat, Phone, WhatsApp
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and 125+ Other Apps with a One-Click Install
FEATURES: Unmetered Bandwidth, 100 GB Storage, Free 1st Year for Office 365 Email and Domain Name
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, Cloud, Reseller, VPS, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Not free ($99.99 per site)
PRICING: Starting at $1.00/mo (renews at $8.99/mo)

Pros of Using GoDaddy Hosting


GoDaddy might be best known for a domain registrar, but they have also figured out how to provide a decent hosting service.

Namely, they have delivered solid uptime and page speed over the last few years. In addition, they offer more than 150+ free integrations for your website, as well as helpful customer support.

All in all, you can say that GoDaddy is reliable. In addition to that, they’re also flexible: all pricing plans give you easy third-party app integration with over 150 popular web applications.

And all things considered, their cheapest Economy plan has good value for money, too.

But let’s go on and discuss everything in more detail.

Here are the top things we liked about GoDaddy’s hosting.

1. Decent Uptime at 99.94%

GoDaddy delivers satisfactory uptime on their shared hosting plans. As mentioned, their 12-month average uptime is 99.94%.

GoDaddy last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
GoDaddy average uptime | See stats

Is that any good?

Well, yes. An uptime rate of 99.94% means about 5.2 hours of total downtime per year, which is not too bad.

But it’s definitely not the best either.

In fact, some website hosting services can offer average uptimes as high as 99.995%. That translates to only about half an hour of downtime per year. Of course, 99.995% is the absolute best in the industry.

Still, after testing many other website hosting services, we can say that GoDaddy is well above average. Their average monthly downtime is only around 22 minutes, which is definitely not enough to derail your business during a big sale or launch.

So, even with a few big shifts in May, September, November 2020, you can rely on GoDaddy to keep your site live and running.

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • March 2021: 99.93%
  • February 2021: 99.91%
  • January 2021: 99.98%
  • December 2020: 99.97%
  • November 2020: 99.82%
  • October 2020: 99.96%
  • September 2020: 99.84%
  • August 2020: 99.99%
  • July 2020: 99.99%
  • June 2020: 99.99%
  • May 2020: 99.89%
  • April 2020: 100%

2. Great Page Load Time at 531 ms

This might come as a bit of a surprise:

Our GoDaddy test site has shown a great average page loading time as low as 531 ms over the past 12 months.

GoDaddy Page Speed Apr. 2020 - Mar. 2021GoDaddy Page Speed Apr. 2020 - Mar. 2021
GoDaddy average speed See stats

This is somewhat surprising because years ago you wouldn’t associate cheaper web hosts like GoDaddy with performance as great as this.

And fast loading times aren’t just for vanity.

As a matter of fact, studies have shown that slow loading times can cause your visitors to leave the site faster. In turn, this hurts your search engine rankings (especially on mobile) and, of course, negatively impacts your conversion rates.

Unfortunately, as you won’t be able to change your web host’s server speed, it’s vital to consider it before signing up with a hosting provider. If your web host is slow on the server level then, sadly, your hands are tied.

Luckily, though, based on our tests, you won’t have to worry about page speed with GoDaddy hosting.

3. Over 125+ One-Click Install Applications

GoDaddy will let you install some powerful third-party integrations to your website. In fact, you can add over 125 of the most popular applications on the Internet – with just one click. That includes content management systems like WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal.

godaddy apps

GoDaddy also includes developer-friendly tools like cPanel, MySQL, CloudLinux, Python, and multiple versions of PHP.

So, they have a good variety of options that suit everyone from beginning bloggers to more experienced web developers. What’s useful for some beginners, is that they even have a drag-and-drop website builder, which comes with a separate pricing plan (starting from $9.99/mo), though.

4. Basic Cheap Plan is Good Value (for a Single Basic Website)

When we originally reviewed GoDaddy (in 2017), their cheapest shared hosting plan was too expensive, and the features were really limited. At least compared to the competition.

Now, though, it seems they’ve done a 180-degree turn. Currently, the Economy plan pricing is only $1.00/month with a 12-month contract. That’s as cheap as it gets.

But for such a low price, do you actually get any value?

Well, yes. You get one website, up to 100 GB of storage, and unmetered bandwidth. Also, you’ll get a free domain with any annual plan, and free Office 365 Email for the first year. All these features are really useful and not every host offers them as part of their cheapest plan.

For example, some of the other hosts we’ve reviewed, like SiteGround, also performed well in our tests. But with them, you only get 10 GB of storage with the cheapest plan – GoDaddy gives you ten times more.

So, the overall value you’re getting from GoDaddy’s Economy Plan for a single basic website is good, considering that it’s insanely cheap.

However, despite some remarkable features and a great price, you will have to make a few compromises with GoDaddy, too. It’s only when you dig a little deeper that you realize it’s not as good as it might seem. We’ll discuss this more in detail in the next section.

Cons of Using GoDaddy Hosting


Although the value for GoDaddy’s cheapest plan seems good at first, you’ll find some problems once you look closer.

In fact, their low prices somewhat contribute to the problems. Namely, the cheapest plan lacks a few important features and there are a lot of upsells throughout the checkout process. Also, the renewal pricing will be much higher than the first-term discount.

In addition to that, we didn’t exactly enjoy GoDaddy’s slightly confusing and vague money-back guarantee, either.

So, here are the biggest cons we found, discussed in more detail.

1. Base Plan Lacks Critical Features (No SSL Certificate, Backups, Security, or Site Migrations)

The top hosts we’ve reviewed will throw in features like an SSL certificate or backups on every plan. In fact, these have become commonplace and are pretty much required to run a site today.

Unfortunately, GoDaddy doesn’t offer any of the mentioned features in their base plans.

Let’s take a look at SSL certificates for example. Unless you’re already paying for GoDaddy’s most expensive plan, this feature will cost you:

GoDaddy SSL Ceritificates prices

To be honest:

These prices are a bit too much. Especially as most hosts today will give you a free Let’s Encrypt SSL certificate for each and every one of your sites.

Some hosts will also give you backups and website security for free.

But with GoDaddy, backups will cost you $2.99/month and website security $5.59/month (renews at $6.99/month).

In addition to all that, there’s another common feature that GoDaddy doesn’t offer for free:

Site migrations.

Again, many hosts will move at least one existing site over to their servers for free. Many of them can even do this within a few hours of asking so you don’t have to wait around.

Not GoDaddy, though. They don’t offer any free managed migrations. This feature will cost $99.99 per site and per database, and it takes 7–10 business days. So it’s not just expensive but also slow.

If you add all of these extra costs up over the course of a few years then GoDaddy hosting doesn’t look very cheap anymore.

And all these paid extra features bring us to our second con.

2. Recent Downward Shifts in Uptime

Measured data for our test site with GoDaddy shows that in May, September, and November 2020, GoDaddy’s uptime took a downturn. We measured uptimes of only 99.89%, 99.84%, and 99.82%, respectively.

Now, this doesn’t necessarily mean that GoDaddy can’t be trusted anymore. Keep in mind that throughout several years, their uptime has been consistently decent. However, the downward spikes within the last few months might be reoccurring, if the causes are not taken care of soon.

To help you keep track of any changes, we’ll continue to monitor GoDaddy and we’ll let you know as soon as we have news on their performance.

3. Lots of Upsells

All the lacking features that we discussed above, lead to a lot of upsells during the signup process. In fact, GoDaddy has become somewhat infamous for upselling. The reason for offering so many upsells is to increase the final price that you’re going to pay, as the initial plan prices are absurdly low.

The first upsell that you’ll run into has got to do with the monthly cost for the hosting plan. Based on the duration of your chosen plan, the amount that you will prepay can vary greatly.

A short, three-month plan has a significant monthly cost: $10.99/month. So, for the best value, you might have to sign up for 12, 24, or 36 months instead, getting a monthly price of$1.00, $3.50, or $4.33, respectively.

godaddy billing cycleWith such offers, you might be tempted to get a longer plan right away. But this means you’ll have to invest a larger sum of money upfront, making a much longer commitment.

And this is just the first of many upsells.

GoDaddy will also try to sell you a lot of extra services at checkout, too. For example, they will automatically opt you in for website backups that will cost another $2.99/month for the duration of your plan.

Just that one upsell alone will already double your price.

And it doesn’t stop there, either. As discussed above, you’ll see upsells for SSL certificates, backups, and “essential website security” which refers to malware scans and updates.

GoDaddy’s checkout process can feel like a minefield, where you need to carefully watch each step before accidentally paying two or three times the initial price.

And as if that wasn’t enough.

4. Inconsistent Customer Support

One feature that we’re always happy to see is 24/7/365 customer support. GoDaddy offers exactly that. They have a live chat, a great network of international phone support in a number of languages, and a decent knowledge base.

In their live chat, GoDaddy uses a chatbot, which is used to start the conversation by letting you choose a problem category. After typing in your inquiry, you should be connected (in a timely manner) to a customer support rep.

So, to test out their live chat support, we asked them a few basic questions about site migration.

The outcome?

None. Because the estimated waiting time for us was 47 minutes due to higher than normal volume.

GoDaddy live chat

In the past, we’ve had also a good customer support experience where we got connected to the customer support rep in a few minutes and got knowledgeable replies.

Overall, however, GoDaddy’s customer support is a bit inconsistent (you’ll never know if you’ll get a quick response or have to wait for almost an hour).

5. Renewal Rates Are Much Higher

All of GoDaddy’s plans follow the industry-standard pricing trick where they double or triple the price when it’s time to renew.

The Economy plan, for example, will jump to $8.99/month when you renew, compared to the initial $1.00/month. That’s nine times more than the original price. And you won’t get any extra features or better performance. You will just have to pay more.

When choosing a pricing plan and its duration with GoDaddy, you should carefully calculate all costs to see what the best option for your needs is. With the lower-tier plans, you’ll pay a smaller monthly fee but your SSL certificate will renew for a higher price. The most expensive plan, however, already includes free SSL for all your sites for the duration of your subscription.

So, if you have several sites, it might make sense to get the most expensive plan for the longest duration. This way, you can avoid at least the SSL renewal costs.

But you might also want to look at other cheap web hosts before making your choice.

GoDaddy Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of GoDaddy’s hosting plans:


Economy Plan Deluxe Plan Ultimate Plan
Pricing $1.00/month
Renews at $8.99/mo
$7.99/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$12.99/month
Renews at $16.99/mo
Websites 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage 100GB Unmetered Unmetered
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • Free Email for the 1st year (renews $23.88/yr) • Free Email for the 1st year (renews $23.88/yr)
• Unlimited Subdomains
• Free Email for the 1st year (renews $23.88/yr)
• 2x Processing Power and Memory
• Free SSL Certificate
• Premium DNS

Quick Facts:

  • Money-Back: A slightly confusing 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Website Migration: No free transfers. Cost for managed migration $99.99 per site. The migration will take 7-10 business days.
  • Free domain: Free for the duration of the initial annual plan (12, 24, 36 months, etc.).
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy signup.
  • Payment Methods: All major credit cards and PayPal are accepted.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Somewhat confusing refund policy & terms such as “If a Hosting Service has already been performed, then it is non-refundable (if not yet performed, eligible for a refund within 30 days of the date of the transaction).”
  • Upsells: A lot of upsells. Price variation for the initial term length, site migrations, backups, SSL certificates, security, and more.
  • Account Activation: Fast account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Lots of 1-click installation options with the most popular open-source apps.

Do We Recommend GoDaddy?

Yes, we do.

GoDaddy has strong uptime and fast page loading speeds. They work well with the most popular web apps you would want. And the initial pricing for the cheapest plans is still good value despite lacking several important features.

GoDaddy offers many upsells for basic features that you’d assume were just included for free (SSL, backups, etc.). Adding any one of these might double the cost of your plan. But together, they could easily end up costing you significantly more than other web hosting providers.

So while GoDaddy’s overall performance is good, they do have some drawbacks. However, they’re still a reliable host.

Visit www.GoDaddy.com

Best alternatives for GoDaddy:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


Do you have any personal experience with GoDaddy – positive or negative? If so, please leave us an honest, transparent review below!

49 user reviews for GoDaddy

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Bob K

    1  — March 29, 2021

    Disappointing decline

    I’ve been supporting web sites hosted by GoDaddy since 2005. Back then, their hosting was reliable, and their support staff was knowledgeable and very responsive. So, in spite of their sexist advertising, I recommended their services frequently. As the years passed, however, they have oversold their capacity and weeded out the competent support staff. In consequence, performance has seriously degraded, downtime has gone up, ssh connections fail most of the time, and finding someone at GoDaddy who understands a technical explanation of a problem and will actually do something about it is hopeless.

    They did clean up their cringeworthy advertising, but the quality of the hosting service is abysmal. I still use them for DNS, which they haven’t bungled, but I’ve been migrating web hosting elsewhere.

    Yeah R

    1  — March 13, 2021

    Paid Advertising?

    “Strong Uptime and Speed”.

    Seriously, goes GD pay for these reviews?

    BTW. If you want your site to return 503 errors and distorted images, I highly recommend their CDN!

    Let me guess GD support, I should uninstall my plugins and optimize my images. No, I should have left a long time ago!

    Britta

    1  — March 8, 2021

    $800 for a domain name!

    We host our site through Weebly because GoDaddy’s platform was not working for us at all. Our business has a domain name through GoDaddy – that’s it. They just invoiced us for $800… just for the domain name! We feel held hostage, we’re simply going to change our business web address . Is this not illegal? Advise everyone you know to stay away from GoDaddy. What an immoral company. Shame on Bob Parsons.

    Madison R

    1  — February 21, 2021

    Charged for domain without my consent

    I was charged for a domain without my consent, I tried to get it fixed with the Help Support and they couldn’t do anything to fix it and couldn’t give me a reason as to why this happened. In the background of the phone call, there was yelling and cursing and it felt very sketchy. I am very disappointed and would like a refund!

    Hans

    1  — February 1, 2021

    They don’t care

    DON’T BUY FROM GODADDY!!!!!

    I called them, for some help about the template of my website…I waited 45 minutes over the phone, because I wanted to speak with someone in french… Well after 50 minutes of waiting to talk to someone…I called back to get an English agent. They say on the phone (recorded message): ” Your waiting time is estimated as less than 10 minutes… It’s been more than one hour now. I will keep the domain name and cancel all other services. I will transfer everything to Bluehost.

    Jeff

    1  — January 14, 2021

    Tech Support Did A Lot Of Guessing

    I have been a loyal Godaddy customer for over 15 years. At first their customer service was fantastic.  It has steadily declined over the years.  This week, they changed email to office 365.  I had 3 issues to solve. 1 hour and 41 minutes later the “tech” had many guesses to try and solve my problem but failed to solve any of them. Very disappointed in customer service. They really do not seem to know their product or how to solve problems with their product. Will be moving all of my hosting, domains, & email accounts.

    Chris B

    1  — December 12, 2020

    Awful problem-solving

    After paying $23.88 for a year of Office 365 email service, I confronted a “multi-step authentication” issue, due to not having a smartphone with which to download the required app. After 4 hours on the phone, two different times, with GoDaddy’s offshore support personnel, during which calls the same steps were repeated and my request for expedited resolution were disregarded, I was told that I have to wait until Monday (today is Friday) to access my email.
    I have already figured out that hosting any websites on GoDaddy is a bad idea. Now their email services are shown to be garbage. Save yourself the major headaches, and avoid this “profits before customers” company at all costs.

    Richard R

    1  — December 10, 2020

    Faltering Support

    I upgraded to their managed services packed two months ago. It took them a while to start the migration process to get back to me that they couldn’t find the IP address of the current website hosted by IBM cloud. Delays were caused by email issues. Anyway, they put up an old version of the website that had been hacked. They were supposed to confer with me before they put anything live. After numerous dropped calls, we were able to resolve that the security package I purchased will scan and clean up the website. That done the website went back up. That process took over a month. And that cleaned up website dropped again after only a day of being up with no explanation. Also another month coming up and many dropped calls later still no website and customer service always confused.

    Blaire

    3  — December 1, 2020

    Horrible customer service

    I spent 40 min on the customer chat this morning. In the end, I had to end the conversation as I had somewhere to go. The problem is not resolved. Their products do work so I’ll leave them 3 stars for that.

    Daniel A

    2  — December 1, 2020

    Confusing interface

    The pricing is interesting but the website design page is confusing to say the least. It leaves little room for customization and it is hard to do changes. Wix is much better in that aspect

    Mayank

    2  — November 29, 2020

    Gone down the drain

    I have been with GoDaddy for years now, almost starting in 2006-2007. Their service was quite reliable, personally I always could reach a Tech Support agent.
    Lately things have gone bad to worst, first of all they brought down the web server for days and a few days back they deleted my MS SQL DB. Apparently to restore the DB that they deleted I need to pay 100$. Tech support agents are absolutely clueless on what they are talking about.
    I am definitely one of those who is considering switching my domains.

    Martin

    1  — November 18, 2020

    Non existent support

    Non-existent “technical support” and server issues in their cPanel hosting makes it one of the worst hosting providers I have experienced in 20 years. Not worth even a penny.

    Nolan

    1  — August 26, 2020

    Godaddy is awful

    Absolutely horrible host. As a digital marketer, I’ve used 50+ hosts. Godaddy is the bottom of the barrel on my list.

    Uptime and speed are okay, but their site is FLOODED with 404 errors. You want to update DNS settings? Too bad, 404. Need to add a new email? Too bad, 404.

    So then you resort to reaching out to support – which sucks. “Award-Winning Support” like they advertise is a lie. They are helpful if you can get a hold of them. The wait times on the phone and live chat are often an hour or more, and that’s at 6am or 5pm when I start and end my day. When you message them in the middle of the day you’re looking at a few hours of wait.

    Just avoid them, they’re horrible. If you use them, migrate to another host (like a2, liquidweb, kinsta, or siteground) and the level of support you’ll get is a night and day difference.

    Kenneth

    1  — June 23, 2020

    Servers are slow and prone to overload

    I had to switch from go daddy hosting to bluehost because I experience overload so frequent on godaddy hosting. I tried to upgrade the hosting plan but it was still slow and prone to overload. Their capacity is so small. WIth bluehost, even the lowest capacity is plenty.

    Vinobe

    1  — May 31, 2020

    Do not fall for it, GoDaddy = NO GO

    Please do not fall for their sweet talk. I’ve been with them for about 5.5 years now for some personal projects, and I’m currently searching for a better alternative… Which could be any because GoDaddy has degraded to one of the worst I ever saw in my career so far. My websites go down at least once a week, mostly more. I have “uptimerobot” data to support that statement. They have no free SSL, which you can expect from any other provider without even questioning it. One time I had about 30 ~ 40 visitors filling out a simple form at “the same time” (10 min window) when giving a talk, and the site went down for 15 minutes. Their chat support knows nothing, any technical term is unknown to them. Out of 4~5 support chats I only once had a person with very good knowledge of their servers, kudo’s to him. But please DO NOT fall for it, take anything else but not goDaddy!

    I’m a web developer in a big agency, I make custom websites and write custom WordPress themes for our clients. I’m really talking out of experience. Even a 1 star rating is too high. GoDaddy is a NO GO!

    karen

    2  — March 26, 2020

    Shady business practices

    I’ve been using them for decades and they’ve been ok but now their website is hard to navigate and they trick you by forcing 2 year renewals and other products into your cart. If you aren’t paying attention you’ll be billed for all sorts of items that you never officially asked for or agreed to.

    For example, when you sign up for a domain they assume you want their website package and in a sneaky way force a trial on you. 1 month later be ready, because if you don’t cancel the trial that you didn’t know about, you’ll see a $288 charge on your credit card.

    “,When I called they said “we try to send out emails notifying you of the charge”. I looked through all of my emails and nothing – not even in bulk.

    I told her to cancel the 2 domain names and asked for a refund because I only had for the domains for a month. They refused.

    They’ve become a shady company, I wouldn’t recommend nor will I use them again.

    Sarah

    1  — January 18, 2020

    Worst Hosting Ever

    Every 3 to 4 months I had an issue with godaddy, hacking, plugins, wordpress, name it. Everything happened and they charged every.single,time around 100$ to ‘fix it by a professional’ So I decided to go with an external agency and they told me they couldn’t fix it as the problem came from godaddy themselves. But godaddy told me they couldn’t fix it because it didn’t come from them.

    I’m switching providers this week.

    Shady

    1  — January 17, 2020

    Do it yourself company!

    It is that type of Do it yourself because we are afraid to break your website – type of company! I am no developer, and luckily I have some knowledge, but what happens to people without the knowledge needed? If support fucks up something, they direct you to Experts service where you need to pay to correct technical support’s mistakes!! Unbelievably awful business model. Go for BlueHost or NameCheap better! Professionals and they do not treat you as a developer!

    carly

    1  — January 14, 2020

    Terrible!! Watch out!

    I’ve ran into countless problems with GoGaddy, where do I even start.

    Built a staging site, tried pushing it over (this has always been a hit or miss… usually leaving a few things wonky). This time it broke the whole site. I tried to push a few times and had no luck. Was chatting with support for 1.5 hrs with no resolution and got disconnected!!! The rep even suggested that I should change my permalinks!!! I went ahead and restored the original version and THEN was not able to get into /wp-admin/… would get redirected to /wp-admin/insall.php/. I’ve been on the phone with them for an hour now, being tossed around through tech reps. Database is apparently erased… I cannot stress enough to not use this company!!!

    Their CDN simply does not work, and there are a bunch of random server side errors when I run my page through GTMetrix. Tried calling about that too and they suggested that it was “probably a plugin”, and blamed the fact that i’m using PNGs. I disabled and checked all plugins and there was no difference.

    Before you call, know your stuff! You’ll most likely get manipulated into thinking that its your fault.

    Rahul

    1  — January 7, 2020

    Worst Hosting Ever

    Their service is the worst in this whole world. I made a mistake of renewing with them for 1 year which is my prod server. Everytime they push some idiotic update and server is down for minimum 24 hours. When you complain they will blame you that you would have filled the storage disk to max capacity and now the server is down because of this. They make big claims that 99.99% uptime is all fake and a marketing scam.