Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

HostMonster was founded way back in 1996, making them one of the oldest web hosts in the industry.

HostMonster hosting review

We purchased the HostMonster ‘Basic Plan’ to begin running detailed performance tests to evaluate their performance. We created a basic WordPress website and have monitored site statistics like speed & uptime (among other important criteria) to determine where they stack up against other web hosts in the industry.

Does HostMonster’s experience give them a competitive edge?

Let’s take a look at what we found!

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 3.0

SPEED: 1190 ms (April 2020 to March 2021)
UPTIME: 99.94% (April 2020 to March 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Knowledge Base
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, Moodle, and more.
FEATURES:Unlimited Bandwidth, 50 GB Storage, One Website, Free SSL Certificate, Email Accounts, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, Site Builder
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, VPS, and Dedicated Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Single WordPress Site for Free
PRICING: Starting at $4.95/mo (renews at $9.49/mo)

Pros of Using HostMonster Hosting


We’ll admit: we had high hopes for these industry veterans.

They’ve been around the block a few times and are now owned by one of the biggest industry conglomerates (EIG). So you’d think they should have their stuff together.

Here’s a quick summary of the biggest positive aspects we’ve found:

1. Good Uptime (99.94%)

The industry average for uptime is around 99.93% based on our analysis.

HostMonster delivered an average uptime of 99.94% with a bit more than five hours of downtime over the last 12 months. There were three troublesome months (May, July, and October 2020) but for the rest of nine months, their performance was reliable.

HostMonster last 12-month uptime and speed statistics

HostMonster average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • March 2021: 99.97%
  • February 2021: 99.93%%
  • January 2021: 100%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 99.95%
  • October 2020: 99.83%
  • September 2020: 99.99%
  • August 2020: 99.98%
  • July 2020: 99.85%
  • June 2020: 99.98%
  • May 2020: 99.91%
  • April 2020: 99.94%

2. Decent Support

HostMonster offers phone, email, and live chat support. We tested out the latter.

Our live chat experience went rather well. The customer support agent connected within a few minutes and replied also quickly (even though he didn’t seem too eager to talk to us).
HostMonster Support

3. Good Security Options

HostMonster provides a few different security options to choose from to help you protect your site and keep malicious people (or programs) at bay.

Incredibly, the leading way WordPress sites get hacked is through the vulnerability of their hosting company.

Following closely behind are ‘insecure themes’ and ‘vulnerable plugins’, which is the natural result of so many different third-party tools trying to work together in a quickly evolving environment.

HostMonster does a good job including different security features like Hotlink Protection, SSH Access, SSL support, regular site backups, and Spam Assassin Protection.

4. Instant Provisioning & Fast Setup

If you decide to go for their dedicated or VPS hosting, they promise instant provisioning of their servers.

That’s good news for people who wanted to get started quickly (or those located overseas outside the U.S.) because you won’t have to go through a long, drawn-out verification call or anything. Instead, you should expect your servers to be ready in seconds.

Like many other web hosting providers, they’ll also throw in a free domain name for one year with all new plans.

5. Pretty Good Value (50 GB Storage, Unmetered Bandwidth, Free SSL)

HostMonster’s Basic plan isn’t the cheapest at $4.95/month, but you do get a pretty good value considering some of the restrictions and extras.

For starters, you’re getting up to 50 GB of storage and unmetered bandwidth right out of the gates. In addition, you’re getting a free SSL certificate, too.

Moreover, a free domain is included for the first year.

6. One Free WordPress Site Transfer

Similar to Bluehost, HostMonster just recently started offering free sign migrations.

However, there’s a catch.

Site migration is only free for one WordPress site that fits the given criteria. Moreover, the migration has to be done within the first 30 days of the initial signup.

HostMonster wordpress site transfer criteria

What if your site isn’t eligible?

In this case, you’d have to pay $149.99. For that price, you’ll get up to five site transfers and 20 email accounts migrations.

7. Easy-to-Use Control Panel

When you log in to HostMonster’s client area, you’ll see a very minimal interface.

From the left sidebar, you can access your domains, email accounts, marketplace. From “My Sites” you can log in to WordPress and start managing your site.

HostMonster dashboard

What concerns the control panel, then similar to many other hosts, HostMonster also uses a cPanel.

The cPanel is accessible via the “Advanced” button on the left sidebar. There you can manage all the hosting-related issues.

HostMonster control panel

Cons of Using HostMonster Hosting


So far, our support experience was good.

We appreciated the extra attention to detail on security issues, helping to make sure their customer’s sites are safe and secure.

But here’s where things get interesting.

Let’s see what negative aspects you should keep in mind before deciding on your next web host.

1. Slow Page Load Time Over Last 12-Months

HostMonster delivered an average page speed of 1190 ms over the past 12 months.

The good news?

They have shown improved speed results monthly basis. But for now, they’re still not fast enough to earn a place in our pros section.

HostMonster Page Speed Apr. 2020 - Mar. 2021

HostMonster average speed See stats

That’s critical, considering that only a little, tiny one second delay causes a hit across the board:

  • 7% decrease in conversions
  • 11% decrease in page views
  • 16% decrease in customer satisfaction.

If you’re specifically looking for fast web hosting, you might want to try A2 Hosting or InMotion.

2. Misleading Pricing with Long Commitment Required

HostMonster does not offer a true month-to-month plan, with the minimum requirement starting at 12 months.

What’s even worse — the price ($6.95) is more expensive for this option, too.

For example, if you’d like the cheaper ‘promotional’ rate they show on the site, you’re going to have to commit to three years (paid in full upfront).

That’s a big commitment to make when you have literally no idea if you’re going to like them yet.

Unfortunately, this technique is also standard practice in the hosting arena.

3. Hidden Costs & Fees

Sadly, there are also a few hidden costs along the way that might surprise you.

First up – your ‘Low’ promotional rate is only available for new plans. When your plan renews, the price will jump back to the regular (inflated) rate.

Their ‘free domain name’ isn’t free. If you decide to cancel your account, you’ll be charged a fee that’s non-refundable (again it is quite a common trick in the hosting industry).

4. They Charge for Backups

Speaking of extra fees, there’s also a $2.99 monthly charge for backups (if you want these). Many other web hosting companies we’ve reviewed so far will toss this feature in as a freebie, so it’s just another fee in the long list that is adding up now.

5. High Plan Renewal Costs

Web hosting websites don’t lie per se. They just stretch the truth a little bit.

Take the pricing page as an example. Those rock-bottom rates look great first pass, right? A few bucks a month probably doesn’t even cover your coffee bill these days.

However, it’s only when you dig through the Frequently Asked Questions or Terms and Conditions that you start to peel back the layers of deception.

The first common flaw is usually that you can only get those low advertised prices if you prepay for a minimum of three years. We go from bad to worse, though, when you start looking at how much these plans will cost when it’s time to renew after the first few years.

HostMonster renewal pricing doubles after the first term.

HostMonster’s ‘cheap’ monthly rates will double in the blink of an eye, going from $4.95/month on the low end up to nearly 12 bucks for the same exact service. The bigger Plus, Choice, and Plus Pro plans increase even more dramatically, costing you premium prices for a relatively basic offering at the end of the day.

So if you don’t see yourself wanting to move hosts again in a few years, it’s probably worth ponying up a few extra dollars and getting the best value over the long term.

HostMonster Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of HostMonster’s shared hosting plans. Please note that this pricing is only available if you sign-up for the three-year term.


Basic PlanPlus PlanChoice Plus Plan
Pricing $4.95/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$6.95/month
Renews at $14.99/mo
$6.95/month
Renews at $17.99/mo
Websites1UnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Storage50GBUnmeteredUnmetered
Email Accounts5UnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 1 SpamExperts• 1 SpamExperts
• 1 Domain Privacy+Protection
• CodeGuard Basic

Quick Facts

  • Domain Name: Free for the 1st year.
  • Ease of Signup: One-page signup. They make it very easy to sign up.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: By signing up, you agree to give them a non-exclusive royalty-free license to use content available on your account with them as they deem fit. All shared hosting accounts come with a limit of 1000 total database tables, 3GB total database size, and 200,000 inodes.
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Mojo Marketplace for easy installation of popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend HostMonster?

Not really.

HostMonster’s performance is pretty average across the board, to be honest.

Their customer support and uptime are decent and we’re happy to see that they now offer free site migration for WordPress sites.

But HostMonster failed in our speed tests and that’s a huge concern, seeing as a ‘working’ website is kinda a necessity here.

Then you have the issue of all-too-common pricing tricks, which isn’t quite as good as advertised when you start adding up all the extra fees and charges over time.

Simply put – there are better hosts out there for your money.

Best alternatives for HostMonster:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


Do you have any experience with HostMonster? We welcome all reviews – positive or negative – as long as it’s honest and transparent.

24 user reviews for HostMonster

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Batman

    3  — June 21, 2021

    Just okay

    We’ve had Host Monster for years. Nothing has occurred that has made us need to change, but that doesn’t mean it’s great. You have to opt out of them displaying adds on your 404 pages, and receiving other marketing materials for their partners.

    Their cPanel is unacceptably slow, unintuitive, and lacking real control. You have to click on “advanced” to see anything particularly useful. The backend website they have setup is just terrible. Like any web designer would be ashamed: there are multiple layouts that you’ll go though instead of a unified experience, and often no way back to a home page (so you get stuck and need to press the back button, only to find that in certain instances that’s impossible).

    The payment system is honestly a joke. I tried 3 different valid credit cards and it kept rejecting them, so I had to run it through PayPal.

    On a positive note, their servers are reliable.

    RD

    2  — June 1, 2021

    Poor Email system

    Very poor email system. They admit that they are a web host first, email service last. Their servers are flagged by other MX Servers for spreading spam, and emails become undeliverable. Hotmail won’t even receive without going directly to spam. Their customer service admits to the issue and that we were not the only complaint, but they can’t do anything but upsell to gmail or MS. Don’t trust that your emails go through. After 3 months with the issue we changed mail servers away from Hostmonster and the problem was solved.

    Examples:
    551 5.7.1 Found in several RBL (in reply to RCPT TO command)

    550 5.6.0 Found known spam source in RECEIVED header (in reply to end of DATA command)

    Aron W

    1  — March 22, 2021

    Horrible support and deleted my emails

    Please do your company a favor and look somewhere else. Their support is horrible. You have to communicate by email, and only the email on file. But when your email is down and you can communicate with them that way, they blame it on you and tell you to be patient after waiting a week for them to fix the problem. Seriously the worst tech-support I’ve ever dealt with

    Jay

    1  — February 6, 2021

    DO NOT USE – thieves

    Been using Hostmonster for years , Prices always going up and their support gets worst.Also they take away features to make you pay.

    In my case now all of a sudden they want me to purchase a hosting plan to be able to do redirects. this was never the case and the support.Plus why would i buy a hosting plan if all i need is to redirect the domain to another one.I use other companies and i am able to just purchase the domain and redirect them to any other site without needing to buy a hosting plan, that’s the point of redirect i am not hosting the site i just need the domain.

    Tom B

    2  — December 25, 2020

    Deleted my entire site

    After I was involved in a major accident, I was shocked to find out that they deleted my entire website and all of the records. I thought that I had everything backed up and would be able to recover with some help from the   tech support who convinced me to sign up for another 2 years. That was a big mistake because they did not understand WordPress or Dreamweaver. After 2 years, they just sent me a notice that they are removing me if I don’t pay them for another 2 years. I was unable to recover the years it took me to develop my old site and they were of no help to me. I decided to use Hostinger because they are cheaper and have full time tech support.

    Ronald H

    2  — December 20, 2020

    Poor people skills

    I use my email for business and depend on it to communicate with my clients. The problem every time Hostmonster had a problem with malware or some other issue they would shut down my email without notice. They did this several times and every time it was a fight to get my email turned back on. I had to prove who I was to the point of sending them a copy of my drivers license to get my email turned on. The support people I talked to at Hostmonster were not customer oriented in fact they were rude. They said they shutdown my email to protect all their paying customers. I use Norton 360 but had to buy an expensive security program before they would let me have my email back. I then cancelled their service at a loss and went with Hostgator. I can’t say I like Hostgator all that much but it satisfies my needs for now.

    Greg

    1  — December 17, 2020

    RUN AWAY from Hostmonster, extremely poor hosting.

    We have used HM for years for our e-commerce platform.  As a web consultant, I have recommended HM to clients.  I DO NOT RECOMMEND HM any longer.  Reliability has plummeted.  Worse, support which used to be knowledgeable, and on-shore has been off-shored to people who can only take your name and escalate to someone else. You can then wait \”for 24-48 hours\” for someone to maybe take action.  They close cases with open, on-going issues, without checking with the customer that the issue is resolved, and they have the gall to send a survey asking how the support experience was!   Then you have to open a new case.   And wait another 24 hours for escalation.  I’ll be moving approximately 15 websites from HM to something reliable.  Painful, but less painful than losing revenue from going down.

    David M

    1  — October 6, 2020

    CPanel Down, looking to switch

    HostMonster updated PHP or something without telling me and my site went down. At least WordPress is smart enough to send you an email – HostMonster didn’t! I logged in to CPanel to remove the plugin reported to be the root cause but Surprise! when you click on File Manager (Legacy or new) you either get a click-block translucent background (forcing you to reload browser) or the product upsell product ad page with no way to get to File Manager. FTP manager won’t let me log in using my login. Tech support says this is a site-wide issue and I will be the first to be notified when it is fixed. Later that night I get an email saying they don’t know how or when it will be fixed.

    Two days later it is still not fixed and my website is still in WordPress “safe mode” and looks like crap.

    If you like them, FYI I browbeat them into giving me their best new account rate last renewal after using them for 10 years. Maybe they made note of that?

    I will be looking for a host that wants new customers this weekend… HostMonster/BlueHost is absolutely gone to crap.

    Tamika M

    1  — August 28, 2020

    DO NOT USE

    We have used Host Monster for years. They were archaic but it did the job. A few months ago they started shutting down our site for random reasons and no one in their support department had the same answers. We paid for an FTP, all of a sudden couldn’t use it the way we had been using it….our files were all of a sudden too big, or if files didn’t pertain to our website……all things that were all of a sudden forbidden. Without warning, they shut us off. When we removed files to get turned back on, it took days. This wasn’t an isolated issue…..it became a repeated issue. Again – they are AWFUL.

    Paul

    1  — May 6, 2020

    Sharp decline of quality of service

    I have been with Hostmonster.com since 2005. In the past 5 years service has become unbearable. Slow page load, no migration possibility. Had to move everything to another server. And they try to prevent you from doing so.

    Steve A

    2  — April 22, 2020

    Performance declines with age

    I’ve been with Hostmonster since 2008. I’ve seen a steady decline in performance, customer service, and control panel login and function. I just waited 10 min for a chat AFTER an agent had supposedly “joined”. I disconnected. I used to be able to call and get a US tech in Utah, now it’s somebody I can’t even understand who knows where.

    The control panel login is incredibly slow, the email management page is haphazard, shoddy and extremely amateurish. I could write a page that works better.

    I don’t mind paying premium costs as long as the service matches. Unfortunately HostMonster has long ceased to be a good value for the price. I’m starting my search for another provider. I hear that FO is coming to my area soon, if so I’ll host myself. I have the equipment.

    Seeya later Hostmonster.

    Roger

    5  — January 24, 2020

    excellent past 10 years

    I have had many problems over the years and HostMonster Support staff have pulled me out of a hole each time. Even this last time migrating/transferring a domain to hostmonster, I ran into issues due to my errors and they helped get my site corrected and running within a short period of time. so I am very very happy with them, only experienced one down time in 10 years and that was corrected in acceptable time. my site crashed once and thank God for having purchased that backup package. sure i wish it was free. but still works great.and on the MONTHLY payments once you are signed up you can choose to pay monthly especially when funds are low.(that may be after your first year payments- i do not know.)I have been paying month to month now for a few months till i get more business.)

    Christian B

    1  — January 9, 2020

    Caused significant damage to our site

    Hostmonster has completely fallen in the last couple years. Today, they shut our site down because the IP had been blacklisted. We spent a day with our IT people trying to figure it out, and it turned out, the server we were hosting on (Hostmonster’s server) had been blacklisted. They shut our email and site down for 2 days all because of an issue with their server. We were then sent to their support team (in the Philippines) who spent another day arguing with our IT team about who’s fault it was. Because the hostmonster refused to check their own server, we have been kicked out of our own site for multiple days. Our IT team fixed Hostmonters server on our dime which was the only way we could get our site live again. Many thousands of dollars later we have our site back. Bluehost, Dreamhost and Hostgator are much better options for the same cost.

    Randy C

    1  — August 7, 2019

    Bad support, bad pricing

    I’m an old school hand coder, and my website is old as dirt (slowly being updated a page at a time). But it is a legacy site, going back to the year 2001. Originally hosted by now defunct “digitalspace.net” and migrated to hostmonster about 10 years back (2009). As a hand coder, I understand that 90% of problems are my own doing, and I always fix them. There is plenty of free educational online info and forums about html, css, javascript and PHP. But when I *DO* call for support, there likely *IS” a real problem. Usually I’m complaining about a server issue, unwanted configuration or software change, or some other REAL inconsistency I need addressed (or at least a work around for!). That’s when the frustration starts. After realizing your site has nothing to do with WordPress, Joomla, or another commercial CMS system, it won’t matter what your question is… the answer will always be: “since your site is all your own coding, we can not assist”

    Well that’s about the worst excuse for tech support I’ve ever seen. On one recent example, they “upgraded” everyone (whether you wanted it or not) to the latest PHP, which at the time might have been 7.2. (I was using 5.6 up till then). Suddenly my error logs started filling up with problems that obviously had nothing to do with errors in MY scripts, but were related to missing extensions. You’d think that considering the problem was caused by their last action they would have SOME solutions, but a weeks worth of chats to tech support could not resolve anything. I finally tried switching my PHP back to 5.6, but the CPANEL failed to do it. That finally got a ticket generated, which after 4 or 5 email go-rounds finally pointed me to a “help file” on Bluehost (Not Hostmonster). I understand Bluehost is owned by the same company, but its still ironic to point a customer to a competitor’s help resource! Well that finally enabled me to fix the problem myself. I’m well versed in hand editing HTACCESS files, but sometimes if you don’t know the exact name of a file (in this case PHP version) you need to reference, you’re sunk without support. And the thing is, now nobody (not you, not the tech chat agents) can submit a ticket anymore. So that means it’s just a matter of time before things fall apart, and they will not not offer any help.

    Then there were the times my CPU usage spiked, because of some article ir media interview I was involved with. Time after time they would shut my site down just when I needed it to work. Or the time when someone “cut/pasted” some blurbs from my site onto their own “review” article, unwittingly copying links to graphic emojis embedded in the text. Since all graphics were protected by hot-link protection, this caused Hostmonster’s error logs to fill with the warnings (as they should). But instead of alerting me to the problem and just asking me to fix it, they took down my site until I could swear on a stack of bibles it was fixed.

    Put that together with the fact that (as the websitesetup review points out), my shared multi-domain plan (what they call “PLUS”) now costs me $179/year, and I’m ready to move. My web sites (I run a few) are mostly labors of love these days (I only run 3 sites), and with site donations rapidly declining I have to pack up and move, I’m glad to have found these “websitesetup” reviews though, as they have already prevented me from at least one mistake! But the search continues!

    Allan R

    1  — September 26, 2018

    Avoid Hostmonster At All Costs!

    We have used Hostmonster for many years, and it has gone from bad to worse. Some of the issues with Hostmonster are:

    Chat Support – OK for small issues, but can not resolve serious issues, and Hostmonster, for whatever reason, has removed their ticketing system for support issues. So you are stuck wasting time with Chat Support trying to get someone who can actually resolve your issue. If you get fed up with Chat Support and try to call, half the time you get the same person you dealt with in Chat, on the phone. I had this happen multiple times and was just infuriated. What’s the point, if the same person who can’t help you via Chat, answers the phone.

    Broken Systems – Logging in to your cPanel from the Hostmonster front page, takes you to an outdated and broken cPanel, that says the page is deprecated and offers a link to go to the new cPanel. This has been an issue for at least 3 years, and I have spent at least a couple hours with support trying to get it resolved only to be run in circles as they had never heard of it until finally being told it was a known issue and nothing they could do about it. Waste of my time, and I am left with a broken cPanel and an extra step to get to the correct one.

    While removing 3 sites from our Hostmonster hosting, I unassigned the domains, then attempted to delete the subdomains, and the system said I could not delete the subdomains, that I should unassign them first… I contacted support, who said, “You can not delete these subdomains because they were created with the cPanel” … I said, “That makes no sense.” … they said, “Is it ok if I delete them for you?” … I said “Sure! Please do.” … they said, “I am sorry but I can not delete them either, I am going to open a ticket.” … remember, they do not have a ticket system for support issues. Currently waiting on this issue to be resolved.

    Slow About Everything – The cPanel is slow. I mean seriously slow. Expect 20-30 second waits between page loads. It takes at least 30 seconds from the time you press the button to login, until you are taken to the broken cPanel page. Then another 5-10 seconds to get to the right cPanel. Switching between sections of the cPanel take 15-20 seconds. And if you actually do something that runs a program, like assigning or unassigning a domain, you might as well take a coffee break.

    Server Speed is Slow – Everything about Hostmonster is slow. All of our sites on Hostmonster lag, and will become unavailable on a regular basis. They may say they have a high uptime, but just because the server doesn’t go down, doesn’t mean anyone can reach your sites if they are operating at a snail’s pace.

    Prone to Attacks – They get DDoS attacks occasionally, that not only take down the Hostmonster site itself, but your sites as well. Their response to this is “So sorry, we are getting attacked, your sites will be available when we are no longer being attacked”. So they apparently have no system in place for handling attacks.

    Hackers are all over them like the plague. We have sites on multiple hosts, and our sites on Hostmonster were constantly under attack. I spent far too much time hunting down attackers and adding them to IP Deny. They were successful at breaking into our sites. If you host multiple sites, there is nothing preventing the hackers from spreading from one site to all of your other sites.

    We had around 50 sites hosted with them at this time. We are currently migrating all of our sites off of Hostmonster to a new provider. We also have clients on SiteGround and PureSpeed. SiteGround is good, and PureSpeed is great.

    Avoid Hostmonster At All Costs – There is nothing that Hostmonster offers that makes up for their terrible systems, servers, and lack of proper hosting infrastructure. Support is fast (at telling you they can’t help) and extremely nice (at telling you they can’t help) but ultimately useless.

    Allen W

    1  — June 3, 2018

    Beware of this company, they are going to find something against you if things are not going their way

    First, the support is a joke, they are going to ask you to stay on hold for 5 to 7 minutes… then, a few words, then another stay on hold for 5 to 7 minutes. And, if you don’t respond to them in a minute or two, they will just disconnect the session. They do not send the chat log automatically, as they used to. Be sure to ask them to send the chat logs, and be sure you have received them before disconnecting. This is important, their words just change all the time, you need a copy of what they said to you to hold them responsible. And, be sure to ask if the “full” version of the program you need is “fully” supported. In their advertisement, they say their shared hosting supports this and that. Be careful, they do support scared down version of most of the software they said they support. If you upload your own full version, you are going to run into problems.

    I have been using web hosting services since long, long ago, this is the worst by far, comparing to the same services from other companies.

    Their stability is another issue. Last year (2017) alone, our sites were down ranging from 4 hours to 1 and a half days.

    In all, the site performance is not good, the support techs are not that good, and the stability is not good, and the prices are not that good. So, the question is, what do you need them for?

    Caeser

    2  — October 9, 2017

    It’s a con

    They take my site down regularly because of malware, and of course, they offer security protection at an additional cost. I’ve been hiring web hosts since 1995, never had this problem with any company except Hostmonster. Pretty sure it is a scam to force you to buy additional services.

    Brad

    2  — May 3, 2017

    Don’t mind hurting your business site

    Host Monster has a few pretty big issues.
    1. I had three files that were not connected to my website, but were on saved in one of the folders. This was against Host Monster’s policies, so that was my bad. However, instead of asking me to remove the three files, Host Monster shut down my entire site along with all the subdomains and never told me about it. It wasn’t until sales stopped and I went to the site that I even realized it was down. When I called in, they said, “Oh yeah, you need to remove these three files when we’ll restore your site.”

    Really? That’s what you do to a company that has been with you for like 5 years?

    2. Then, I purchased their Site Backup Pro several years ago because it saves 3 backup copies of my website in case something goes wrong. It saves a daily copy, then one that is a week old, then one that is a month old. I never needed it, until once, but when I needed it, it wasn’t working. The files they had backuped up were corrupt and so when I restored my site, I restored corrupted files. Then, instead of telling me Site Backup Pro was not working, they said the problem was a coding problem that I somehow created and they would not help me fix it.

    I can’t get away from them fast enough. I still had a year I had paid for that was left, but I’m leaving anyway.

    Alexandru S

    1  — April 27, 2017

    Support is crap

    I just wanted the solve an issue and tried to chat with them but that’s really not possible! You have to wait at least 10 minutes and when somebody accepts your chat request, the response time is about 3 minutes. Also, the most used words are “sorry”, “there is an error”, “apology”, “we can’t”…

    They told me to backup my website using FTP, after I purchased the Site Backup Pro. Those kids working there didn’t even hear about databases, it seems…

    I wouldn’t recommend this hosting not even to my enemies…

    Ryan

    1  — August 31, 2016

    Worst hosting on the market

    I’ve used Hostmonster for the last 3 years+, why? I don’t know.

    This is the most wretched hosting company I’ve dealt with in the last 5 years of my life. They can’t even install SSL certificates and are constantly telling you it’s your problem even if you’re on shared hosting and not VPS. Not only that, when you try to cancel, they can’t even send the correct information for you to cancel the account. They are crooked and I hope their server farm floods. You can’t even download a full site backup from cPanel without contacting their worthless support to initiate one so you can download it via FTP. This has been ongoing for over 6 months.

    These people are snakes and I would not trust your data here. Lazy tech support that has the skills of a moth. If you’re looking for hosting I’d stay FAR FAR MILES AWAY from this joke of business. You’re better off hosting your server on a box without a firewall than this outfit. SERIOUSLY.