Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

WebHostingPad is cheap. Like under two bucks cheap.

Founded in 2005 by a small group of individuals, it has grown steadily now for over a decade on the back of low prices.

WebHostingPad hosting review

But is that all they’re good for?

To find out, we purchased a WebHostingPad “Power Plan” and set up a basic WordPress website.

Over the past year, we’ve been closely watching their performance statistics like uptime & speed, in addition to doing our own background analysis to find out if WebHostingPad is a steal at their low prices, or a train wreck waiting to happen.

Read our full unbiased review below to find out which is true.

General Info & Hosting Overview

Our Verdict: 2.5

SPEED: 761 ms (August 2020 to July 2021)
UPTIME: 99.69% (August 2020 to July 2021)
SUPPORT:Live Chat, Phone, Email, and Knowledge Base
APPS:Softaculous Apps
FEATURES:Unmetered bandwidth, Unlimited Websites, and Storage, Free Domain for 1st Year, Free SSL Certificate, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, 1-Click WordPress, Weebly Site Builder, Backups
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, WordPress, and VPS Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Free
PRICING: Starting at $1.99/mo (renews at $4.49/mo)

Pros of Using WebHostingPad


WebHostingPad has a few things going for it besides a low price.

Let’s have a closer look.

1. Good Page Loading Time

One of the main jobs of a web host is to make sure your website is delivered in a timely manner to visitors or potential customers.

Site speed can also affect search engine rankings and even conversions.

We would like to see the hosts performing load times below 850 ms. Everything that is above that, is a no-go for us.

WebHostingPad has delivered during the past 12 months an average speed of 761 ms which is good enough to earn a place in our pros section.

WebHostingPad average speed data
WebHostingPad average speed | See stats

However, they have been performing a bit slower recently – so this might become a problem if it will continue like that.

2. Decent Customer Support

WebHostingPad offers live chat, phone support, ticketing, and they also have a vast knowledge base full of helpful articles.

We tested out their live chat support option and the customer rep connected with us almost immediately.

WebHostingPad live chat

The customer rep was helpful and answered all our questions quickly while also being knowledgeable.

3. Unbelievably Cheap

WebHostingPad does have one great thing going and it’s that they’re cheap.

WebHostingPad pricing breakdown

With the exception of iPage‘s not-so-secret, slimmed-down Essential plan, it’s among the cheapest options available to you.

Chances are, there’s a reason it’s so cheap (which you’ll find out below under the ‘cons’ list). But if the price is your only concern, look no further.

4. Strong Money-Back Guarantee

WebHostingPad has a rock-solid, 30-day money-back guarantee if you don’t find their services reliable. However, the money-back guarantee covers hosting purchases only.

This guarantee does not apply to renewals, addons, site transfer fees, service charges, or domain name registrations or renewals, including free domain registrations as part of WebHostingPad’s FREE DOMAIN coupon offer

5. Free SSL Security

Typically, the cheapest options available are also limited when it comes to the ‘extra’ stuff like security options. Fortunately, WebHostingPad isn’t, throwing in a free Let’s Encrypt SSL Security Certificate with their cheapest Power Plan. This will ensure that your website will be safe to browse.

If you upgrade your plan to Power Plus, you’ll also get a free advanced spam filter and SSH access.

6. Beginner-Friendly Client Area and Control Panel

WebHostingPad’s client area is easy to use and logical. From there you can manage your account details, manage your services, domains, website security, and billing. Support is also reachable from the dashboard.

WebHostingPad dashboard

Like many other hosts, WebHostingPad also uses cPanel as their control panel. You can access the cPanel login from the “Services” tab.

WebHostingPad cPanel

Its interface is logical to use and you should not have any problems navigating around (especially since there is also a search bar included). In cPanel you can manage your website’s files, databases, domains, and pretty much everything hosting-related is done there.

Overall, cPanel is perfect for both beginners and advanced users.

Cons of Using WebHostingPad


Cheap companies are cheap for a reason. Chances are, they’re not willing (or able) to turn that slim profit margin into reinvesting back into their products and services.

Does this also apply to WebHostingPad?

Take a look.

1. Poor Uptime of 99.69%

A website is only good for you when it’s up and running for visitors or potential customers to use.

Similarly, a web host’s primary job is to ensure that happens. Here, WebHostingPad struggles.

Despite their website’s bold claims of 99.9% uptime, they didn’t come anywhere close.

Instead, they delivered a below-average uptime of 99.69% with a day of downtime over the last 12-months. WebHostingPad gave below-average uptime basically throughout the whole year (only October and November 2020 were good months).

WebHostingPad last 12-month uptime and speed statistics
WebHostingPad average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • July 2021: 99.51%
  • June 2021: 99.59%
  • May 2021: 99.58%
  • April 2021: 99.35%
  • March 2021: 99.44%
  • February 2021: 99.62%
  • January 2021: 99.86%
  • December 2020: 99.83%
  • November 2020: 99.97%
  • October 2020: 99.92%
  • September 2020: 99.81%
  • August 2020: 99.77%

But at least, there’s an uptime guarantee that will definitely come in handy.

2. Strings-Attached ‘Free’ Domain Registration

WebHostingPad will throw in a free domain name to new account signups, similar to other web hosts.

However, there are a few caveats.

First, you need to sign up with the “FREE DOMAIN” coupon to enjoy this free domain name offer.

Second, any other coupon invalidates this.

Third, you will have to pay $14.95 annually to renew your domain name. Typically you can buy domain names for less than $10 these days on other websites.

So this ‘additional’ future cost probably won’t pay for itself in a few year’s time.

3. Limited Website Transfers

Like other web hosts, WebHostingPad will also help you transfer an existing site over to their services for free.

Only, however, it’s less than 2GB (which is tiny). That’s the maximum size of an account eligible for free transfers, and it will not include email addresses, FTP accounts, subdomains, or addon domains. Instead, you’d have to recreate those within their control panel.

4. Very Restrictive Backup Option

‘Free backups’ are yet another offer that some other web hosts will throw in for new customers.

On the face of it, they sound like an amazing deal to help you backstop your site for any problems or issues.

But check out what we found in the fine print buried in their Terms of Service:

“WebHostingPad, at our sole discretion, will take weekly backups of customer’s accounts, up to and including 3 GB of website files only. This backup does not include email addresses, email accounts, databases, or anything other than website files. Any account that is larger than 3 GB will not be included in any automated backup service provided by WebHostingPad. In the event that a customer requires a backup to be restored, WebHostingPad may charge a one-time backup restoration service fee of $39.95.”

Here’s a quick translation:

  • They will only take backups at their “sole discretion”.
  • Your backup cannot exceed 3 GB.
  • They only back up website files. This does not include emails or even databases.
  • They may charge a restoration fee of $39.95 to restore your backup.
  • The option to manually backup via cPanel is not available. You need to pay them to have this enabled.

In short, this backup offer is not good. And they’re restricting your ability to run simple manual backups on top of it.

WebHostingPad Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

WebHostingPad has two shared hosting plans:

Power Plan HostingPower Plan Plus
Pricing $1.99/month
Renews at $4.49/mo
$2.99/month
Renews at $5.99/mo
WebsitesUnlimitedUnlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmetered
StorageUnmeteredUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• Free SSL Encryption• Free Trusted SSL Encryption
• Free 1-Click WordPress
• Automated and Anytime Backups

They also have WordPress hosting options, but we don’t think they would be any better than the regular shared hosting. Though, all WordPress hosting plans come with unlimited storage and unlimited email accounts.

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: Yes (for the first year).
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy, one-page sign-up process.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, Alipay, Bitcoin, Check, Money Order, Western Union.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: They may charge a $39.95 fee to restore your backups. Users should not exceed 150,000 total files. If you reach the file limit, you can purchase an additional block of 150,000 files for $10 per month. If they notify you about reaching the file limit and you do not respond, they will automatically bill you $10 per month per extra 150,000 files. You are not allowed to use more than 10 percent CPU and memory, and your sessions must not exceed 10 minutes. There’s a limit of 300 emails per hour or 3,000 emails per day.
  • Upsells: Lots of upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy installation of popular apps and CMSs with Softaculous.

Do We Recommend WebHostingPad?

No.

Their customer support and page loading time are decent, but their current uptime is completely unsatisfactory.

Then when you consider how restrictive their Terms of Service and limits are, it’s falling into just another “average web hosting” category.

Even despite their low introductory rate, you’re better off looking for better alternatives out there.


Best alternatives for WebHostingPad:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


Any experience with Web Hosting Pad? If so, please leave a review below! We accept all honest and transparent reviews, no matter whether they’re good or bad.

8 user reviews for WebHostingPad

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Very a

    1  — September 18, 2021

    They lost my domain and don’t care

    They charged me for renewal of my active domain. Got receipt and confirmation that it is renewed for one year. But they didn’t renew it! Zero notices, nothing. They lost my domain! Now, all they offer is a $15 refund! Zero compensation for the work done and future. Bad bad business with zero accountability. My domain is listed for sale elsewhere and at a high price. They don’t offer to get it back, nothing, except ‘sorry, all we can do is give you a refund or buy another domain’. Completely ignoring more than a decade and a half of designing and maintaining my website, links to it all over internet which will post to now non existent website, the work that would be needed to set it up again, SE0, any work and money that went into it, plus the specific name I chose. Absolutely zero care or a hint of responsibility. In other words, you can’t trust them with your content and money. Seems like a scam. Perhaps they lose your domain, don’t inform you, list it for resale, and hope you will pay? Either way, I wish I could post zero stars for them.

    Wildflowerrun

    5  — March 23, 2021

    Support Is Excellent

    On more than one occasion, I’ve had a few issues that WebHostingPad wasn’t responsible for but they took care of it for me anyway. I filled out a ticket and they got right back to me within minutes. They’ve always been very polite and helpful to me. I know how to design websites, not necessarily how to do the technical stuff so I appreciate being treated with kindness when I don’t understand something.

    Viladin

    1  — October 17, 2020

    Absolutely abysmal

    Webhostingpad decided, after a month into my 3-year paid contract with them, to shut down my website and absolutely refuse to refund me anything, citing that my site was abusing the CPU limits. I’ve been a loyal customer for over 10 years and this is what I get? Absolutely abysmal. Took my business elsewhere.

    Kimberly

    1  — February 27, 2020

    WebHostingPad is a Rip-off

    WebHostingPad has downgraded their services half-way of the prepaid five-year term.

    I’ve been with them for about seven years. The first five-year agreement was at $1.99/month, and everything went smoothly. When my contract expired, I searched for some other options, but decided to stay with WebHostingPad. The next five-year block of time was contracted at $3.49/month. The explanation was that the $1.99 fee is the introductory offer for the new customers only. When you’ve been with them for a while, they treat you with the nice additional fee for being a loyal customer. Well, I took it because I didn’t have the time or energy to migrate my sites back then. And, since everything had gone quite smoothly prior to this, I decided to swallow the bitter pill and stay with WebHostingPad.

    A little under half-way of this five-year term, WebHostingPad migrated my websites to a new server. With this migration, I have lost the very important, useful, and pretty much basic functions of cPanel and the emails. For example, I cannot enter start time and end time with email autoresponder function. This means that every Friday I have to type a new out-of-the-office message from scratch. And every Monday morning, I have to delete it. If I need to take a day off in the middle of the week, this routine of retyping and deleting continues. This really adds to my busy schedule. Another problem, they took away an automatic email configuration option. I used to be able to download a configuration file and install it automatically into my email client every time I create a new email account. Now, I have to do this manually. In addition, my unlimited email accounts have become limited. I can only send up to 500 messages per month. This is restricting me, because my work depends on international communication all day long. I send a lot of emails. I had to open a Gmail account and will be switching to it. Surprisingly enough, the reliable Gmail gives you unlimited services for free! (Except for the storage.) The prepaid service with WebHostingPad took away the promised unlimited hosting options.

    The cPanel has become very limited with this migration. I am submitting a screenshot with this review. I cannot start to describe the functions that I lost in the midterm of my contract.

    Upon my inquiry about reimbursement for the reduced services, I received a response that the money I paid for the full service will not be reimbursed despite the diminished services.

    Since this migration and the withdrawal of the promised services, I have been on chat with the customer support constantly. I simply don’t have the time to tackle every issue that arises.

    What this boils down to, is that I will be looking for a different web-hosting service provider and migrating my affairs to a new server. I will have to cut my losses and write off this expense.

    My message to you is this. If you are happy with WedHostingPad now, that’s fine. I had been happy with them for about seven years. I wrote five-star reviews on their site. Everything went smoothly. But, based on my experience, I have to say, be careful signing long-term agreements with them. They may downgrade you somewhere midterm and try to sell to you the “additional” services that you would have been entitled to in the first place.

    Yes, they are trying to sell the unlimited emails and bandwidth back to me.

    Hope this helps.

    James O

    1  — August 29, 2017

    Terrible

    This company is absolutely terrible to do business with. I wish I had researched them before doing business with them. Reviews and ratings are all over the internet. But yes they got me too. I canceled my hosting with them but paid for my domain name & canceled their services for web hosting. Also I canceled the auto renewal of allowing them to withdraw the fees from my bank. They took it upon themselves to still charge my bank account and refuse to refund my money. Trust me, there are many great web hosting sites out there.

    Go on the net and do research before, check reviews, check for fraud reports & check for scam alerts before using any web hosting service. This company fails all the previously stated.

    Neal

    5  — August 7, 2017

    What you pay for

    I joined webhostingpad.com several years ago at a point where I wasn’t sure I wanted to continue my blog. It was just cheap enough to keep me in the game, and I ported my content from typepad. For what I needed, it worked fine: hone my web skills, play around with different applications, be there when I needed to host something for work.

    Recently my needs increased — I’m running about 40GB right now, with about 80 database-driven subsites. I shifted to Power Plan Plus and I’m relatively satisfied. Even before the shift, they made good on their unlimited bandwidth/databases/storage promise. It’s also been a little slow and the uptime could be better. Note that you have to ask for your unlimited storage in 10GB increments. They say it is to prevent you from using the site as a download station.

    When I joined they made it plain there was limited support. They won’t hold your hand; the really stupid questions are ignored but the ones related to their side of the bargain — keeping the servers running and your space in the cloud open — get handled quickly.

    Telling anecdote: Their phpMyAdmin install glitched when I needed to export some databases. I contacted customer service, and they are downloading them for me.

    That said, there has been some fall-off — the customer service phone number is gone, for one, and live chat recently started defaulting to email.

    I haven’t tried the automated website options (like wordpress installation or wix).

    When all I needed was a place to hang my site, webhostingpad.com did the job.

    John C

    2  — August 31, 2016

    Leaving Webhostingpad.com after several years.

    Have hosted several sites with WebHostingPad for a good few years. Until recently, the server response was satisfactory, the uptime acceptable and overall I was satisfied with service.

    Their support is very fast to respond and sort out problems but, recently, I have had too many reasons to contact them. Requests timing out (including inability to load cPanel to see what was going on), DNS resolution problems and “500” (internal server error) responses were all becoming an everyday occurence (in fact almost everytime I attempted to connect).
    Three days ago I moved all but one of my domains to a new host with a “cloud” based solution and the difference in speed and reliability is astonishing (my forum users have been commenting on the difference).

    Regarding the plan I am on with WebHostingPad, it is “Power Plan” and my last invoice (April 2015) for service until April 2017 was 119.76 USD. I work that out to be 4.99USD per month…. more than the cost mentioned in review above.

    My new host (based in London) charges 49.99GBP per year (that’s about 65USD at current exchange rate) but it is well worth the price…. And, as they say, “you get what you pay for”…. Also they migrated all my sites, including a SMF forum, for free!

    Daniel

    1  — May 16, 2016

    Web Hosting Pad is rubbish

    I was using Web Hosting Pad for 6 months until I started to get “server not found” messages. Several times I got in touch with their customer support, but no help. They said that they will investigate and fix it, but this never happened.

    Eventually I wanted to move out, but realized that they had locked my domain. I managed to transfer out my website files, but no domain. They literally hijacked it… After reading their TOS, I understood that I actually agreed for that. Nevertheless, it’s very bad practice from their site.

    I’d avoid it.